O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra

© O/Modernt

O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra combines the forces of O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra and New Generation scheme that was launched by Hugo Ticciati and O/Modernt (Swedish for ‘Un/Modern’) in 2017. In this special formation, the members of O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra are sharing the stage with a group of talented young musicians from Stockholm who have been offered a unique opportunity to perform in concert with top-level professional players from all over Europe. The orchestra performs innovative and adventurous programmes in the spirit of O/Modernt, combining old and new in totally unexpected ways. Regular soloist collaborations include world-class artists such as Evelyn Glennie, Steven Isserlis, Anne Sofie von Otter and Nils Landgren, as well as jazz artists, rappers and choreographers. O/Modernt New Generation scheme fellows regularly perform at the annual Festival O/Modernt in Stockholm and often complement O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra on tour. Over the last decade, they have performed in Wigmore Hall and Kings Place in London, Wiener Musikverein and Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ in Amsterdam, and return to Young Euro Classic to make their fourth appearance at the festival.

www.omodernt.com

Sweden
August 8, 2021 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Hugo Ticciati

© Kaupo Kikkas

The musical world of the Swedish violinist Hugo Ticciati is characterized by infinite curiosity. The 41-year-old, brother of the chief conductor of Berlin’s DSO, Robin Ticciati, includes literature, philosophy, spirituality and meditation in his programmes, just like dance and kinetic painting. He performs the classical violin concertos, but also delves into contemporary music with verve. Ticciati has works by Takemitsu, Shchedrin, Glass and Lera Auerbach in his repertoire and has also given works by Albert Schnelzer, Sergey Yevtushenko, Erkki-Sven Tüür and Judith Weir their world premieres recently. He is a passionate chamber musician, working with the percussionist Evelyn Glennie, pianists Angela Hewitt and Olli Mustonen and the trombonist Nils Landgren, for example. In addition, Hugo Ticciati is the artistic director of the O/Modernt Kammarorkester, which is in residence at Stockholm’s concert hall Musikaliska. Recently he has been invited to work with the Swedish and Australian Chamber orchestras as well as Stuttgarter Kammerorchester.

www.hugoticciati.com

Violin, Artistic Director

Luciana Mancini

© John Márrquez

Mezzo-soprano Luciana Mancini is a perfect fit for the international, border-busting profile of O/Modernt. Born in Sweden, but of Chilean descent, with both parents being musicians, her upbringing was embraced by classical music and folk music from around the world, which naturally led Luciana into exploring several colours of vocal expression from a very early age, having widened her artistic career to diverse genres, adapting to the different styles with great care and fascination. She received bachelor degrees in classical singing and Early Music performance practice at the Royal Conservatory of Den Haag in Holland. She joined the Opera Studio while working on her Master thesis on Italian monodies of the 1600´s, receiving her Masters degree from the Early Music department in 2009. In Berlin, the singer has appeared several times at the Berlin State Opera, thus in Sasha Waltz’ production of Gluck’s Orfeo and in Cavalieri’s Rappresentazione di Anima e Corpo under René Jacobs. Luciana Mancini also enjoys an intense collaboration with Christina Pluhar and her ensemble L’Arpeggiatia, in whose programmes Los Imposibles, Via Crucis and All’improviso she has appeared in numerous European cities.

Mezzo-Soprano

Marcelo Nisinman

© Mariya Nesterovska

Marcelo Nisinman brings the Argentine colour to this O/Modernt programme. Born in Buenos Aires in 1970, he studied bandoneon and composition in his hometown, then studying with Detlev Müller-Siemens in Basel, where he still lives today. As a bandoneonist, he has performed with artists such as Martha Argerich, Gidon Kremer, Gary Burton and Fernando Suarez Paz, but also with the WDR Big Band and the Philadelphia Orchestra. He has composed numerous works for bandoneon and orchestra in which he mixes traditional tango with elements of contemporary composition, for example in Dark Blue Tango and the two compositions Hombre Tango and 4 am Tango. In addition, he has combined the bandoneon with a string quartet and in a trio with electric guitar and double bass. The broad spectrum of Nisinman’s output is reflected in his discography, which features duos for bandoneon and double bass (Al Principio), solo pieces (Cumparsitos), stage music (Desvios Tango Theater Music) and his arrangement of Piazzolla’s María de Buenos Aires.

www.nisinman.com

Bandoneon

Julian Arp

© Michael Brus

For the cellist Julian Arp, participating in the O/Modernt concert in Berlin is almost a home game. He studied at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin with Boris Pergamenschikow. He continued his studies with David Geringas and Eberhard Feltz, graduating in 2008. Since his soloist debut as a 16-year-old at the Schwetzingen Festival in 1997, Arp has appeared as a soloist and chamber musician at festivals including the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the Rheingau Music Festival, Beethovenfest Bonn, Beauvais, Montreux, SoNoRo Bucharest, Stellenbosch, Stift Festival, the Oxford Chamber Music Festival and IMS Prussia Cove. The Duo Arp/Frantz has released three CDs. Contemporary composers, including Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Sven-Ingo Koch, Sarah Nemtsov and Violeta Dinescu have written pieces for him. He is a co-founder of the festival Zeitkunst which is dedicated to chamber music and contemporary literature and has been a guest at the Centre Pompidou, Radialsystem Berlin, Israel, England and Rio de Janeiro.

Cello

Leandro Mancini-Olivos

© Katarzyna Borek

Leandro Mancini-Olivos is a Swedish-Chilean drummer and percussionist based in London. Growing up in a family of popular and classical musicians, Leandro was exposed to diverse music from all corners of the world and has developed a wide spectrum of musical genres. Performing and recording on sessions that span from modern jazz to baroque and from Welsh folk to West African rhythms, Leandro has been invited to appear at some of Europe’s most prestigious venues and festivals. In 2004 Leandro began his freelance career in Santiago as a sideman for local and international artists such as Miguel Botafogo aka Don Vilanova. In 2009 he moved to the UK, where he studied Music Performance in Drums at the London Centre of Contemporary Music. Since 2010 he has performed, recorded and toured the UK extensively with several established artists and groups, mainly from the London scene. Most recently Leandro was invited to collaborate with Owen Shiers on the ambitious song project Cynefin and Cherise Adams-Burnett.

Percussion

Filip Korošec

© Claudia Hansen

Even if he is still a student at the Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm, Filip Korošec counts among the most promising percussionists of the younger generation in Sweden. As a soloist and in chamber music formations, he has performed all over Europe. Filip Korošec was also the first winner of the Marimba One Excellency Award in Luxembourg. Focusing on the contemporary percussion repertoire, the musician is a champion of new works for percussion and electronics; in addition, he has an interest in jazz and baroque music – and everything in between.

Vibraphone/Marimba

HILDEGARD VON BINGEN

“Vos flores rosarum” (arr. Johannes Marmén)

MARÍA GREVER

“Alma mia“

ARTURS MASKATS

“Summer Dreams“ for Violin, Mezzosoprano und String Orchestra (2020, German Premiere)

MARCELO NISINMAN

“Gaia’s Tango“ for Cello, Bandoneon and Strings (2021, German Premiere)

ELADIA BLÁZQUEZ

“Sin Piel“ (2000, arr. Sverre Indris Joner)

DOBRINKA TABAKOVA

“Frozen River Flows" (2005)

ASTOR PIAZZOLLA

“Verano Porteño“ (1965) and “Invierno Porteño“ (1969) from “Estaciones Portenas" (arr. Leonid Desyatnikov)

TRADITIONAL

“Nani Nani” Sephardic Lullaby

ASTOR PIAZZOLLA

“Yo soy María“ from “María de Buenos Aires“ (1968, arr. Sverre Joner)

PROGRAMME

Just a glance at the solo instruments arouses curiosity: bandoneon, percussion and marimba join the action this time when the creative violinist Hugo Ticciati and his chamber ensemble O/Modernt return to Young Euro Classic. That, however, does not mean that we should fear limitations in time or epoch – on the contrary! Entitled “Un/Sung Heroines”, the programme ranges from Hildegard von Bingen, that medieval Wonder Woman, to the Bulgarian Dobrinka Tabakova, who lives in London today and has contributed her composition Frozen River Flows. Nor is there a shortage of male presence: Astor Piazzolla, whose anniversary is celebrated in 2021, is not just represented by his homage to María de Buenos Aires, but also by the Summer and Winter from his Four Seasons. One thing is certain: there is no end to the surprises Hugo Ticciati can conjure from the depths of his violin case!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra

© O/Modernt

Das O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra vereint das O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra mit dem „New Generation“-Programm, das Hugo Ticciati und O/Modernt (was auf Schwedisch so viel wie „Un/Modern“ bedeutet) 2017 ins Leben gerufen haben. In dieser besonderen Formation teilen die Mitglieder des O/Modernt Kammerorchesters die Bühne mit einer Gruppe von talentierten jungen Musiker_innen aus Stockholm, die damit eine einzigartige Gelegenheit erhalten, in Konzerten mit hochrangigen Profimusiker_innen aus ganz Europa aufzutreten. Das Orchester präsentiert innovative und abenteuerlustige Programme im Geiste von O/Modernt, in denen sich Alt und Neu auf ganz unerwartete Weise die Hand reichen. Unter den Solist_innen, die regelmäßig mit dem Orchester auftreten, finden sich Weltstars wie Evelyn Glennie, Steven Isserlis, Anne Sofie von Otter und Nils Landgren, ferner Jazzmusiker_innen, Rapper_innen und Choreograph_innen. Teilnehmer_innen des O/Modernt New Generation-Programms treten regelmäßig beim jährlichen O/Modernt Festival in Stockholm auf und gehen ebenso mit dem O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra auf Tournee. Im Lauf des vergangenen Jahrzehnts sind sie in London in der Wigmore Hall und in Kings Place aufgetreten, im Musikverein in Wien und im Muziekgebouw aan’t IJ in Amsterdam; dieses Jahr kehren sie zum vierten Mal zum Festival Young Euro Classic zurück.

www.omodernt.com

Schweden
08. August 2021 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Hugo Ticciati

© Kaupo Kikkas

Das musikalische Wirken des schwedischen Violinisten Hugo Ticciati ist von grenzenloser Neugier geprägt. Der 41-Jährige, Bruder des DSO-Chefdirigenten Robin Ticciati, schließt Literatur, Philosophie, Spiritualität und Meditation gleichermaßen ein wie Tanz und kinetisches Malen. Er spielt die klassischen Violinkonzerte, aber er stürzt sich auch mit großer Vehemenz in die zeitgenössische Musik. Ticciati hat Werke von Takemitsu, Schtschedrin, Glass und Lera Auerbach in seinem Repertoire, außerdem brachte er in letzter Zeit Konzerte von Albert Schnelzer, Sergej Jewtuschenko, Erkki-Sven Tüür und Judith Weir zur Uraufführung. Er macht leidenschaftlich gern Kammermusik, so mit der Schlagzeugerin Evelyn Glennie, den Pianisten Angela Hewitt und Olli Mustonen oder dem Posaunisten Nils Landgren. Darüber hinaus ist Hugo Ticciati Künstlerischer Leiter des O/Modernt Kammarorkester, das seinen Sitz am Konzerthaus Musikaliska in Stockholm hat. In letzter Zeit erhielt er Einladungen vom Stuttgarter Kammerorchester wie auch vom Swedish und Australian Chamber Orchestra.

www.hugoticciati.com

Violine, künstlerische Leitung

Luciana Mancini

© John Márrquez

Die Mezzosopranistin Luciana Mancini passt perfekt in das grenzüberschreitende musikalische Profil von O/Modernt. Aufgewachsen in Schweden als Tochter chilenischer Musiker, gehörten klassische wie Volksmusik zu ihren frühesten Eindrücken. Dementsprechend hat sich ihre künstlerische Laufbahn entwickelt, indem sie mit großer Neugier verschiedene Genres, Zeiten und Stile nebeneinander pflegt. Ihre Gesangsausbildung absolvierte Luciana Mancini am Königlichen Konservatorium in Den Haag; dort verfasste sie auch ihre Masters-Arbeit über die italienische Monodie um 1600. In Berlin ist die Sängerin mehrfach an der Staatsoper Berlin zu erleben gewesen, so in der Sasha Waltz-Produktion von Glucks Orfeo und in Cavalieris Rappresentazione di Anima e Corpo unter René Jacobs. Eine intensive Zusammenarbeit verbindet Luciana Mancini auch mit Christina Pluhar und ihrem Ensemble L’Arpeggiata, mit deren Programmen Los Imposibles, Via Crucis und All’improviso sie in zahlreichen europäischen Städten auftrat.

Mezzosopran

Marcelo Nisinman

© Mariya Nesterovska

Marcelo Nisinman bringt die argentinische Farbe in das Programm von O/Modernt. Geboren 1970 in Buenos Aires, studierte er zuerst Bandoneon und Komposition in seiner Heimatstadt. Später wechselt er zu Detlev Müller-Siemens nach Basel, wo Nisinman noch heute lebt. Als Bandoneon-Spieler ist er mit Künstlern wie Martha Argerich, Gidon Kremer, Gary Burton und Fernando Suarez Paz, aber auch mit der WDR Big Band und dem Philadelphia Orchestra aufgetreten. Er komponierte zahlreiche Werke für Bandoneon und Orchester, in denen er den traditionellen Tango mit Elementen zeitgenössischer Musik mischt, so in Dark Blue Tango und den beiden Kompositionen Hombre Tango und  4 am Tango.  Darüber hinaus kombinierte er das Bandoneon mit Streichquartett oder als Trio mit E-Gitarre und Kontrabass. Die große Spannbreite von Nisinmans Schaffen spiegelt seine Diskografie mit Duos für Bandoneon und Kontrabass (Al Principio), Solostücken (Cumparsitos), Bühnenmusik (Desvios. Tango Theater Music) und der Bearbeitung von Piazzollas María de Buenos Aires wider.

www.nisinman.com

Bandoneon 

Julian Arp

© Michael

Für den Cellisten Julian Arp ist die Mitwirkung an dem Konzert von O/Modernt quasi ein Heimspiel. Denn in Berlin hat er an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler bei Boris Pergamenschikow und später bei David Geringas sowie Eberhard Feltz studiert. 2008 schloss er sein Studium mit dem Konzertexamen ab. Seit seinem Solistendebüt als 16-Jähriger 1997 bei den Schwetzinger Festspielen ist Arp in vielen Konzertsälen und bei Festivals im In- und Ausland aufgetreten, so beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, dem Rheingau Musik Festival, Beethovenfest Bonn, Festival Montreux, Oxford Chamber Music Festival und SoNoRo Bukarest. Sein besonderes Engagement gilt der zeitgenössischen Musik. So hat Arp Werke bei Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Sven-Ingo Koch, Sarah Nemtsov und Violeta Dinescu in Auftrag gegeben und uraufgeführt. Das von ihm mitbegründete Berliner Festival Zeitkunst widmet sich der Kombination von Kammermusik und zeitgenössischer Literatur.   

Violoncello

Leandro Mancini-Olivos

© Katarzyna Borek

Der Schlagzeuger und Percussionist Leandro Mancini-Olivos kommt aus London zum Konzert von O/Modernt nach Berlin, wuchs aber als Sohn chilenischer Eltern in Schweden auf. Durch seine familiäre Prägung mit klassischer und Volksmusik entwickelte er schon früh ein großes Interesse für Musik aus den verschiedensten Epochen und Erdteilen. Nicht zufällig hat er deshalb auch an vielen Konzerten und CD-Produktionen mitgewirkt, bei denen sich die Musik vom Modern Jazz bis zum Barock und von walisischem Folk bis zu westafrikanischen Rhythmen bewegt. Seine künstlerische Laufbahn begann Leandro 2004 in Santiago de Chile; 2009 ging er nach London, wo er am Centre of Contemporary Music studierte. Seitdem hat er unzählige Auftritte und Tourneen in Großbritannien mit den bedeutendsten Künstlern aus der Londoner Szene absolviert. Zuletzt kam es zu einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem walisischen Musiker Owen Shiers für sein ambitioniertes Song-Projekt Cynefin und der Jazzsängerin Cherise Adams-Burnett.

Percussion

Filip Korošec

© Claudia Hansen

Auch wenn er gegenwärtig noch an der Königlichen Hochschule in Stockholm studiert, darf Filip Korošec jetzt schon zu den vielversprechendsten Perkussionisten der jüngeren Generation in Schweden gezählt werden. Als Solist wie auch in Kammermusikformationen ist er bereits in ganz Europa aufgetreten. Außerdem war Filip Korošec der erste Preisträger des in Luxemburg verliehenen Marimba One Excellency Award. Mit seinem Fokus auf dem zeitgenössischen Repertoire für Percussion setzt sich der Musiker intensiv für neue Werke für Percussion und Elektronik ein; daneben gilt sein weiteres Interesse ebenso dem Jazz, dem Barock – und allem, was dazwischen liegt.

Vibraphon/Marimba

HILDEGARD VON BINGEN

„Vos flores rosarum“ (arr. Johannes Marmén)

MARÍA GREVER

„Alma mia“

ARTURS MASKATS

„Summer Dreams“ für Violine, Mezzosopran und Streichorchester (2020, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

MARCELO NISINMAN

„Gaia’s Tango“ für Violoncello, Bandoneon und Streicher (Deutsche Erstaufführung)

ELADIA BLÁZQUEZ

„Sin Piel“ (2000, arr. Sverre Indris Joner)

DOBRINKA TABAKOVA

„Frozen River Flows“ (2005)

ASTOR PIAZZOLLA

„Verano Porteño“ (1965) und „Invierno Porteño“ (1969) aus „Estaciones Portenas" (arr. Leonid Desyatnikov)

TRADITIONELL

„Nani Nani” Sephardisches Wiegenlied

ASTOR PIAZZOLLA

„Yo soy María“ aus „María de Buenos Aires“ (1968, arr. Sverre Joner)

PROGRAMM

Allein schon das angekündigte Instrumentarium macht neugierig: Bandoneon, Percussion und Marimba werden diesmal mit von der Partie sein, wenn der kreative Geiger Hugo Ticciati und sein Kammerensemble O/Modernt wieder zum Konzert bei Young Euro Classic auftreten. Das bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass es deswegen Einschränkungen von Zeit und Epoche geben müsste. Ganz im Gegenteil: Unter dem Titel „Un/Sung Heroines“ (in etwa: „Un/besungene Heldinnen“) spannt sich der Bogen von Hildegard von Bingen, der musikalischen Powerfrau des Mittelalters, bis zu der Bulgarin Dobrinka Tabakova, die heute in London zuhause ist und ihre Komposition Frozen River Flows beisteuert. Doch auch Männer kommen zu Wort: Der Jubilar des Jahres 2021, Astor Piazzolla, ist nicht nur mit seiner Hommage an María de Buenos Aires vertreten, sondern auch mit Sommer und Winter aus seinen Vier Jahreszeiten. Und so viel ist sicher: Hugo Ticciati wird noch weitere Überraschungen aus seinem Geigenkasten zaubern!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.