UNGDOMSSYMFONIKERNE

UngdomssymfonikerneThe Ungdomssymfonikerne from Norway are always a popular guest at Young Euro Classic. The young Norwegians already appeared at the Konzerthaus during the festival’s very first edition in the millennium year of 2000, and after that they returned several times to win the Berlin audience’s hearts with their Scandinavian-inflected programmes – most recently in 2015, when they performed Sibelius, Vaage and Mahler. The national Norwegian youth orchestra was founded in 1973 in order to give the country’s young, talented musicians an opportunity to gather their first experiences in a professional setting. The annual working phase lasts three to four weeks and takes place in Elverum in Southern Norway. Among the international guest conductors who have led the orchestra are such names as Andrew Manze, Andrey Boreyko, George Pehlivanian, Kristjan Järvi, Paavo Berglund and Emmanuel Krivine. Outstanding Norwegian artists, such as violinist Henning Kraggerud, pianists Leif Ove Andsnes and Håvard Gimse, cellist Truls Mørk and trumpet player Ole Edvard Antonsen, have been among its prominent soloists.

www.ungdomssymfonikerne.no

Norway
August 19, 2016 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Dietmar Wunder
© Ingrid Theis

© Ingrid Theis

Actor and Voiceover Artist

Dietmar Wunder owes his career start in the film business to the James Bond movies starring Sean Connery. Today, he is a successful actor and voiceover artist who also records audio books and works as a dialogue director. He is the German voice of the current James Bond actor Daniel Craig as well as Adam Sandler, Cuba Gooding Jr., Omar Epps and Sam Rockwell.

Wunder has won several awards for his work, including the German Voiceover Prize in 2008 for directing the dialogues of the TV series Weeds, the prize “Ohrkanus” in 2011 in the category “Best Reading for Children / Teenagers” for the audio book Chroniken der Weltensucher – Der Palast des Poseidon by Thomas Thiemeyer. At the Los Angeles Reel Film Festival in 2010 he won the “Best Supporting Actor” Award for his role in the crime thriller Not Worth A Bullet.

 Patron of the Evening
Juanjo Mena
Juanjo mena

© BBC Philharmonic Sussie-Ahlburg

The Spanish conductor Juanjo Mena has had a close connection with Norway since he held the position of principal guest conductor at the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra from 2007 to 2013. Before that time, the Basque-born musician led the Bilbao Symphony Orchestra for many years. Since 2011, the 49-year-old has been chief conductor of the BBC Philharmonic in Manchester, and tours have taken them to China and South Korea, but also to Germany and Spain. Mena is also a sought-after guest at all the great orchestras in the USA, Scandinavia and France; in May 2016 he makes his debut with the Berlin Philharmonic with a French and Spanish programme. Mena’s CD productions also frequently feature Spanish and Spanish-speaking composers; thus, he has recorded works by de Falla, Turina, Montsalvatge and Ginastera. His broad repertoire, however, also includes Russian and American composers, Viennese classicism, Stravinsky, Strauss and Messiaen.

Conductor
Truls Mørk
Truls Mork

© Stéphane de Bourgies and Virgin Classics

Over the course of three decades, the Norwegian cellist Truls Mørk has not only conquered one of the foremost ranks among cellists worldwide, but also confirmed it consistently by outstanding achievements. Apart from his brilliant technique, the intensity of his interpretations is widely praised. The 55-year-old appears as a guest with the Berlin and the Vienna Philharmonic, in London, Paris and Tokyo and with the great American orchestras in New York, Boston, Cleveland and Los Angeles. Furthermore, Mørk has made a multitude of CD recordings; apart from the famous cello concertos of the 19th and 20th centuries, they feature works by Massenet, Miaskovsky, Prokofiev and the complete cello suites by Bach and Britten. Mørk has an insatiable curiosity about contemporary works: he has performed no less than 30 world premieres, including works by composers Einojuhani Rautavaara, Pavel Haas, Krzysztof Penderecki and Matthias Pintscher.

Cello

ØRJAN MATRE

„Resurgence“ (2011, German Premiere)

DMITRI SHOSTAKOVITCH

Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-flat-Major Op. 107 (1959)

HECTOR BERLIOZ

„Symphonie fantastique” op. 14 (1830)

7 pm: Pre-concert Lecture with Dr. Dieter Rexroth in the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free for ticket holders (admission at 6:45 pm)

PROGRAMME

Public music education is of great importance in Norway. One cornerstone of this is the national youth orchestra, the Ungdomssymfonikerne, who have given celebrated performances at Young Euro Classic several times already. This year, the young musicians present a surprisingly “non-Norwegian” programme – apart from the Norwegian world-class cellist Truls Mørk, who performs one of his signature works, Dmitri Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1, at the festival. The conductor, on the other hand, is the Spaniard Juanjo Mena, who also makes his debut this spring with the Berlin Philharmonic. And the evening’s main work is Hector Berlioz’ Symphonie fantastique, which makes brilliant use of all the most romantic colours in the orchestral palette. However, the orchestra’s contemporary work was composed by a Norwegian, Ørjan Matre – whose score demands that the orchestra plays from all corners of the hall!

Festival Impressions

Ungdomssymfonikerne
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

UNGDOMSSYMFONIKERNE

UngdomssymfonikerneDie Ungdomssymfonikerne aus Norwegen sind ein immer wieder gern gesehener Gast bei Young Euro Classic. Bereits bei der Premiere des Festivals im Millenniumsjahr 2000 traten die jungen Norweger im Konzerthaus auf, danach begeisterten sie mit ihren skandinavischen Programmen mehrfach das Berliner Publikum, zuletzt 2015 mit Werken von Sibelius, Vaage und Mahler. Gegründet wurde das nationale norwegische Jugendorchester 1973, um jungen, talentierten Musikern des Landes die Möglichkeit zu geben, erste Erfahrungen unter professionellen Bedingungen zu sammeln. Die jährliche Arbeitsphase dauert drei bis vier Wochen und findet in der südnorwegischen Stadt Elverum statt. Zu der internationalen Schar der Gastdirigenten zählen Andrew Manze, Andrey Boreyko, George Pehlivanian, Kristjan Järvi, Paavo Berglund und Emmanuel Krivine. Hervorragende norwegische Künstler wie der Geiger Henning Kraggerud, die Pianisten Leif Ove Andsnes und Håvard Gimse, der Cellist Truls Mørk und der Trompeter Ole Edvard Antonsen zählen zu den prominentesten Solisten.

www.ungdomssymfonikerne.no

Norwegen
19. August 2016 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Dietmar Wunder
© Ingrid Theis

© Ingrid Theis

Schauspieler, Synchronsprecher

Dietmar Wunder verdankt den „James-Bond“-Filmen mit Sean Connery seinen Weg ins Filmgeschäft. Heute ist er als Schauspieler, erfolgreicher Synchron- sowie Hörbuchsprecher und Dialogregisseur tätig. Er ist die deutsche Stimme des aktuellen “James Bond”-Darstellers Daniel Craig sowie von Adam Sandler, Cuba Gooding Jr., Omar Epps und Sam Rockwell.

Wunder wurde für seine Arbeit mehrfach ausgezeichnet, darunter mit dem Deutschen Synchronpreis 2008 für die Dialogregie der TV-Serie Weeds und mit dem Ohrkanus 2011 in der Kategorie „Beste Lesung Kinder/ Jugendliche“ für das Hörbuch „Chroniken der Weltensucher – Der Palast des Poseidon“ von Thomas Thiemeyer. Beim Los Angeles Reel Film Festival 2010 erhielt er den Award „Best Supporting Actor“ für seine Rolle im Krimi-Thriller Not Worth A Bullet.

 Pate des Abends
Juanjo Mena
Juanjo mena

© BBC Philharmonic Sussie-Ahlburg

Der spanische Dirigent Juanjo Mena hat eine enge Verbindung zu Norwegen seit seiner Zeit als Erster Gastdirigent beim Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra (2007-2013). Zuvor stand der gebürtige Baske lange an der Spitze des Bilbao Symphony Orchestra. Seit 2011 ist der 49-Jährige Chefdirigent des BBC Philharmonic in Manchester, mit dem er zuletzt eine Tournee nach China und Südkorea unternahm, aber auch in Deutschland und Spanien auftrat. Ansonsten ist Mena ein vielgefragter Dirigent bei allen großen Orchestern der USA, in Skandinavien und Frankreich; im Mai 2016 gab er sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern mit einem französisch-spanischen Programm. Auch bei Menas CD-Produktionen geben spanische und spanischsprachige Komponisten den Ton an; so nahm er Werke von de Falla, Turina, Montsalvatge und Ginastera auf. Sein weitgespanntes Repertoire schließt jedoch russische und amerikanische Komponisten ebenso ein wie die Wiener Klassik, Strawinski, Strauss und Messiaen.

Dirigent
Truls Mørk
Truls Mork

© Stéphane de Bourgies and Virgin Classics

Im Laufe von drei Jahrzehnten hat der norwegische Cellist Truls Mørk nicht nur einen der ersten Plätze unter den Cellisten weltweit erobert, sondern immer wieder auch durch herausragende Leistungen bestätigt. Neben seiner brillanten Technik wird dabei vor allem die Intensität seiner Interpretationen hervorgehoben. Der 55-Jährige gastiert bei den Berliner und Wiener Philharmonikern, in London, Paris und Tokio genauso wie bei den großen US-amerikanischen Orchestern in New York, Boston, Cleveland und Los Angeles. Darüber hinaus spielte Mørk eine Vielzahl von CD-Aufnahmen ein; neben den berühmten Cellokonzerten des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts finden sich hier auch Werke von Massenet, Miaskowski, Prokofjew sowie sämtliche Cello-Suiten von Bach und Britten. Unersättlich ist Mørks Neugier auf zeitgenössische Werke: Nicht weniger als 30 Uraufführungen hat er gespielt, darunter Werke von Einojuhani Rautavaara, Pavel Haas, Krzysztof Penderecki und Matthias Pintscher.

Violoncello

ØRJAN MATRE

„Resurgence“ (2011, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

DMITRI SCHOSTAKOWITSCH

Cellokonzert Nr. 1 Es-Dur op. 107 (1959)

HECTOR BERLIOZ

„Symphonie fantastique” op. 14 (1830)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dr. Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

In Norwegen besitzt die staatliche Musikausbildung einen hohen Stellenwert. Das merkt man auch an dem nationalen Jugendorchester, den Ungdomssymfonikerne, die schon mehrfach das Publikum bei Young Euro Classic begeistert haben. Diesmal präsentieren sich die jungen Musikerinnen und Musiker überraschend „un-norwegisch“ – wenn man von dem norwegischen Weltklasse-Cellisten Truls Mørk absieht, der eines seiner Paradestücke, das erste Cellokonzert von Dmitri Schostakowitsch, beim Festival aufführen wird. Aus Spanien kommt dagegen der Dirigent Juanjo Mena, der in diesem Frühjahr auch am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker debütiert. Und das Hauptwerk des Abends ist die in allen romantischen Orchesterfarben glitzernde Symphonie fantastique von Hector Berlioz. Immerhin: Ein Norweger, Ørjan Matre, steuert eine Komposition aus jüngster Zeit bei. Und will dabei gleichzeitig das Konzerthaus an allen Ecken und Enden bespielen!

 

Digitales Programmheft kostenlos zum Download und Drucken oder für das Smartphone. 
Umweltschonend und demokratisch – Hier spielt die Zukunft! Ab dem 10.08. können sie unsere digitalen Programmhefte kostenlos herunterladen. Wir empfehlen, das Programmheft gegebenenfalls im Querformat auszudrucken.
Hinweis: Es werden keine gedruckten Versionen vor Ort erhältlich sein.

Festivalimpressionen

Ungdomssymfonikerne
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.