Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra

© Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra

This orchestra has highly ambitious goals: in 2018 the Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra was founded with the support of the Russian Ministry of Culture and the Presidential Scholarship Fund, and during its first year alone, the young orchestra gave 40 concerts throughout the country, from St. Petersburg to Omsk, Perm and Irkutsk. It has also participated in the festival “Stars of the White Nights” at the Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg, in the Rachmaninov Days and a gala celebrating the opening of the 7th International Cultural Forum in St. Petersburg. The RNYSO is organized as a music academy which includes intense tuition and additional master courses; the musicians, all of whom are below 30 years of age, are selected through auditions in almost 30 Russian cities. Apart from the intense orchestral training the orchestra provides, its special focus is on reaching young audiences. To this end, it gives concerts at the country’s universities, but also organizes projects in which both outstanding young conductors and winners of the renowned Tchaikovsky Competition are introduced to a broad audience.

Russia
July 31, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Valentin Uryupin

© Daniil Rabovsky

The Russian conductor Valentin Uryupin began his musical career as a highly successful clarinettist, winning the ARD Music Competition in Munich, among other coveted awards. Born in Ukraine in 1985, he received conducting lessons from Gennady Rozhdestvensky during his time at the Moscow Conservatory. From 2011 onwards he worked closely with Teodor Currentzis at his orchestra MusicAeterna in Perm. In 2017 Uryupin won the First Prize at the Georg Solti Conducting Competition in Frankfurt; ever since, he has conducted many renowned Russian orchestras, but also in Helsinki, Dublin, Athens, Madrid, Tokyo and Singapore. During the 2018/19 season the conductor made his debut with the Deutsches Symphonieorchester Berlin and was also invited as a guest conductor at the opera houses in Stuttgart and Frankfurt. At the moment, Valentin Uryupin is chief conductor of the Rostov Symphony Orchestra; he continues to perform as a clarinettist – occasionally doubling as soloist and conductor.

Conductor

Sergei Dogadin

© Anastasia Steiner

Sergei Dogadin, now 31, began playing the violin when he was six, making his debut with the St. Petersburg Philharmonic at the age of only 14. In the meantime, he has made an international name for himself by winning numerous international competitions, including the Joseph Joachim Competition in Hanover in 2015 and the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 2019. Dogadin has performed with all the major Russian orchestras under conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Yuri Termirkanov and Vasily Petrenko. Further invitations this season have taken him to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in Geneva. A passionate chamber musician, the violinist regularly performs with musicians such as Daniil Trifonov, Narek Hakhnazaryan, Denis Matsuev, David Geringas and Elisabeth Leonskaja. He plays a violin built by Domenico Montagnana in 1721, on loan to him by the Rin Collection in Singapore.

www.sergeidogadin.com

Violin

MIKHAIL GLINKA

Overture to “Ruslan and Lyudmila” (1842)

PYOTR I. TCHAIKOVSKY

Violin Concerto in D-major Op. 35 (1878)

SERGEY RACHMANINOV

Symphonic Dances Op. 45 (1940)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Daniela Becker at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission with concert ticket

PROGRAMME

Russian sounds rife with Russian passion: it is hard to imagine a concert with a more deeply Russian flavour than the performance of the Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra, which makes its debut at Young Euro Classic at Berlin’s Konzerthaus. The orchestra was only founded in 2018 at the initiative of the Moscow Ministry of Culture, aiming to introduce the best young talents of the Russian conservatories with the high art of perfect orchestral playing. Given such an agglomeration of talent, the programme is appropriately demanding, starting with the brilliant overture to Ruslan and Lyudmila by Mikhail Glinka, which might be called the Russian national opera. The second part is taken up by Sergei Rachmaninov’s last work, the Symphonic Dances in which he takes a nostalgic look at his own life in a late romantic style. In the middle, there is room for Tchaikovsky’s breath-taking Violin Concerto – surely played in a brilliant fashion by Sergey Dogadin, winner of the 2019 Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra

Dieses Orchester hat überaus ehrgeizige Ziele: 2018 wurde das Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra mit Unterstützung des russischen Kulturministeriums und der Stipendienstiftung des Präsidenten gegründet, und bereits in seinem ersten Jahr gab das junge Orchester 40 Konzerte im ganzen Land zwischen St. Petersburg, Omsk, Perm und Irkutsk. Es nahm außerdem am Festival „Sterne der Weißen Nächte“ im Mariinski-Theater St. Petersburg, den Rachmaninow-Tagen und der Gala zur Eröffnung des 7. Internationalen Kulturforums St. Petersburg teil. Organisiert ist das RNYSO als Musikalische Akademie, in die intensiver Unterricht und zusätzliche Meisterkurse integriert sind; ausgewählt wurden Musiker*innen unter 30 Jahren aus fast 30 Städten Russlands. Neben der intensiven Orchestererziehung gilt ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der bewussten Ansprache jungen Publikums. Dem dienen vor allem die Konzerte in den Universitäten des Landes, aber auch Projekte, in denen sowohl herausragende junge Dirigenten wie auch die Gewinner des renommierten Tschaikowski-Wettbewerbs vorgestellt werden.

Russland
31. Juli 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Valentin Uryupin

© Daniil Rabovsky

Der russische Dirigent Valentin Uryupin begann seine musikalische Laufbahn sehr erfolgreich als Klarinettist, wobei er unter anderem den ARD-Musikwettbewerb in München gewann. 1985 in der Ukraine geboren, erhielt er außerdem schon am Moskauer Konservatorium Dirigierunterricht bei Gennadi Roschdestwenski. Anschließend arbeitete er ab 2011 eng mit Teodor Currentzis bei dessen Orchester MusicAeterna in Perm zusammen. 2017 errang Uryupin den 1. Preis beim Dirigierwettbewerb Georg Solti in Frankfurt; seitdem ist er mit vielen namhaften russischen Orchestern, aber auch in Helsinki, Dublin, Athen, Madrid, Tokio und Singapur aufgetreten. In der Saison 2018/19 gab der Dirigent sein Debüt beim Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, außerdem wurde er als Gast an die Opernhäuser in Stuttgart und Frankfurt verpflichtet. Derzeit ist Valentin Uryupin Chefdirigent des Symphonieorchesters Rostow; nach wie vor tritt er solistisch als Klarinettist – bisweilen auch in doppelter Funktion als Dirigent – auf.

Dirigent

Sergei Dogadin

© Anastasia Steiner

Der 31-jährige Sergei Dogadin begann mit sechs Jahren das Geigenspiel und gab bereits als 14-jähriger sein Debüt bei den St. Petersburger Philharmonikern. Inzwischen hat er sich durch den Gewinn zahlreicher internationaler Wettbewerbe längst einen internationalen Namen gemacht, so der Joseph-Joachim-Wettbewerb 2015 in Hannover und der Tschaikowski-Wettbewerb in Moskau 2019. Dabei ist Dogadin als Solist mit allen namhaften russischen Orchestern unter Dirigenten wie Valery Gergiev, Yuri Temirkanow und Vasily Petrenko aufgetreten. Weitere Einladungen führen ihn in dieser Saison zum Chicago Symphony Orchestra, dem Royal Philharmonic Orchestra und dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in Genf. Als passionierter Kammermusiker tritt der Geiger gemeinsam mit Musikern wie Daniil Trifonov, Narek Hakhnazaryan, Denis Matsuev, David Geringas und Elisabeth Leonskaja auf. Er spielt auf einer Geige von Domenico Montagnana aus dem Jahr 1721, die ihm von der Rin Collection in Singapur zur Verfügung gestellt wurde.

www.sergeidogadin.com

Violine

MICHAIL GLINKA

Ouvertüre zu „Ruslan und Ljudmila“ (1842)

PJOTR I. TSCHAIKOWSKI

Violinkonzert D-Dur op. 35 (1878)

SERGEJ RACHMANINOW

Symphonische Tänze op. 45 (1940)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Daniela Becker im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45

PROGRAMM

Russische Klänge plus russische Leidenschaft: Mehr Russland geht wirklich nicht als im Festival-Konzert des Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra, das damit zum ersten Mal überhaupt bei Young Euro Classic im Konzerthaus Berlin auftritt. Denn erst 2018 ist das Orchester im Auftrag des Kulturministeriums in Moskau gegründet worden, um die besten Talente der russischen Konservatorien mit der hohen Kunst des perfekten Orchesterspiels vertraut zu machen. Bei so viel geballtem Können darf auch das Programm besonders anspruchsvoll sein: Den Anfang macht die brillante Ouvertüre zur russischen Nationaloper Ruslan und Ludmilla von Michail Glinka, den zweiten Teil füllen die Symphonischen Tänze, das letzte Orchesterwerk Sergej Rachmaninows, ein spätromantisch-wehmütiger Rückblick auf das eigene Leben. Dazwischen bleibt noch Platz für Tschaikowskis mitreißendes Violinkonzert – sicherlich ebenso mitreißend gespielt von dem Gewinner des Moskauer Tschaikowski-Wettbewerbs 2019, Sergei Dogadin.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.