Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra

© Axel Nickolaus

Since its founding in 1987 by Leonard Bernstein, the International Orchestra Academy of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival has enjoyed an outstanding reputation. It is the centrepiece of the pedagogical activities of the Festival, forming the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra anew every year. Tours take the orchestra to the European music metropolises and to the USA on a regular basis. Every summer, the Festival Orchestra is reconvened as an international youth orchestra. Young musicians who have passed the auditions held all over the world work on great orchestral literature with famous conductors. The works are prepared in sectional rehearsals and then rehearsed intensively during the full orchestral sessions. In addition to Principal Conductor Christoph Eschenbach, conductors like Kent Nagano, Iván Fischer, Christopher Hogwood, Manfred Honeck, Krzysztof Urbanski and many others work with the Festival Orchestra regularly.

www.shmf.de

International
August 18, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Monika Grütters

© Christof Rieken

Prof. Monika Grütters was born in Münster and studied German literature, art history and political sciences at the universities in Münster and Bonn. She gained professional experience by working for opera houses, in publishing and in the museum field before working for arts and culture programmes in major corporations. From 1998 to 2013 she was a board member for the foundation “Brandenburger Tor”. Since 1999 she has been an honorary professor of culture management at the Free University in Berlin. Monika Grütters has been Chairwoman of Berlin’s CDU since 2016. From 1995 to 2005 she was a member of the Berlin House of Representatives, where she was the CDU Faction’s spokeswoman for science and culture. Since 205 she has been a member of the German Parliament. From 2009 to 2013 Monika Grütters chaired the Committee on Culture and Media. In December 2013 she was appointed Minister of State and Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media
Dr. Klaus Lederer

© SenKultEuropa

Dr. Klaus Lederer was born in Mecklenburg in 1974 and spent his childhood and early adolescence in Frankfurt an der Oder. After the end of the GDR, he was active in leftist youth organizations and joined the Party of Democratic Socialism (PDS) in 1992. He spent the 1990s studying law at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin’s law school, where he earned a doctorate, and working for the PDS as a local politician. In December 2005 Klaus Lederer was elected chair of the Berlin Left Party, a position he held until December 2016. From 2003 to January 2017, Dr. Lederer was a member of the Left Party parliamentary group in the House of Representatives, Berlin’s state legislature, and was its spokesperson on legal policy. Dr. Klaus Lederer has been Mayor and Senator for Culture and Europe in Berlin since December 2016.

 

Patron of the Evening
Willi Steul

General Director of Deutschlandradio

© Deutschlandradio – Bettina Fürst-Fastré

Chairman Deutscher Freundeskreis europäischer Jugendorchester e.V.
Christoph Eschenbach

© Eric Brissaud

Christoph Eschenbach has been closely associated with the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival for almost two decades. Time and again, the pianist and conductor has rehearsed and performed fascinating programmes with the Festival Orchestra, whose chief conductor he has been since 2004 – their tours have regularly included Young Euro Classic. From 2010 to 2017 Eschenbach has also been the director of the National Symphony Orchestra and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington DC. The 76-year-old continues to appear on all the world’s major concert stages. During the 2016/17 season, he conducts the Bamberger Philharmoniker, the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, the SWR Symphony Orchestra and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. Other appearances include London, Paris and Madrid as well as North America and Asia. Last but not least, Eschenbach continues to perform as a piano soloist and in song recitals with the baritone Matthias Goerne.

www.christoph-eschenbach.com

Conductor
Bruno Philippe

© Natacha Colmez Photography

The French cellist Bruno Philippe, born in Perpignan in 1993, studied with Jérôme Pernoo at the Conservatoire in Paris. Further studies took him to master courses with renowned cellists such as David Geringas, Steven Isserlis and Pieter Wispelwey. Since 2014 Philippe has been a student of Frans Helmerson’s at the Kronberg Academy in the Taunus in Germany. During that same year, he won a Third Prize and the Audience Prize at the ARD Competition in Munich and a Special Prize at the Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann in Berlin. Philippe has appeared at innumerable festivals all over Europe; among his chamber music partners are Gidon Kremer, Christian Tetzlaff, Tabea Zimmermann and Antoine Tamestit. In 2015 his first CD was released, featuring the Cello Sonatas by Johannes Brahms.

 

 

Cello
Di Wu

© Hua Lin

The Chinese-American pianist moved to the USA in 1999 to study at the Manhattan School of Music and subsequently at the Curtis Institute of Music with Gary Graffman and at New York’s Juilliard School with Yoheved Kaplinsky, Joseph Kalichstein and Robert McDonald. In 2016 she added a Master of Business Administration from the Columbia Business School. During the 2016/17 season Di Wu gave her first concerts in Minsk and Moscow, performed three concerts in Mexico and undertook an extensive tour of Asia, giving 20 concerts in the great music metropolises. Di Wu began her professional career at the age of 14, when she appeared with the Beijing Philharmonic. In 2009 she gave her US debut with the Philadelphia Orchestra. She has performed in Washington DC, Pittsburgh, Boston, Seattle and Cincinnati, among others, with American orchestra, working with conductors such as Charles Dutoit, Ludovic Morlot, Yu Long and Christoph Eschenbach. She has given recitals at New York’s Carnegie Hall and the Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center, as well as in Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, and San Francisco as well as the Gilmore International Keyboard Festival, the Ravinia Festival and the Portland Piano Festival.

www.diwupiano.com

Piano
Thomas Bloch

© Thomas Bloch

Thomas Bloch lives in Paris and is sought-after around the world as a specialist for rare instruments such as the Ondes Martenot, the glass harmonica, the Cristal Baschet and the waterphone. He is also a composer and producer. He works in the classical music field, but also in rock and pop music as well as in opera, improvisation, film music and ballet music. He has given more than 3000 concerts in 40 countries and has been involved in about 150 CD productions. Among other partners, he has worked with Radiohead, John Cage, Tom Waits, Marianne Faithfull, Robert Wilson, Milos Forman, Daft Punk, Valery Gergiev, Pierre Boulez, Michel Plasson, Myung-Whun Chung, Christoph Eschenbach, Paul Sacher, Isabelle Huppert, Manu Dibango, Fred Frith, Phil Minton, Nana Mouskouri, and Vanessa Paradis. Thomas Bloch has recorded CDs for such renowned labels as EMI, Deutsche Grammophon and Sony and produces his own CDs for Naxos. Thomas Bloch studied musicology at the Strasbourg University and teaches Ondes Martenot at the Strasbourg Conservatory. At the Musée de la Musique de Paris, he is responsible for the presentation of the Ondes Martenot. In January 2017 Thomas Bloch was involved in the opening concert of Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie.

www.thomasbloch.net

Ondes Martenot

JOSEPH HAYDN

Concerto for Cello No. 1 in C-Major Hob. VIIb.1 (1765)

OLIVIER MESSIAEN

“Turangalîla Symphony” for Piano and Large Orchestra (1948)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

Hardly an orchestra has such a long-standing and close connection with the festival Young Euro Classic as the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra: every year, the international ensemble visits Berlin after its intense rehearsal period in Rendsburg. In 2017 these brilliant musicians even open the festival on August 18. The SHFO looks back on 30 successful years, having been founded by the legendary Leonard Bernstein in 1987. An imposing number of prominent conductors has worked with the orchestra since then; this time, its chief conductor Christoph Eschenbach returns with the orchestra. Together they present a work that almost threatens to exceed the dimensions of the Konzerthaus: the enormous Turangalîla Symphony by the French composer Olivier Messiaen. A charming contrast will be provided by Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 1, performed by the French newcomer Bruno Philippe.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchester

© Axel Nickolaus

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1987 durch Leonard Bernstein genießt die internationale Orchesterakademie des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festivals einen herausragenden Ruf. Sie ist das Herzstück der pädagogischen Aktivitäten des Festivals und bildet jedes Jahr aufs Neue das Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchester. Tourneen führen das Orchester regelmäßig in die europäischen Musikmetropolen und in die USA. Das Festivalorchester wird jeden Sommer als internationales Jugendorchester zusammengestellt. Junge Musiker, die sich weltweit in Probespielen qualifizieren, erarbeiten mit berühmten Dirigenten große Orchesterliteratur. Die Werke werden in Registerproben vorstudiert und dann in Tuttiproben intensiv ausgearbeitet. Neben dem Chefdirigenten Christoph Eschenbach arbeiteten Dirigenten wie Kent Nagano, Iván Fischer, Christopher Hogwood, Manfred Honeck, Krzysztof Urbanski und viele mehr regelmäßig mit dem Festivalorchester.

www.shmf.de

International
18. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Monika Grütters

© Christof Rieken

Prof. Monika Grütters wurde in Münster geboren und studierte Germanistik, Kunstgeschichte und Politikwissenschaft an den Universitäten Münster und Bonn. Ihre beruflichen Erfahrungen sammelte sie an der Oper, im Verlagswesen und im Museumsbereich, bevor sie in großen Unternehmen für Kunst- und Kulturprogramme verantwortlich war. Von 1998 bis 2013 war sie Vorstand der Stiftung „Brandenburger Tor“. Seit 1999 ist sie Honorarprofessorin für Kulturmanagement an der Freien Universität Berlin. Monika Grütters ist seit 2016 Landesvorsitzende der CDU Berlin. Von 1995 bis 2005 war sie Mitglied im Abgeordnetenhaus von Berlin und dort wissenschafts- und kulturpolitische Sprecherin der CDU-Fraktion. Seit 2005 ist sie Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages. Von 2009 bis 2013 leitete Monika Grütters als Vorsitzende den Ausschuss für Kultur und Medien. Seit Dezember 2013 ist sie Staatsministerin und die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien
Dr. Klaus Lederer

© SenKultEuropa

Geboren 1974 in Mecklenburg, verbrachte Dr. Klaus Lederer seine Kindheit und frühe Jugend in Frankfurt an der Oder. Nach dem Ende der DDR engagierte er sich in linken Jugendverbänden und seit 1992 in der Partei des demokratischen Sozialismus (PDS). Sein Studium der Rechtswissenschaften bis zur Promotion zum Dr. jur. an der Juristischen Fakultät der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Arbeit in der PDS und für sie in der Kommunalpolitik füllten seine 1990er Jahre. Im Dezember 2005 wurde Klaus Lederer zum Landesvorsitzenden der LINKEN in Berlin gewählt. Er blieb an der Spitze des Landesverbandes bis zum Dezember 2016. Von 2003 bis Januar 2017 war Herr Dr. Lederer Mitglied der Linksfraktion im Abgeordnetenhaus, dem Parlament des Bundeslandes Berlin und dort rechtspolitischer Sprecher der Fraktion DIE LINKE. Seit Dezember 2016 ist Dr. Klaus Lederer Bürgermeister und Senator für Kultur und Europa in Berlin.

Pate des Abends
Willi Steul

Intendant des Deutschlandradios

© Deutschlandradio – Bettina Fürst-Fastré

1. Vorsitzender Deutscher Freundeskreis europäischer Jugendorchester e.V.
Christoph Eschenbach

© Eric Brissaud

Seit fast zwei Jahrzehnten ist Christoph Eschenbach dem Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival eng verbunden. Immer wieder hat der Pianist und Dirigent spannende Programme mit dem Festivalorchester, dessen Chefdirigent er seit 2004 ist, erarbeitet und dann auf Tourneen präsentiert – so auch bei Young Euro Classic. Von 2010 bis 2017 fungiert Eschenbach zugleich als Leiter des National Symphony Orchestra und des Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington. Außerdem ist der 76-Jährige unermüdlich auf den Podien in aller Welt im Einsatz. In der Spielzeit 2016/2017 dirigiert er in Deutschland u. a. die Bamberger Philharmoniker, das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, das SWR Symphonieorchester sowie das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester. In London, Paris und Madrid gastiert er ebenso wie in ganz Nordamerika und Asien. Last but not least tritt Eschenbach nach wie vor als Klaviersolist und im Lied-Duo mit dem Bariton Matthias Goerne auf.

www.christoph-eschenbach.com

Dirigent
Bruno Philippe

© Natacha Colmez Photography

Der französische Cellist Bruno Philippe, geboren 1993 in Perpignan, erhielt seine Ausbildung am Konservatorium in Paris bei Jérôme Pernoo. Weitere Studien führten ihn zu Meisterkursen bei bedeutenden Cellisten wie David Geringas, Steven Isserlis und Pieter Wispelwey. Seit 2014 studiert Philippe an der Kronberg-Akademie im Taunus bei Frans Helmerson. Im selben Jahr wurde er mit dem 3. Preis und dem Publikumspreis beim ARD-Wettbewerb in München sowie mit einem Sonderpreis beim Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann in Berlin ausgezeichnet. Philippe ist bei unzähligen Festivals in ganz Europa aufgetreten; zu seinen Kammermusikpartnern zählen Gidon Kremer, Christian Tetzlaff, Tabea Zimmermann und Antoine Tamestit. 2015 erschien seine erste CD mit den Cellosonaten von Johannes Brahms.

 

 

 Violoncello
Di Wu

© Hua Lin

Die chinesisch-amerikanische Pianistin Di Wu kam 1999 in die USA, um an der Manhattan School of Music, später am Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia bei Gary Graffman und an der New Yorker Juilliard School bei Yoheved Kaplinsky, Joseph Kalichstein und Robert McDonald zu studieren. 2016 machte sie noch ihren Master of Business Administration an der Columbia Business School. In der Saison 2016/17 gab Di Wu erstmals Konzerte in Minsk und Moskau. Sie spielte drei Konzerte in Mexiko und unternahm eine umfangreiche Asien-Tournee mit 20 Konzerten in den großen Musikmetropolen. Di Wu begann ihre professionelle Karriere im Alter von 14 Jahren mit einem Konzert zusammen mit dem Beijing Philharmonic. 2009 gab sie ihr US-Debüt mit dem Philadelphia Orchestra. Mit amerikanischen Orchestern war sie u.a. in Washington D.C., Pittsburgh, Boston, Seattle und Cincinnati zu hören und arbeitete dabei u.a. mit Charles Dutoit, Ludovic Morlot, Yu Long und Christoph Eschenbach. Mit Recitals war sie in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall und der Alice Tully Hall im Lincoln Center sowie in Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, San Francisco sowie beim Gilmore International Keyboard Festival, dem Ravinia Festival und dem Portland Piano Festival zu hören.

www.diwupiano.com

Klavier
Thomas Bloch

© Thomas Bloch

Thomas Bloch lebt in Paris und ist ein weltweit begehrter Spezialist seltener Instrumente wie der Ondes Martenot, der Glasharmonika, des Cristal Baschet und des Waterphone, daneben Komponist und Produzent. Er arbeitet im Bereich der klassischen Musik, aber auch der Rock- und Popmusik, darüber hinaus in den Genres Oper, Improvisation, Filmmusik und Ballettmusik. Er gab über 3000 Konzerte in 40 Ländern und war an rund 150 CDs beteiligt. Er arbeitete u.a. mit Radiohead, John Cage, Tom Waits, Marianne Faithfull, Robert Wilson, Milos Forman, Daft Punk, Valery Gergiev, Pierre Boulez, Michel Plasson, Myung-Whun Chung, Christoph Eschenbach, Paul Sacher, Isabelle Huppert, Manu Dibango, Fred Frith, Phil Minton, Nana Mouskouri, und Vanessa Paradis. Thomas Bloch hat CDs bei renommierten Labels wie EMI, Deutsche Grammophon und Sony eingespielt, und er produziert eigene CDs bei Naxos. Thomas Bloch absolvierte seinen Masterstudiengang im Fach Musikwissenschaft an der Université de Strasbourg. Er unterrichtet Ondes Martenot am Conservatoire de Strasbourg. Im Musée de la Musique de Paris ist er verantwortlich für die Präsentation der Ondes Martenot. Im Januar 2017 wirkte Thomas Bloch beim Eröffnungskonzert der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie mit.

www.thomasbloch.net

Ondes Martenot

JOSEPH HAYDN

Konzert für Violoncello Nr. 1 C-Dur Hob. VIIb.1 (1765)

OLIVIER MESSIAEN

„Turangalîla-Symphonie“ für Klavier und großes Orchester (1948)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Wohl kaum ein Orchester ist dem Festival Young Euro Classic so eng verbunden wie das Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchester: Jahr für Jahr kommt das international zusammengesetzte Ensemble nach einer intensiven Probenphase in Rendsburg zum Konzert nach Berlin, und 2017 ist sogar der Eröffnungstermin am 18. August für die mitreißenden Musikerinnen und Musiker reserviert. Auf 30 erfolgreiche Jahre kann das SHFO zurückblicken, seit es 1987 vom legendären Leonard Bernstein gegründet wurde. Eine imposante Riege prominenter Dirigenten hat seitdem mit dem Orchester gearbeitet; diesmal steht wieder der Chefdirigent Christoph Eschenbach selbst am Pult. Und er bringt ein Werk mit, das fast schon die Dimensionen des Konzerthauses sprengt: die gewaltige Turangalîla-Symphonie des Franzosen Olivier Messiaen. Als charmanten Kontrast dazu gibt es Haydns erstes Cellokonzert mit dem französischen Newcomer Bruno Philippe.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.