Wiener Jeunesse Orchester

© Wiener Jeunnesse Orchester

The Wiener Jeunesse Orchester (WJO), founded by Manfred Honeck in 1987, can look back on 35 years of musical activity in October of 2022. The ensemble, which brings together students of the music universities and conservatories of all Austrian states aged 18 to 26, and quickly established itself as the leading youth symphony orchestra in Austria. The young musicians regularly participate in festivals in Austria and abroad, such as Klangbogen Wien, the Wiener Festwochen and the Salzburg Festival. In August 2018 the WJO undertook a concert tour of Romania; in September 2019 it performed at the anniversary concert “70 Years of Jeunesse”. Its repertoire incorporates mainly great Austrian symphonic music by Bruckner and Mahler, but also Antonín Dvořák, Richard Strauss and Franz Schmidt. An important place in its repertoire is reserved for Austrian contemporary composers, from whom the orchestra regularly commissions world premieres. Herbert Böck has been the WJO’s chief conductor since 1989.

www.wjo.at

Austria
August 5, 2021 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Herbert Böck

© Romy Draghici

Herbert Böck began his music education as a member of the Vienna Boys’ Choir, subsequently studying oboe, conducting, composition and music pedagogy at the Vienna Music Academy. From 1985 to 1990 Böck was principal oboist of the ORF Symphony Orchestra. Since 1995 he has been a professor of choral and ensemble conducting at the Mozarteum Music University in Salzburg; since 2007 he has also been the director of the Mozarteum University’s chamber choir, which he founded. Numerous concert tours have taken him through all of Europe, to Russia, Israel and the USA during the past decades. Herbert Böck has enjoyed many years of artistic partnership with Den Norske Oper in Oslo and the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra. Since 2009 he has been a popular guest conductor at the Arctic Philharmonic Orchestra in Tromso, Norway, where he has performed major choral works by Bach, Mozart and Haydn. Since 1989 the 63-year-old has also been chief conductor of the Wiener Jeunesse Orchestra.

Conductor

Daniel Auner

© Andrej Grilc

Daniel Auner, born in to an Austrian-Russian family of musicians in 1987, is one of the internationally most sought-after Viennese violinists of his generation today. Recent invitations have taken him to the Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, the Bournemouth Symphony orchestra, the Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa and the Orquestra Sinfónica Brasileira. A former student of Christian Altenburger, Igor Ozim and Boris Kuschnir, he has studied baroque performance practice of the 17th and 18th century particularly, culminating in a recording of Bach’s complete solo sonatas and partitas released in 2019. Auner has performed as a cultural ambassador of Austria in many non-European countries, including Brazil, Mexico, Iran, Kuwait, Indonesia and Malaysia. The violinist plays a historical instrument built by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini on loan to him from the Austrian National Bank’s collection of valuable string instruments. In 2015 he founded the Auner Quartet; he has also been teaching violin as a professor at the Prayner Conservatory in Vienna since 2018.

www.danielauner.com

Violin

Kurt Schwertsik

© Karl Kleemayr

Over the course of the past decades, Kurt Schwertsik, 85 years old today, has earned the reputation of a colourful figure in Viennese music life. Internationally, he has long been considered one of Austria’s leading composers, whose works have been performed at many large festivals. In the 1960s he was a student of Karlheinz Stockhausen in Cologne, but Schwertsik soon gave up serialism again and began to compose tonal music. Often, his works are characterized by an ironic, humoristic note. Also a horn player in the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, Schwertsik enjoyed success with numerous solo concerti, but also the fantastical opera Fanferlieschen Schönefüßchen (1983), the five-part orchestral cycle Irdische Klänge (1992) and his Sinfonia–Sinfonietta (1996). He wrote his Divertimento Macchiato (2007) for the trumpet player Håkan Hardenberger; his ballets Macbeth, Frida Kahlo, Nietzsche, Gastmahl der Liebe and Hans Christian Andersen were created in cooperation with the choreographer Johann Kresnik.

Composer

SERGEY PROKOFIEV

Symphony No. 1 in D-major Op. 25 “Symphonie Classique” (1916-1917)

KURT SCHWERTSIK

Violin Concerto No. 2 Op. 81 “Albayzin and Sacromonte” (2000)

FRANZ SCHUBERT

Symphony No. 7 B-minor D.759 “Unfinished” (1822)

SERGEY PROKOFIEV

Symphonic Suite from “The Love for Three Oranges” Op. 33 a (1919)

PROGRAMME

Trying to describe the programme of the Wiener Jeunesse Orchester, one might call it an inventive melange. An Austrian-Russian one, so to speak, spanning more than 200 years of music history. At its centre, in the truest sense, are two quintessential Viennese composers: one the one hand Franz Schubert and his famous “Unfinished”, the B-minor Symphony in two movements; on the other Kurt Schwertsik, now aged 85, a veritable Viennese institution, whose Second Violin concerto will be performed by the young violinist Daniel Auner. The works bookending these pieces could not offer greater contrast: in the beginning there is Prokofiev’s indestructible Symphonie classique, while the finale features the temperamental suite from his opera The Love for Three Oranges. While the Wiener Jeunesse Orchester stood out during previous festival editions with large-scale symphonic works, this time the Austrians show their lighter side – perhaps we might even hope for a Strauß waltz as an encore?

Broadcast

The concert is recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcasted nationwide – via FM, DAB +, Kabel, online and app.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Wiener Jeunesse Orchester

© Wiener Jeunesse Orchester

Das Wiener Jeunesse Orchester (WJO), gegründet 1987 von Manfred Honeck, kann im Oktober des kommenden Jahres auf 35 Jahre musikalischer Aktivitäten zurückblicken. Schnell hat sich das Ensemble, in dem Student*innen der Musikuniversitäten und Konservatorien aller Bundesländer im Alter von 18 bis 26 Jahren mitspielen, als wichtigstes Jugendsymphonieorchester Österreichs etabliert. Regelmäßig nehmen die jungen Musiker*innen an Festivals im In- und Ausland wie dem Klangbogen Wien, den Wiener Festwochen und den Salzburger Festspielen teil. Im August 2018 unternahm das WJO eine Rumänien-Tournee; im September 2019 wirkte es beim Jubiläumskonzert „70 Jahre Jeunesse“ mit. Das Repertoire umfasst vor allem die große österreichische Symphonik von Bruckner und Mahler, aber auch Antonin Dvorák, Richard Strauss und Franz Schmidt. Einen wichtigen Platz nehmen darüber hinaus österreichische Komponisten der Gegenwart ein, die immer wieder durch Uraufführungen gefördert werden. Seit 1989 steht Herbert Böck an der Spitze des WJO.

www.wjo.at

Österreich
05. August 2021 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Herbert Böck

© Romy Draghici

Herbert Böck erhielt seine erste musikalische Ausbildung als Wiener Sängerknabe und studierte anschließend an der Wiener Musikhochschule Oboe, Dirigieren, Tonsatz und Musikerziehung. Von 1985 bis 1990 war Böck Solo-Oboist des ORF-Symphonieorchesters. Seit 1995 wirkt er als Professor für Chor- und Ensembledirigieren an der Universität für Musik Mozarteum Salzburg, seit 2007 außerdem als Leiter des von ihm gegründeten Kammerchores der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg. Zahlreiche Konzertreisen führten ihn in den letzten Jahrzehnten durch ganz Europa, nach Russland, Israel und in die USA. Eine langjährige künstlerische Partnerschaft verbindet Herbert Böck mit Den Norske Oper in Oslo und dem Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra. Seit 2009 ist er ein gern gesehener Gastdirigent beim Arctic Philharmonic Orchestra im norwegischen Tromsö, mit dem er die großen Chorwerke von Bach, Mozart und Haydn aufführte. Seit 1989 leitet der 63-Jährige auch das Wiener Jeunesse Orchester.

Dirigent

Daniel Auner

© Andrej Grilc

Daniel Auner, 1987 in eine österreichisch-russische Musikerfamilie geboren, gehört heute zu den international gefragtesten Wiener Geigern seiner Generation. Einladungen führten ihn in letzter Zeit zum Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa und Orquestra Sinfónica Brasileira. Als ehemaliger Student von Christian Altenburger, Igor Ozim und Boris Kuschnir beschäftigte er sich besonders mit der barocken Aufführungspraxis des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts, die 2019 in einer Gesamteinspielung von Bachs Solo-Sonaten und Partiten ihren Niederschlag fand. Auner ist als Kulturbotschafter Österreichs in vielen außereuropäischen Ländern aufgetreten, so in Brasilien, Mexiko, Iran, Kuwait, Indonesien und Malaysia. Der Geiger spielt auf einer historischen Violine von Giovanni Battista Guadagnini aus der Sammlung wertvoller Streichinstrumente der Österreichischen Nationalbank. 2015 gründete er das Auner Quartett; außerdem unterrichtet er seit 2018 als Professor für Violine am Prayner Konservatorium in Wien.

www.danielauner.com

Violine

Kurt Schwertsik

© Karl Kleemayr

Über die vergangenen Jahrzehnte hat sich der mittlerweile 85-jährige Kurt Schwertsik den Ruf einer schillernden Figur im Wiener Musikleben erworben. International zählt er seit langem zu den führenden Komponisten Österreichs, dessen Werke bei vielen großen Festivals zur Aufführung kamen. In den 1960er Jahren noch Schüler Karlheinz Stockhausens in Köln, kehrte Schwertsik bald darauf dem Serialismus wieder den Rücken und begann, tonal zu komponieren. Oft zeichnet sich seine Musik durch einen Hang zu einer ironisch-humoristischen Note aus. Im Hauptberuf Hornist der Wiener Symphoniker, war Schwertsik mit zahlreichen Solokonzerten, aber auch mit der fantastischen Oper Fanferlieschen Schönefüßchen (1983), dem fünfteiligen Orchesterzyklus Irdische Klänge (1992) und der Sinfonia–Sinfonietta (1996) erfolgreich. Für den Trompeter Håkan Hardenberger schrieb er das Divertimento Macchiato (2007); in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Choreographen Johann Kresnik entstanden seine Ballette Macbeth, Frida Kahlo, Nietzsche, Gastmahl der Liebe und Hans Christian Andersen.

Komponist

SERGEI PROKOFJEW

Symphonie Nr. 1 D-Dur op. 25 „Symphonie Classique“ (1916-1917)

KURT SCHWERTSIK

Violinkonzert Nr. 2 op. 81 „Albayzin und Sacromonte“ (2000, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

FRANZ SCHUBERT

Symphonie Nr. 7 h-Moll D 759 „Die Unvollendete“ (1822)

SERGEI PROKOFJEW

Orchestersuite „Die Liebe zu den drei Orangen“ op. 33 a (1919)

PROGRAMM

Wollte man das Programm des Wiener Jeunesse-Orchesters beschreiben, dann könnte man von einer originellen Melange sprechen. Einer österreichisch-russischen sozusagen, die den Bogen über fast 200 Jahre Musikgeschichte spannt. Im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes im Zentrum stehen zwei Ur-Wiener: zum einen Franz Schubert mit seiner berühmten „Unvollendeten“, der zweisätzigen h-Moll-Symphonie, zum anderen der mittlerweile 85-jährige Kurt Schwertsik, eine echte Wiener Institution, dessen 2. Violinkonzert von dem jungen Geiger Daniel Auner vorgestellt wird. Der Rahmen des Konzerts könnte kontrastreicher nicht sein: Am Anfang steht Prokofjews unverwüstliche Symphonie classique, während die Suite aus seiner Oper „Die Liebe zu drei Orangen“ das temperamentvolle Finale bildet. Hatte das Wiener Jeunesse-Orchester in früheren Festival-Jahren meist großbesetzte Symphonik im Gepäck, zeigen sich die Österreicher diesmal von der leichteren Seite – vielleicht sogar mit einem Strauß-Walzer als Zugabe?

Mitschnitt

Das Konzert wird von Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und bundesweit gesendet – über UKW, DAB+, Kabel, online und App.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.