Tbilisi Youth Orchestra

Ⓒ Magdalena Konik

The Tbilisi Youth Orchestra is a very young orchestra: only last year, the TYO was founded by the Georgian composer Mikheil Mdinaradze and the conductor Mirian Khukhunaishvili. Its goal is to organize intensive rehearsal periods with professional teachers and soloists, increasing its participants’ knowledge of the classical European music tradition, but also devoting special attention to contemporary music. Even in its first year, the Tbilisi Youth Orchestra has given ten concerts; thus it organized the festival “Mozartomania” and performed three concerts with Georgian soloists in this context. Furthermore, the British Council in Georgia enabled the orchestra to give a joint performance with the British composer and performer Anna Meredith and her band as part of her project Varmints.

Georgia
July 25, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Mirian Khukhunaishvili

Ⓒ Jano Demetrashvili

The Georgian conductor Mirian Khukhunaishvili began his musical training at the Tbilisi State Conservatory, supported by several scholarships from the President of Georgia and the Ministry of Culture. Starting in 2012, Khukhunaishvili continued his studies at the Cracow Music Academy in Poland. The conductor has appeared with all the major ensembles of his country, including the National Philharmonic of Georgia, the Tbilisi State Symphony Orchestra and the orchestra of the Tbilisi Opera. In doing so, he worked with renowned Georgian artists such as Eliso Virsaladze, Paata Burchuladze, Nino Machaidze and Nino Surguladze. This spring, the 30-year-old conductor made his debut at Vienna’s Musikverein. In 2019Mirian Khukhunaishvili founded the Tbilisi Youth Orchestra; he is also the artistic director of the Classic Open Air Festival in Tbilisi and of the “Alter Orchestra”, which he also founded.

Conductor

Luka Okros

© Egor Matasov

Born in Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia, in 1991, Luka Okros received his first piano lessons at the age of four and gave his first concert at the age of five. Later, he studied at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow and then at the London Royal College of Music. Okros won first prizes at the International Piano Competition in Hong Kong (2016) and the International Chopin Competition in Hanover (2017) as well as the FAZ Audience Award at the German Piano Competition in 2019. Today, the 29-year-old pianist lives in London; concert invitations have taken him to more than 40 countries, including performances at New York’s Carnegie Hall, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, the Berlin Konzerthaus and the Vienna Konzerthaus as well as the Liszt Academy in Budapest. This season, he performs numerous concerts in Great Britain as well as in Estonia, Finland, Spain, Switzerland and in Hong Kong. On his CD recordings, he dedicates himself to piano works by Schumann and Chopin; he has also recorded a CD with his own compositions.

www.lukaokros.com

Piano

Alexandre Kordzaia (aka kordz)

© Alexandre Kordzaia

Live-Elektronik

GRAŻYNA BACEWICZ

Concerto for String Orchestra (1948)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Piano Concerto No. 4 in G-major Op. 58 (1805-06)

GIYA KANCHELI

“A Little Daneliade” (2000)

KORDZ & TBILISI YOUTH ORCHESTRA

“Toy Stories” (2020, German premiere)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission with concert ticket

PROGRAMME

A festival programme for curious ears! When the Tbilisi Youth Orchestra, founded only last year, presents itself at Young Euro Classic for the first time, a glance at the selection of works alone promises a multi-faceted evening. Of course the young Georgians will play a work by their country’s greatest composer, Giya Kancheli, who passed away in 2019: the original arrangement of his film score A Little Daneliade of 2000. And of course they pay homage to the much-celebrated composer of the year, performing Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4. In addition, however, the concert opens with the Concerto for String Orchestra by the Polish violinist and composer Grażyna Bacewicz, a modernist classic only too rarely performed – and it ends with a new work for orchestra and live electronics by the Georgian DJ kordz, bringing us back to 2020!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Tbilisi Youth Orchestra

Ⓒ Magdalena Konik

Das Tbilisi Youth Orchestra ist noch ein ganz junges Orchester: Erst im vergangenen Jahr wurde das TYO von dem georgischen Komponisten Mikheil Mdinaradze und dem Dirigenten Mirian Khukhunaishvili gegründet. Es hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, durch intensive Probenphasen mit professionellen Dozenten und Solisten zum einen die Auseinandersetzung mit der klassischen europäische Musiktradition zu fördern, zum anderen der Musik der Gegenwart besondere Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken. Bereits in seinem ersten Jahr hat das Tbilisi Youth Orchestra zehn Konzerte absolviert; so organisierte es das Festival „Mozartomania” und trat dabei in drei Konzerten mit georgischen Solisten auf. Außerdem fand durch Vermittlung des British Council in Georgien ein gemeinsamer Auftritt mit der britischen Komponistin und Performerin Anna Meredith und ihrer Band bei ihrem Projekt Varmints statt.

Georgien
25. Juli 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Mirian Khukhunaishvili

Ⓒ Jano Demetrashvili

Der georgische Dirigent Mirian Khukhunaishvili erhielt seine erste Ausbildung am Staatlichen Konservatorium von Tbilissi; dabei wurde er durch mehrere Stipendien des georgischen Präsidenten gefördert. Ab 2012 setzte Khukhunaishvili sein Studium an der Musikakademie im polnischen Krakau fort. Der Dirigent ist mit allen wichtigen Ensembles seines Landes aufgetreten, so der Georgischen Nationalphilharmonie, dem Staatlichen Symphonieorchester Tbilissi und dem Orchester des Opernhauses Tbilissi. Dabei arbeitete er mit namhaften georgischen Künstlern wie Eliso Virsaladze, Paata Burchuladze, Nino Machaidze und Nino Surguladze zusammen. In diesem Frühjahr gab der 30-Jährige sein Debüt im Wiener Musikverein. 2019 gründete der Dirigent das Tbilisi Youth Orchestra, außerdem ist er Künstlerischer Leiter des Classic Open Air-Festivals in Tbilissi und des von ihm ebenfalls gegründeten „Alter Orchestra“.

Dirigent

Luka Okros

© Egor Matasov

1991 in Tbilissi, der Hauptstadt Georgiens, geboren, erhielt Luka Okros schon mit vier Jahren seinen ersten Klavierunterricht und gab mit fünf sein erstes Konzert. Später studierte er am Moskauer Tschaikowski-Konservatorium sowie anschließend am London Royal College of Music. Okros gewann erste Preise beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb Hongkong (2016) und beim Internationalen Chopin-Wettbewerb in Hannover (2017) sowie den FAZ Publikumspreis 2019 beim Deutschen Klavierwettbewerb.  Heute lebt der 29-jährige Pianist in London; Einladungen führten ihn bereits in über 40 Länder, darunter in die New Yorker Carnegie Hall, das Concertgebouw Amsterdam, ins Berliner und Wiener Konzerthaus und die Liszt-Akademie Budapest. In dieser Saison tritt er neben zahlreichen Konzerten in Großbritannien auch in Estland, Finnland, Spanien, der Schweiz und Hongkong auf. In seinen CD-Produktionen widmete er sich Klavierwerken von Schumann und Chopin, außerdem spielte er eine CD mit eigenen Kompositionen ein.

www.lukaokros.com

Klavier

Alexandre Kordzaia (aka kordz)

Live-Elektronik

GRAŻYNA BACEWICZ

Konzert für Streichorchester (1948)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Klavierkonzert Nr. 4 G-Dur op. 58 (1805-06)

GIYA KANCHELI

„Eine kleine Daneliade” (2000)

KORDZ & TBILISI YOUTH ORCHESTRA

„Toy Stories“ (2020, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Ein Festival-Programm für neugierige Ohren! Wenn das erst im vergangenen Jahr gegründete Tbilisi Youth Orchestra sich bei Young Euro Classic vorstellt, lässt allein schon der Blick auf die Werkauswahl einen besonders facettenreichen Abend erwarten. Selbstverständlich spielen die jungen Georgier*innen ein Werk ihres größten Komponisten, des 2019 verstorbenen Giya Kancheli: die originelle Filmmusik-Bearbeitung Die kleine Daneliade von 2000. Natürlich ehren sie auch den vielgefeierten Jubilar des Jahres mit einer Aufführung von Beethovens viertem Klavierkonzert. Darüber hinaus jedoch stellen sie mit dem Konzert für Streichorchester der polnischen Geigerin und Komponistin Grażyna Bacewicz einen allzu selten zu hörenden Klassiker der Moderne an den Anfang des Programms – um mit einem neuen Werk für Orchester und Live-Elektronik des georgischen DJ kordz mitten im Jahr 2020 zu enden!

 

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.