NYO Jazz

© Dave Rugh

This ensemble is completely unique: in the summer of 2018, the legendary Carnegie Hall in New York City first brings together twentytwo outstanding young jazz musicians aged 16 to 19 from all over the USA to form NYO Jazz, America’s national jazz youth orchestra. An intense two-week rehearsal phase will be followed by its debut concert at Carnegie Hall as well as an extended European tour, which also brings the ensemble to Young Euro Classic in Berlin. The jazz trumpet player Sean Jones, equally renowned as a soloist, composer and pedagogue, leads NYO Jazz through its first season in 2018. After the National Youth Orchestra of the USA (NYO-USA) and NYO2, another offshoot of NYO-USA, NYO Jazz is the third ensemble founded by Carnegie Hall in recent years in order to give young, highly talented musicians intense encouragement and support on their way to professional careers or other life pursuits in music.

USA
August 10, 2018 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Dr. Willi Steul

© Bettina Fürst

Journalist

The former general director of Deutschlandradio (2009-2017) has an unusually intriguing biography: after studies in England and France and earning a PhD in ethnology, Steul spent almost 5 years studying blood vengeance in Afghanistan during the 1970s, teaching intermittently at the University of Kabul before turning to journalism for good. He reported from Afghanistan and Pakistan, from Beirut, Greece, Turkey and from the Gulf War in 1991 as an ARD correspondent. In 1994 he joined Deutschlandradio in Berlin as an editor in chief. In 1998 he became associate general director of the SWR and director for Baden-Württemberg; in 2009 he returned to Deutschlandradio as its general director. Dr. Willi Steul was awarded the German Cross of Merit and is a Commandeur of the French Ordre national du Mérite. He is one of the co-founders of Young Euro Classic and has been chairman of the Circle of Friends of European Youth Orchestras e.V., which has presented the festival since the year 2000.

 

Patron of the Evening
Sean Jones

© Jimmy Katz

Music and spirituality have always overlapped in the artistic vision of the trumpet player, composer, pedagogue and activist Sean Jones. Born in 1978 in Warren, Ohio, it was Miles Davis who inspired him to switch from percussion to trumpet. Only when he was 19 and already a classically trained trumpet player did he start turning increasingly to jazz. A six-month stint with the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra in New York brought him an encounter with Wynton Marsalis, who offered Jones the position of lead trumpeter in his orchestra. Ever since, he has performed with his own ensembles, but also with great jazz personalities such as Illinois Jacquet, Jimmy Heath, Frank Foster, Nancy Wilson, Dianne Reeves and Marcus Miller. Together with Herbie Hancock and Wayne Shorter, he played a “Tribute to Miles” tour in 2011. A versatile and experienced teacher as well, Jones has recently been appointed to the Richard and Elizabeth Case Chair in Jazz Studies at the Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University. His most recent albums are im*pro*vise: never before seen (2014) and Live From Jazz At The Bistro (2017).

www.sean-jones.com

Trumpet and Bandleader
Special Guest: Dianne Reeves

© Jerris Madison

A winner of five Grammy Awards, Dianne Reeves is one of the world’s most prominent jazz singers. Her most recent awards came in 2006 for the soundtrack to George Clooney’s film Good Night, and Good Luck and in 2015 for her solo album Beautiful Life. Born in Detroit, Michigan, in 1956, Dianne Reeves grew up in Denver, Colorado. Her talent was discovered during a competition for high school big bands; her breakthrough came when Harry Belafonte made her a lead singer for his tours in 1983. Ever since, the vocalist has performed with doyens of jazz such as Wynton Marsalis, has toured with her own performance Sing the Truth!, but has also worked with classical ensembles, including the Berlin Philharmonic under Simon Rattle. Since her debut album in 1977 Dianne Reeves has produced more than 20 records, including Quiet After the Storm (1994), In the Moment: Live in Concert (2000) and A Little Moonlight (2004). In 2018, the National Endowment for the Arts will designate her a Jazz Master—the highest honour the United States bestows on jazz artists.

diannereeves.com

Vocals

PROGRAMME

The latest offspring of the National Youth Orchestra of the USA, an initiative of New York’s Carnegie Hall, undertakes a European tour in the first year of its existence and brings the sound of American Big Bands to the Concertohaus. Works range from classics by Duke Ellington and Count Basie to a German premiere by the award-winning composer Miguel Zenón.

Broadcast

The concert is available ON DEMAND on ARTE CONCERT until September 8, 2018: www.arte.tv/de/videos/084152-001-A/national-youth-orchestra-jazz/

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

NYO Jazz

© Dave Rugh

Dieses Ensemble ist absolut einzigartig: Im Sommer 2018 bringt die legendäre Carnegie Hall in New York City erstmals zweiundzwanzig hervorragende junge Jazzmusiker von 16-19 Jahren aus den ganzen USA zusammen, um daraus das NYO Jazz zu bilden: das nationale Jazz-Jugendorchester der USA. Einer intensiven zweiwöchigen Probenphase folgt dann das Debüt-Konzert in der Carnegie Hall; es schließt sich eine ausgedehnte Europa-Tournee an, die das Ensemble auch zu Young Euro Classic nach Berlin führt. Der Jazz-Trompeter Sean Jones, gleichermaßen bekannt als Solist, Komponist und Pädagoge, betreut das NYO Jazz bei seiner ersten Saison 2018. Nach dem National Youth Orchestra of the USA (NYO-USA) und dem NYO2, einem weiteren Ableger dieses Jugendorchesters, ist NYO Jazz das dritte Ensemble, das in den letzten Jahren in Verantwortung der Carnegie Hall entstanden ist, um junge, hochtalentierte Musiker auf dem Weg zur Professionalität intensiv zu fördern.

www.carnegiehall.org/Education/Young-Musicians/NYO-Jazz

USA
10. August 2018 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Dr. Willi Steul

© Bettina Fürst-Fastré

Journalist

Der ehemalige Intendant von Deutschlandradio (2009-2017) hat eine ungewöhnlich spannende Biographie: Nach Studien in England und Frankreich verbrachte der promovierte Ethnologe in den 1970er-Jahren fast 5 Jahre mit Feldforschungen zu Blutrache in Afghanistan, unterrichtete zeitweise an der Universität Kabul und wandte sich dann erst endgültig dem Journalismus zu. Als ARD-Korrespondent war er u.a. in Afghanistan und Pakistan, in Beirut, Griechenland, der Türkei und 1991 als Korrespondent im Golf-Krieg tätig. 1994 kam er als Chefredakteur zum Deutschlandradio nach Berlin. 1998 wurde er Direktor Baden-Württemberg und Stellvertretender Intendant des SWR und kehrte dann 2009 als Intendant zum Deutschlandradio zurück. Dr. Willi Steul ist Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes, sowie Commandeur im französischen Ordre national du Mérite. Er ist Mitgründer von Young Euro Classic und von Beginn an Vorsitzender des Freundeskreises europäischer Jugendorchester e.V., der das Festival seit dem Jahr 2000 veranstaltet.

Pate des Abends
Sean Jones

© Jimmy Katz

Musik und Spiritualität haben sich immer überlappt in der künstlerischen Vision des Trompeters, Komponisten, Pädagogen und Aktivisten Sean Jones. Geboren 1978 in Warren, Ohio, war es das Vorbild von Miles Davis, das ihn vom Schlagzeug zur Trompete wechseln ließ. Erst als 19-jähriger, klassisch ausgebildeter Trompeter begann er, sich stärker dem Jazz zuzuwenden. Ein sechsmonatiges Engagement beim Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra in New York brachte die Bekanntschaft mit Wynton Marsalis, der Jones die Stelle des Solotrompeters in seinem Orchester anbot. Seitdem ist er mit eigenen Ensembles, aber auch mit vielen Jazz-Größen wie Illinois Jacquet, Jimmy Heath, Frank Foster, Nancy Wilson, Dianne Reeves und Marcus Miller aufgetreten. Gemeinsam mit Herbie Hancock und Wayne Shorter absolvierte er 2011 eine „Tribute to Miles“-Tour. Vielfältig engagiert als Pädagoge, wurde Jones kürzlich zum Inhaber des Richard und Elizabeth Case-Lehrstuhls für Jazz-Studien am Peabody Conservatory der Johns Hopkins Universität ernannt. Zuletzt erschienen seine beiden Alben  im*pro*vise: never before seen (2014) und Live From Jazz At The Bistro (2017).

www.sean-jones.com

Trompete, Künstlerische Leitung
Special Guest: Dianne Reeves

© Jerris Madison

Die fünffache Grammy-Gewinnerin Dianne Reeves ist eine der weltweit prominentesten Jazz-Sängerinnen überhaupt. Zuletzt wurde sie 2006 für den Soundtrack zu George Clooneys Film Good Night, and Good Luck sowie 2015 für ihr Solo-Album Beautiful Life ausgezeichnet. Geboren 1956 in Detroit, Michigan, wuchs Dianne Reeves in Denver, Colorado auf. Über einen Wettbewerb für Schul-Bigbands wurde ihr Talent entdeckt; den Durchbruch erlebte sie, als Harry Belafonte sie 1983 zur Leadsängerin für seine Tourneen machte. Seitdem ist die Sängerin mit Jazz-Größen wie Wynton Marsalis aufgetreten, tourte mit ihrer eigenen Performance „Sing the Truth!“, arbeitete aber auch mit klassischen Ensembles zusammen, so mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Simon Rattle. Seit ihrem Platten-Debüt 1977 hat die Sängerin über 20 Alben produziert, darunter Quiet After the Storm (1994), In the Moment: Live in Concert (2000) und A Little Moonlight (2004). 2018 wird das National Endowment for the Arts sie als „Jazz Master“ auszeichnen – die höchste Ehre, die in den USA für Jazzmusiker vergeben wird.

diannereeves.com

Gesang

PROGRAMM

Der neuste Ableger des National Youth Orchestra USA, eine Initiative der Carnegie Hall in New York, unternimmt im ersten Jahr seines Bestehens eine Europatournee und bringt dabei den Sound der amerikanischen Big Band ins Konzerthaus, mit Klassikern von Duke Ellington und Count Basie bis zu einer deutschen Erstaufführung eines neuen Werks des viel geehrten Komponisten Miguel Zenón.

Mitschnitt

Konzert verpasst? Kein Problem! Dieses Konzert wird ON DEMAND noch bis zum 08.09.2018 auf ARTE CONCERT gestreamt: www.arte.tv/de/videos/084152-001-A/national-youth-orchestra-jazz/

 

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.