International Tchaikovsky Youth Orchestra Yekaterinburg

When the 80 musicians of the International Tchaikovsky Youth Orchestra Yekaterinburg perform at Young Euro Classic at Berlin’s Konzerthaus, they will already have undertaken a two-week rehearsal period in far-away Yekaterinburg, the great industrial metropolis on the edge of the Ural Mountains (formerly known as Sverdlovsk). Half of the mixed youth orchestra is made up of members of the Ural Symphony Youth Orchestra, which unites music students and recent graduates from Russia, Belarus, the Ukraine, Kazakhstan and Tajikistan. The other half is made up of students from German music academies, i.e. young musicians from Germany, Spain, Poland and France, among others. The intense rehearsal schedule includes a special accompanying programme of panel discussions and seminars designed to intensify the exchange between the participants.

International
August 24, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Hermann Parzinger
Patron of the Evening
Bruno Weil

© Thomas Otto

The conductor Bruno Weil looks back on a long career as an opera and concert conductor ever since he acted as a last-minute replacement for Herbert von Karajan, who had fallen ill in Salzburg in 1988, thus leading three performances of Don Giovanni. Born in Hochstätten in the German Palatinate in 1949, Weil began his career as General Music Director at the Opera Houses in Augsburg and Duisburg; he also directed the festival “Klang & Raum”, which took place at The Irsee Monastery from 1993 to 2011. He has made a name for himself the world over as a conductor of Vienna’s classical era. Thus, he has enjoyed longstanding working relationships not only with specialist orchestras such as Tafelmusik in Toronto and the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. His CD recordings of the late Haydn symphonies, Beethoven’s piano concertos and Schubert’s masses have also won numerous awards. Between 2011 and 2015, Bruno Weil conducted Mozart’s three da Ponte operas at Jeunesses Musicales in Weikersheim. In 2015 he was appointed a professor of conducting at the Mozarteum in Salzburg.

www.brunoweil.eu

 Conductor
Dmitry Masleev

In 2015 the Russian pianist Dmitry Masleev catapulted himself to international attention by winning the most renowned piano competition of all, the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. Ever since, the 28-year-old has received invitations from all over the world: in January 2017 he first performed at New York’s Carnegie Hall, followed in March by Masleev’s celebrated Berlin debut with the Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin. The spring of 2017 also brought many solo recitals as well as a China tour with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France. As artist-in-residence he will work with the SWR Symphony Orchestra. Masleev’s repertoire ranges from Scarlatti, Mozart and Beethoven to the late romantic Russian repertoire and sonatas (with Boris Berezovsky) and piano quintets by Shostakovich and Weinberg. Raised in Ulan-Ude, a Siberian town located between Lake Baikal and the border to Mongolia, he studied at the Moscow Conservatory and at the International Piano Academy on Lake Como.

www.dmitry-masleev.com

Piano

ARVO PÄRT

"Summa" for String Orchestra (1991)

PIOTR I. TCHAIKOVSKY

Concerto for Piano No. 1 in B-Minor Op. 23 (1874-1875)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphony No. 7 in A-Major Op. 92 (1812)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

Once again, Young Euro Classic promotes international understanding through joint music-making. The latest addition to the long series of bi-national orchestras to perform at the festival is the International Tchaikovsky Youth Orchestra Yekaterinburg. 80 young musicians will meet this summer in Yekaterinburg, Russia, for a two-week orchestra project – half of them members of the Ural Youth Symphony Orchestra and the other half students at music academies in Germany. The working phase is followed by concerts in Russia and Germany – and of course the programme is German-Russian too. For Tchaikovsky’s famous Piano Concerto in B-flat-Minor, the 2015 winner of the renowned Tchaikovsky Competition, Dmitry Masleev, will play the black and white keys. This performance will be framed by Arvo Pärt’s minimalistic, gentle Summa and the rousing Seventh Symphony of the great Viennese classical master Beethoven.

Broadcast

The concert will be recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcasted nationwide – via FM, DAB +, Kabel, online and app.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Internationales Tschaikowski Jugendorchester Jekaterinburg

Wenn die 80 Musikerinnen und Musiker vom Internationalen Tschaikowski Jugendorchester Jekaterinburg bei Young Euro Classic im Konzerthaus Berlin ihren Auftritt haben, dann liegt eine zweiwöchige Probenphase im fernen Jekaterinburg, der großen Industriemetropole am Rande des Urals (ehemals Swerdlowsk), hinter ihnen. Die Hälfte des gemischten Jugendorchesters setzt sich aus Mitgliedern des Ural Symphony Youth Orchestra zusammen, in dem Musikstudenten und Absolventen aus Russland, Belarus, der Ukraine, Kasachstan und Tadschikistan vertreten sind. Die andere Hälfte des Orchesters bilden Studenten deutscher Musikhochschulen, d.h. junge Musiker aus Deutschland, Spanien, Polen und Frankreich. In die intensive Probenarbeit eingebunden ist ein spezielles Rahmenprogramm mit Diskussionen und Seminaren, das den Austausch zwischen den Teilnehmern intensivieren soll.

International
24. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Hermann Parzinger

© Herlinde Kölbl

Von Berufs wegen ist Hermann Parzinger mit dem Auge fürs Detail und Geduld ausgestattet. Er studierte Archäologie und Geschichte und bemerkt dazu eben doch ziemlich bescheiden: „Auch wenn es vielleicht etwas unbescheiden klingt, aber dass ich in der Archäologie meinen Weg machen würde, war mir irgendwie schon im ersten Semester klar.“ Damit sollte er Recht behalten. Nach Promotion und Habilitation in München war er über 13 Jahre hinweg als Direktor und weitere fünf Jahre als Präsident am Deutschen Archäologischen Institut in Berlin tätig und führte zahlreiche Ausgrabungen im Nahen und Mittleren Osten durch, besonders jedoch in verschiedenen Teilen Russlands mit Schwerpunkt Sibirien. Seine Forschungen wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Und der Blick fürs große Ganze, mit dem kann er ebenfalls dienen: Seit 2008 ist er Präsident der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz und damit als Bauherr verantwortlich für den Masterplan Museumsinsel und viele andere Bauvorhaben im Kulturbereich der Stadt. Zudem wurde er 2015 in die Gründungsintendanz des Humboldt Forums berufen. Und den Blick für das Schöne … ein druckfrisches Exemplar eines neuen Buchs aus seiner Feder in den Händen halten zu dürfen – das ist immer ein Genuss!

Pate des Abends
Bruno Weil

© Thomas Otto

Der Dirigent Bruno Weil blickt auf eine lange Karriere als Opern- und Konzertdirigent zurück, seit er 1988 in Salzburg als Einspringer für den erkrankten Herbert von Karajan drei Don Giovanni-Aufführungen leitete. 1949 im pfälzischen Hochstätten geboren, war Weil Generalmusikdirektor an den Opernhäusern in Augsburg und Duisburg; außerdem leitete er 1993-2011 das im Kloster Irsee stattfindende Festival Klang & Raum. Vor allem als Dirigent der Wiener Klassik hat er sich weltweit einen Namen gemacht. So ist er nicht nur Spezialensembles wie dem Orchester Tafelmusik in Toronto und dem Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment seit langen Jahren verbunden. Auch seine CD-Aufnahmen der späten Symphonien Haydns, der Klavierkonzerte Beethovens und Messen Schuberts wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Zwischen 2011 und 2015 dirigierte Bruno Weil Mozarts drei Da Ponte-Opern bei Jeunesses Musicales in Weikersheim. Seit 2015 hat er eine Professur für Dirigieren am Mozarteum in Salzburg.

www.brunoweil.eu

Dirigent
Dmitry Masleev

2015 katapultierte sich der russische Pianist Dmitry Masleev in die internationalen Schlagzeilen, als er den renommiertesten Klavierwettbewerb überhaupt, den Tschaikowski-Wettbewerb in Moskau, gewann. Seitdem erhält der 28-Jährige Einladungen in alle Welt: Im Januar 2017 spielte er erstmals in der Carnegie Hall in New York; im März folgte Masleevs gefeiertes Berlin-Debüt mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin. Außerdem steht im Frühjahr neben vielen Solo-Recitals eine China-Tournee mit dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France an. Als Artist in Residence wird er beim SWR Symphonieorchester zu Gast sein. Dabei reicht Masleevs Repertoire von Scarlatti, Mozart und Beethoven über das spätromantische russische Repertoire bis zu Sonaten (mit Boris Berezowski) und Klavierquintetten von Schostakowitsch und Weinberg. Aufgewachsen in Ulan-Ude, einer sibirischen Stadt zwischen dem Baikalsee und der Grenze zur Mongolei, studierte er am Moskauer Konservatorium sowie an der International Piano Academy am Comer See.

www.dmitry-masleev.com

Klavier

ARVO PÄRT

"Summa" für Streichorchester (1991)

PIOTR I. TSCHAIKOWSKI

Konzert für Klavier Nr. 1 b-Moll op. 23 (1874-1875)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphonie Nr. 7 A-Dur op. 92 (1812)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Einmal mehr setzt Young Euro Classic auf Verständigung durch gemeinsames Musizieren Pult an Pult. In der langen Reihe der bi-nationalen Orchester ist das Internationale Tschaikowski Jugendorchester Jekaterinburg das jüngste Pflänzchen. Hier kommen im Sommer dieses Jahres 80 junge Musikerinnen und Musiker im russischen Jekaterinburg zu einem zweiwöchigen Orchesterprojekt zusammen – je zur Hälfte Mitglieder des Ural Youth Symphony Orchestra sowie Studenten deutscher Musikhochschulen. Anschließend folgen Konzerte in Russland und Deutschland – natürlich mit einem deutsch-russischen Programm. Für Tschaikowskis berühmtes b-Moll-Konzert sitzt der Gewinner des prestigeträchtigen Tschaikowski-Wettbewerbs 2015, Dmitry Masleev, an den schwarz-weißen Tasten. Umrahmt wird dieser Auftritt von Arvo Pärts minimalistisch-sanftem Summa und der mitreißenden siebten Symphonie des großen Wiener Klassikers Beethoven.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird von Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und bundesweit am 25.08.17 ab 20:03 Uhr gesendet – über UKW, DAB+, Kabel, online und app.

____________________________________

Dieses Konzert wird LIVE und ON DEMAND auf ARTE CONCERT gestreamt: concert.arte.tv/young-euro-classic

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.