Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra

© Axel Nickolaus

Since its founding in 1987 by Leonard Bernstein, the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra has enjoyed an outstanding reputation. From among 1,500 applicants all over the world, about 110 young musicians are selected every year to participate in the seven-week Orchestra Academy, the centrepiece of the pedagogical work of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, where they work on great orchestral literature with famous conductors. The works are prepared in sectional rehearsals and then rehearsed intensively during the full orchestral sessions. In addition to Principal Conductor Christoph Eschenbach, conductors like Kent Nagano, Iván Fischer, Michael Sanderling, Manfred Honeck, Krzysztof Urbanski, Vladimir Jurowski and many others work with the Festival Orchestra regularly. Tours have taken the orchestra to the European music metropolises, to the USA and China. Every summer, the Festival Orchestra is constituted anew.

www.shmf.de

International
August 2, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

David Zinman

© Priska Ketterer

This summer, David Zinman turns 84 – and still, the native New Yorker conducts regularly on concert stages on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean. This season, he appears with the Konzerthaus Orchestra in Berlin and with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, but also in Montréal and with the Tonhalle Orchestra in Zurich. Zinman was chief conductor of the latter for 19 years, from 1995 to 2014, and a massive boxed set of 50 CDs documents the broad repertoire of these Zurich years, ranging from classical works to the complete orchestral writings of Strauss and Mahler. Zinman’s Beethoven cycle won numerous awards. The conductor also focuses on American composers such as Leonard Bernstein, Michael Torke, Ferde Grofe, George Gershwin and Samuel Barber. In addition to his work on the podium, Zinman regularly leads conducting courses, for example at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, at the Royal Academy of Music in London and at the Orchestre Français des Jeunes, whose chief conductor he was from 2014 to 2017 and with which he last appeared at Young Euro Classic in 2016.

www.davidzinman.org

Conductor

Christopher Park

© Michael Dannenmann

Christopher Park is a pianist who captivates with his fascinating technical mastery, astounding musical maturity, and a particularly intense performance style” – thus the jury of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival upon awarding Christopher Park, then 27 years of age, the renowned Leonard Bernstein Award 2014. The native of Bamberg was taught by Lev Natochenny and Joachim Volkmann at the Frankfurt am Main Academy of Music and Performing Arts. During recent years, Park has been invited as a soloist by the Deutsches Symphonieorchester Berlin, the SWR Symphony Orchestra and the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra as well as to Qatar, Seoul and Shanghai. He has appeared at the festivals in Ravinia and Lucerne, at the Ruhr Piano Festival and at the Rheingau Music Festival. Apart from his work as a soloist, he is intensely dedicated to chamber music. He has also worked with the choreographer John Neumeier on projects such as Stravinsky’s Petroushka, Schumann’s Kinderszenen and Johann Sebastian Bach’s Suites; thus he also made his Young Euro Classic debut in 2014 with the National Youth Ballet.

www.christopher-park.com

Piano

Erik Schumann

© Thorsten Hönig

Erik Schumann was born in Cologne in 1982 as the son of German-Romanian-Japanese parents, and his main violin teacher was Zakhar Bron in Lübeck. During his performances with renowned orchestras in Europe, Asia and the USA, the violinist has performed under conductors such as Christoph Eschenbach, Gianandrea Noseda, Muhai Tang, Michael Sanderling, Matthias Pintscher and David Afkham. Chamber music projects have seen him collaborate with cellists Daniel Müller-Schott and Nicolas Altstaedt, violinist Daniel Hope, pianist Anna Vinnitskaya and clarinettist Martin Fröst. Together with his siblings Ken and Mark and Liisa Randalu, he forms the Schumann Quartet. The ensemble performs regularly at halls such as the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Wigmore Hall in London and Vienna’s Konzerthaus and Musikverein. Since 2013 Erik Schumann has been a professor of violin at the Frankfurt am Main Academy of Music and Performing Arts. The violinist plays an instrument built by G. F. Pressenda in 1830.

Violin

Leonard Elschenbroich

© Felix Broede

Leonard Elschenbroich, born in Frankfurt in 1985, has established himself as one of the most charismatic cellists of his generation. Trained first at the Yehudi Menuhin School of Music in London, then taught by Frans Helmerson at the Cologne Music Academy, the cellist received the Leonard Bernstein Award of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival in 2009. Ever since, he has performed internationally with leading orchestras in Dresden, London, Paris, Chicago and Washington DC. Leonard Elschenbroich has been invited to the Proms in London no less than seven times. Several tours took him to South America, where he was among the co-founders of the Orquesta Filarmonica de Bolivia in 2012. Elschenbroich’s debut CD featuring sonatas by Rachmaninov and Shostakovich (2013) was followed by recordings of Dmitri Kabalevsky’s Cello Concerto No. 2, Musica Nostalgica, a homage to Schnittke, and the CD Siècle. Most recently, he has released a complete recording of all the Beethoven Sonatas with pianist Alexey Gynyuk. Elschenbroich plays a cello built by Matteo Goffriller in 1693.

www.leonard-elschenbroich.com

Cello

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Triple Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano in C-major Op. 56 (1804)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphony No. 6 in F-major Op. 68 “Pastoral” (1807/08)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission with concert ticket

PROGRAMME

Did you miss Beethoven’s Sixth Symphony last year at the opening night of Young Euro Classic? Never mind – this summer, there is another high-carat chance! After all, the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra, one of the long-term audience favourites at Young Euro Classic, has dedicated its entire concert to Beethoven, as befits the Beethoven Year. One of the doyens of the conducting profession, David Zinman, who has won many awards for his interpretation of Beethoven’s symphonies, leads the orchestra in this programme. Young meets old – a promising combination for a “Pastoral”! In addition, there is a true Beethoven rarity, infrequently performed in the concert hall: the Triple Concerto in C-major, in which violin, cello and piano compete with each other and with the orchestra for the most beautiful sound. Two irresistible reasons not to miss this performance of the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra

© Axel Nickolaus

Seit der Gründung im Jahr 1987 durch Leonard Bernstein genießt das Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra einen herausragenden Ruf. Aus über 1500 Bewerbern qualifizieren sich jährlich ca. 110 junge Musiker*innen aus der ganzen Welt für die Teilnahme und erarbeiten während der siebenwöchigen Orchesterakademie, die das Herzstück der pädagogischen Arbeit des SHMF darstellt, mit berühmten Dirigenten große Orchesterliteratur. Die Werke werden in Registerproben vorstudiert und dann in Tuttiproben intensiv ausgearbeitet. Neben dem Chefdirigenten Christoph Eschenbach arbeiten Dirigenten wie Kent Nagano, Iván Fischer, Michael Sanderling, Manfred Honeck, Krzysztof Urbanski, Vladimir Jurowski und viele mehr regelmäßig mit dem Festivalorchester. Tourneen führen das Orchester in die europäischen Musikmetropolen, in die USA und nach China. Das Festivalorchester setzt sich jeden Sommer neu zusammen.

www.shmf.de

International
02. August 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

David Zinman

© Priska Ketterer

In diesem Sommer wird David Zinman 84 Jahre alt – und noch immer ist der gebürtige New Yorker regelmäßig auf Podien auf beiden Seiten des Atlantischen Ozeans zu erleben. In dieser Saison tritt er beim Konzerthausorchester Berlin und beim hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt ebenso auf wie in Montreal und beim Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich. Dieses Orchester hat Zinman 19 Jahre, von 1995 bis 2014, geleitet, und ein gewaltige 50-CD-Box dokumentiert das breite Repertoire, von der Klassik bis zu sämtlichen Orchesterwerken von Strauss und Mahler, aus diesen Züricher Jahren. Vielfach ausgezeichnet wurde dabei besonders Zinmans Beethoven-Zyklus. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt des Dirigenten bilden US-amerikanische Komponisten wie Leonard Bernstein, Michael Torke, Ferde Grofe, George Gershwin und Samuel Barber. Neben seiner Arbeit am Pult leitet Zinman regelmäßig Dirigierkurse, so bei der Sibelius-Akademie in Helsinki, an der Royal Academy of Music London und beim Orchestre Français des Jeunes, dessen Chefdirigent er 2014-17 war und mit dem er zuletzt 2016 bei Young Euro Classic auftrat.

www.davidzinman.org

Dirigent

Christopher Park

© Michael Dannenmann

„Der Pianist Christopher Park begeistert mit einer faszinierenden technischen Souveränität, einer unglaublichen musikalischen Reife und einer besonders intensiven Spielkultur“ – so 2014 das Urteil der Jury des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festivals zur Verleihung des Leonard Bernstein Award an den damals 27-jährigen Pianisten. Ausgebildet wurde der gebürtige Bamberger bei Lev Natochenny sowie bei Joachim Volkmann an der Musikhochschule Frankfurt am Main. Einladungen führten Park in den letzten Jahren zum Deutschen Symphonieorchester Berlin, dem SWR-Sinfonieorchester, dem hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt sowie nach Katar, Seoul und Shanghai. Außerdem spielte er bei den Festivals in Ravinia und Luzern, dem Klavierfestival Ruhr und dem Rheingau Musik Festival. Neben seinen solistischen Tätigkeiten widmet sich der Pianist intensiv der Kammermusik. Mit dem Choreografen John Neumeier arbeitete er zudem bei diversen Projekten wie Strawinskis Petruschka, Schumanns Kinderszenen und Suiten von Johann Sebastian Bach zusammen; so gab er auch sein Young Euro Classic Debut mit dem Bundesjugendballett im Jahre 2014.

www.christopher-park.com

Klavier

Erik Schumann

© Thorsten Hönig

Geboren 1982 in Köln als Sohn deutsch-rumänisch-japanischer Eltern, erhielt Erik Schumann seine maßgebliche Ausbildung bei Zakhar Bron in Lübeck. Bei seinen Auftritten mit renommierten Orchestern in Europa, Asien und den USA spielte der Geiger unter der Leitung von Dirigenten wie Christoph Eschenbach, Gianandrea Noseda, Muhai Tang, Michael Sanderling, Matthias Pintscher und David Afkham. Kammermusikprojekte führten ihn unter anderem mit den Cellisten Daniel Müller-Schott und Nicolas Altstaedt, dem Geiger Daniel Hope, der Pianistin Anna Vinnitskaya und dem Klarinettisten Martin Fröst zusammen. Mit seinen Geschwistern Ken und Mark sowie mit Liisa Randalu bildet er das Schumann Quartett. Das Ensemble ist regelmäßig in Sälen wie dem Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, der Wigmore Hall in London, dem Wiener Konzerthaus und Musikverein zu Gast. Seit 2013 ist Erik Schumann außerdem Professor für Violine an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main. Der Geiger spielt auf einer Violine von G. F. Pressenda aus dem Jahre 1830.

Violine

Leonard Elschenbroich

© Felix Broede

Leonard Elschenbroich, 1985 in Frankfurt geboren, hat sich als einer der charismatischsten Cellisten seiner Generation etabliert. Ausgebildet zuerst an der Yehudi Menuhin School of Music in London, später bei Frans Helmerson an der Kölner Musikhochschule, erhielt der Cellist 2009 den Leonard Bernstein Award des Schleswig-Holstein Musik-Festivals zuerkannt. Seitdem ist er international mit führenden Orchestern in Dresden, London, Paris, Chicago und Washington aufgetreten. Nicht weniger als sieben Mal wurde Elschenbroich inzwischen zu den Londoner Proms eingeladen. Mehrere Tourneen führten ihn nach Südamerika, wo er 2012 das Orquesta Filarmonica de Bolivia mitgegründet hat. Elschenbroichs Debüt-CD mit Sonaten von Rachmaninow und Schostakowitsch (2013) folgten Aufnahmen mit Dmitri Kabalewskis Cellokonzert Nr. 2, die Schnittke-Hommage Musica Nostalgica und die CD Siècle. Erst kürzlich erschien eine Gesamtaufnahme aller Beethoven-Sonaten mit dem Pianisten Alexei Grynyuk. Elschenbroich spielt auf einem Matteo-Goffriller-Cello von 1693.

www.leonard-elschenbroich.com

Violoncello

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Tripelkonzert für Violine, Violoncello und Klavier C-Dur op. 56 (1804)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphonie Nr. 6 F-Dur op. 68 „Pastorale" (1807/08)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Haben Sie letztes Jahr Beethovens Sechste beim Eröffnungskonzert von Young Euro Classic verpasst? Macht nichts – in diesem Sommer gibt es hochkarätigen Ersatz! Denn das Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra, seit Jahr und Tag einer der Lieblingsgäste des Festivalpublikums, hat sich im Beethoven-Jahr ganz Beethoven verschrieben. Und bringt dafür mit Altmeister David Zinman einen Dirigenten mit, der vielfach für seine Beethoven-Sinfonien ausgezeichnet wurde. Jung trifft auf Alt – wenn das keine vielversprechende Kombination für die „Pastorale“ ist! Und dazu gibt es tatsächlich eine Beethoven-Rarität, die nur höchst selten im Konzertsaal zu erleben ist: das Tripelkonzert C-Dur, in dem Violine, Violoncello und Klavier miteinander und dem Orchester wetteifern. Zwei unwiderstehliche Gründe, um diesen Auftritt des Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra nicht zu verpassen!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.