Orquesta Nacional Juvenil de Uruguay - Sodre

© NYOU – María Noel de Mello

Only nine years ago, in 2011, the Orquesta Nacional Juvenil de Uruguay – Sodre (ONS), the National Youth Orchestra of Uruguay – Sodre, was founded by Ariel Britos; it has its headquarters at the Auditorio Nacional del Sodre in Uruguay’s capital of Montevideo. About 100 young musicians are members of the orchestra, which offers not only musical training, but also emphasizes the intellectual and cultural development of its members and keeping contact with new audiences. On the occasion of the ONS’ five-year anniversary, the orchestra undertook a tour with 20 performances within Uruguay and the surrounding regions. In addition, the orchestra has completed many other tours as well: in 2013 a first tour abroad took it to the USA and to Panama; in 2014 it toured Germany, Italy and Spain. The orchestra played in 2015 in Washington DC on the occasion of Pope Francis’ visit to the USA. In 2017 it celebrated the 100-year anniversary of La Cumparsita, the “tango of tangos”, with a multitude of concerts.

www.orquestajuvenildelsodre.org

Uruguay
August 7, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Ariel Britos

© Carlos Dossena

Born in Montevideo in 1969, the conductor Ariel Britos is the founder and director of the Youth Symphony Orchestra of Uruguay, the Orquesta Nacional Juvenil de Uruguay – Sodre. He originally studied piano, then also viola performance in his homeland, in Mexico and Brazil. In 1996 Britos moved to Venezuela, where he worked intensively with “El Sistema”, the network of children’s and youth orchestras founded by José Antonio Abreu. After his return to Uruguay, the musician initiated a similar project there with the motto “Un niño, un instrumento” (An instrument for every child). Ever since, Britos has been dedicated to expanding the youth orchestra scene in Central and South America; thus, he has worked with orchestras in Panama, Costa Rica, Argentina, Chile, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Mexico and Brazil. In 2005 he coordinated the “Orquesta Juvenil Latinoamericana” conducted by Claudio Abbado. For his artistic and social work, the Ariel Britos has won multiple awards, including the title “UNESCO Artist for Peace”.

Conductor

Héctor Ulises Passarella

© María Noel de Mello

The Uruguayan Héctor Ulises Passarella is one of the world’s most sought-after bandoneon virtuosos; he has also made a name for himself as a composer and arranger for this instrument. Born in Florida, Uruguay, in 1955, young Héctor began playing in a bandoneon orchestra at the age of 13 and soon founded his first trio. Later he won several international competitions, including the Concorso Ottorino Respighi, which earned him a one-year scholarship to live in Italy. Ever since, Passarella has not only performed in all the great cities of Latin America, but also in Munich, London, Prague, Rome, Istanbul and Tel Aviv. He became known to a broader film audience when he performed Luis Bacalov’s film score for Il postino (1994) as well as through movies such as Milonga and The Love Letter (also composed by Luis Bacalov). Together with Plácido Domingo, Passarella recorded Bacalov’s Misa Tango, which was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2001. As an arranger, Passarella has won renown for his adaptations of Bach and Vivaldi works, among others.

www.ulisespassarella.com

Bandoneon

PYOTR. I. TCHAIKOVSKY

Symphony No. 4 f-Minor Op. 36 (1877)

HÉCTOR TOSAR

Toccata (1940)

HÉCTOR ULISES PASSARELLA

“Montevideo Diversa” (1999, German premiere)

HÉCTOR ULISES PASSARELLA

“Suite Rioplantense” (1995)

JOSÉ PABLO MONCAYO

“Huapango” (1941)

ALBERTO GINASTERA

Suite “Estancia” (1941/43)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Anne Kussmaul at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission with concert ticket

PROGRAMME

This concert is sure to add a new colour to the Young Euro Classic programme: the National Youth Orchestra of Uruguay makes its first appearance at the Konzerthaus in Berlin – and is flanked by a brilliant soloist, the bandoneon player Héctor Ulises Passarella. He will demonstrate his abilities mainly in his own compositions, of which Montevideo Diversa will be heard in Germany for the very first time. These works are bookmarked by two Latin American hits: Huapango, Mexico’s unofficial national anthem, and the folkloristic and fiery suite Estancia by the Argentinean Alberto Ginastera. However, the guests from Uruguay also speak “European”: in homage to the great symphonic tradition, the programme opens with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4, in which the composer made his entire personal fate resound. It is difficult to imagine greater contrasts in one concert!

Concert Partner

Partner

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Orquesta Nacional Juvenil de Uruguay - Sodre

© NYOU – María Noel de Mello

Vor erst neun Jahren, 2011, wurde das Orquesta Nacional Juvenil de Uruguay – Sodre (ONS), das Nationale Jugendorchester Uruguays, von Ariel Britos gegründet; seinen Sitz hat es im Auditorio Nacional del Sodre in der Hauptstadt Montevideo. Etwa 100 junge Musiker*innen gehören dem Orchester an, das neben der musikalischen Förderung besonderen Wert auf die geistige und kulturelle Entwicklung der Mitglieder sowie den Kontakt zu neuem Publikum legt. So fand aus Anlass des fünfjährigen Bestehens des ONS eine Konzertreise mit 20 Auftritten innerhalb Uruguays und der umliegenden Regionen statt. Darüber hinaus hat das Jugendorchester eine Vielzahl von Tourneen absolviert: 2013 führte eine erste Reise in die USA und nach Panama, 2014 eine Europatournee nach Deutschland, Italien und Spanien. Zu Ehren von Papst Franziskus spielte das Orchester 2015 bei dessen USA-Besuch in Washington; und 2017 wurde der 100. Jahrestag der Cumparsita, des „Tangos aller Tangos“, mit einer Vielzahl von Konzerten gefeiert.

www.orquestajuvenildelsodre.org

Uruguay
07. August 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Ariel Britos

© Carlos Dossena

Der 1969 in Montevideo geborene Ariel Britos ist Gründer und Leiter des Jugendsymphonieorchesters von Uruguay, des Orquesta Nacional Juvenil de Uruguay – Sodre. Er studierte zuerst Klavier, später auch Viola in seiner Heimat, in Mexiko und Brasilien. 1996 ging Britos nach Venezuela, wo er intensiv im „Sistema“, dem von José Antonio Abreu begründeten Netzwerk von Kinder- und Jugendorchestern, mitwirkte. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Uruguay rief der Musiker dort unter dem Motto „Un niño, un instrumento“ (Ein Kind, ein Instrument) ein ähnliches Projekt ins Leben. Seitdem widmet sich Britos intensiv dem weiteren Ausbau von Jugendorchestern in Ländern Mittel- und Südamerikas; so arbeitete er mit Orchestern in Panama, Costa Rica, Argentinien, Chile, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Mexico und Brasilien zusammen. 2005 koordinierte er das von Claudio Abbado dirigierte „Orquesta Juvenil Latinoamericana“. Für seine künstlerisch-soziale Arbeit wurde der Dirigent vielfach ausgezeichnet, so als „UNESCO-Künstler für den Frieden“.

Dirigent

Héctor Ulises Passarella

© María Noel de Mello

Der Uruguayer Héctor Ulises Passarella zählt zu den weltweit gefragtesten Solisten am Bandoneon; außerdem hat er sich einen Namen als Komponist und Arrangeur für dieses Instrument gemacht. Geboren 1955 in Florida, Uruguay, spielte der junge Héctor schon mit dreizehn Jahren in einem Bandoneon-Orchester und gründete bald darauf sein erstes Trio. Später gewann er mehrere internationale Wettbewerbe, darunter den Concorso Ottorino Respighi, der ihm ein einjähriges Stipendium in Italien einbrachte. Seitdem ist Passarella nicht nur in allen großen Städten Lateinamerikas aufgetreten, sondern auch in München, London, Prag, Rom, Istanbul und Tel Aviv. Einem breiteren Filmpublikum wurde er durch die von Luis Bacalov komponierte Musik zu dem Film Il postino (Der Postbote, 1994) bekannt, außerdem durch Filme wie Milonga und The Love Letter (Musik ebenfalls Luis Bacalov). Gemeinsam mit Plácido Domingo nahm Passarella die Misa Tango von Bacalov auf, die 2001 für einen Grammy nominiert wurde. Als Arrangeur hat Passarella viel Anerkennung für seine Bearbeitungen von Bach und Vivaldi bekommen.

www.ulisespassarella.com

Bandoneon

PJOTR. I. TSCHAIKOWSKI

Symphonie Nr. 4 f-moll op. 36 (1877)

HÉCTOR TOSAR

Toccata (1940)

HÉCTOR ULISES PASSARELLA

Montevideo Diversa (1999, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

HÉCTOR ULISES PASSARELLA

Suite Rioplantense (1995)

JOSÉ PABLO MONCAYO

Huapango (1941)

ALBERTO GINASTERA

Suite „Estancia” (1941/43)

19 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Anne Kussmaul im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Dieses Konzert bringt mit Sicherheit eine ganz neue Farbe ins Programm von Young Euro Classic: Zum ersten Mal kommt das Nationale Jugendorchester von Uruguay ins Berliner Konzerthaus – und an seiner Seite als brillanter Solist der Bandoneon-Spieler Héctor Ulises Passarella. Sein Können wird er vor allem an eigenen Kompositionen zeigen, von denen Montevideo Diversa erstmals überhaupt in Deutschland zu hören ist. Drumherum bietet die jungen Musiker*innen zwei Hits aus Lateinamerika: Huapango, die heimliche Nationalhymne Mexikos, und die folkloristisch-feurige Suite Estancia des Argentiniers Alberto Ginastera. Aber die Gäste aus Uruguay können auch europäisch: Als Verbeugung vor der großen symphonischen Tradition steht Tschaikowskis vierte Symphonie auf dem Programm, in welcher der Komponist sein ganzes persönliches Schicksal zum Klingen gebracht hat. Mehr Kontrast in einem Konzert geht kaum!

Partner des Abends

Partner

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.