fbpx
National Youth Orchestra of the USA

 

© Chris Lee

The National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America, or NYO-USA, is still a young ensemble. Founded in 2013 at the initiative of New York’s Carnegie Hall, it unites the best young musicians of the entire USA each summer. The orchestra spends three intense weeks rehearsing on the campus of Purchase College, State University of New York, north of New York City. In addition to intensive sectional and tutti rehearsals, the residency includes chamber music activities and workshops on musical and non-musical subjects. Each summer culminates in a concert at Carnegie Hall, followed by a tour to cultural capitals. In summer 2018, NYO-USA undertook a tour of Asia under the baton of Michael Tilson Thomas, performing in Taipei, Shanghai, Beijing, Seoul and Daejeon. As part of this year’s European tour, NYO-USA makes its debut at Young Euro Classic.

USA
August 6, 2019 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Sebastian Nordmann

© Pablo Castagnola

Intendant Konzerthaus Berlin

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Nordmann, born in Kiel in 1971, studied musicology and modern history first at the Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg, then at Berlin’s Free University and Technical University. Right after his Master’s degree, he wrote his doctoral thesis under the auspices of Prof. Dr. Christian Martin Schmidt on The Influence of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival on the Musical Landscape of Schleswig-Holstein. While still a student, Sebastian Nordmann gathered practical experience in the cultural sector, working at the Edinburgh Festival, the Culture Department of Bayer AG, as orchestra manager of the Schleswig-Holstein State Youth Orchestra and assistant to the Intendant (Artistic Director) of the Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. After completing his doctorate, he worked for the strategic consultancy The Boston Consulting Group in Berlin for two years. From October 2002 to December 2008 he was Intendant and managing director of the Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. From 2008 to 2013 he taught music management / career planning as a professor at the Rostock Academy of Music and Theatre. Since September 2009 Sebastian Nordmann has been Intendant of the Konzerthaus Berlin and the Konzerthaus Orchestra Berlin. Since spring of 2016 he has also been Artistic Director of the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Music Academy Competition. 

Patron of the Evening

Sir Antonio Pappano

© Musacchio & Ianniello EMI Classics

The British conductor Sir Antonio Pappano is equally successful in the opera house and on the concert stage. Since 2002 he has been the music director of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London; at the same time he has held the position of chief conductor of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome since 2005. Born to Italian parents in London in 1959, his career took him to Chicago, Frankfurt and Bayreuth (where he assisted Daniel Barenboim) to Oslo, where he became chief conductor of the Norwegian Opera in 1990, followed by the Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels in 1992. Ever since, Pappano has performed with all the major orchestras in North American and Europe, including both the Berlin Philharmonic and the Staatskapelle Berlin this past season. His opera repertoire is immense, ranging from the masterpieces of Verdi, Puccini and Wagner to Shostakovich’s Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, Szymanowski’s King Roger and Birtwistle’s The Minotaur. Most recently, his CD production of Verdi’s Aida with Anja Harteros and Jonas Kaufmann in the main roles won broad acclaim. As a pianist, Pappano regularly accompanies song recitals by singers such as Joyce DiDonato, Ian Bostridge and Gerald Finley.

Conductor

Magdalena Kožená

(c) CEMA Oleg Rostovtsev

Born in the Czech city of Brno, mezzo-soprano Magdalena Kožená trained as a singer and pianist at the conservatory of her hometown and later at the music academy in Bratislava. On the concert platform, she has collaborated with many of the world’s leading conductors, including Claudio Abbado, Pierre Boulez, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Bernhard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Mariss Jansons, James Levine, Sir Roger Norrington und Sir Simon Rattle. Also an acclaimed artist in period performance, she has been heard with the English baroque Soloists, the Gabrieli Consort and Players, Il Giardino Armonico, and Les Musiciens du Louvre, among others. In 2003 she made her debut at the Salzburg Festival as Zerlina in Don Giovanni, returning there in 2013 as Idamante in Idomeneo. Her operatic repertoire includes the roles of Cherubino, Mélisande, Octavian, Carmen and the title roles of Charpentier’s Medée and Martinů’s Juliette, which she has sung at the Metropolitan Opera, the Royal Opera House, in Baden-Baden and Glyndebourne as well as Berlin’s Staatsoper Unter den Linden. For her services to French music, Magdalena Kožená was named a Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 2003.

We are most grateful to Ms. Kožená for replacing Dame Sarah Connolly, who has unfortunately been taken ill, at short notice!

Mezzo-Soprano

TYSON J. DAVIS

"Delicate Tension” - Inspired by the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall (World Premiere)

HECTOR BERLIOZ

"Les Nuits d'été" Op. 7 (1834-1856)

SERGEY PROKOFIEV

Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major Op. 100 (1944/45)

PROGRAMME

Think big! That is most certainly the motto when the National Youth Orchestra of the United States performs the final concert of Young Euro Classic 2019 at the Konzerthaus. The audience gets to witness one of the world’s leading conductors, Antonio Pappano, who laid the foundation for his international career in the USA. The orchestra was planning to appear with Dame Sarah Connolly, who had to cancel at short notice because of a cold. We are most grateful to Magdalena Kožená for stepping in at short notice. She will demonstrate her mastery in one of the most beautiful romantic song cycles, Les nuits d’été by Hector Berlioz. After the interval, the programme features Prokofiev’s masterwork, his Symphony No. 5 of 1944: grand in its proportions, it is full of melodic inventiveness which has made the work his most popular symphony.

Broadcast

The concert will be streamed LIVE on arte.tv/yec

Gallery

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

fbpx
National Youth Orchestra of the USA

© Chris Lee

Das National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America, kurz NYO-USA, ist noch ein sehr junges Ensemble. 2013 als Initiative der Carnegie Hall in New York gegründet, versammelt es jeden Sommer die besten jungen Musikerinnen und Musiker aus den gesamten USA. Ort der intensiven dreiwöchigen Probenphase ist der Campus des Purchase College der State University of New York, nördlich von New York City. Zusätzlich zu den intensiven Stimm- und Gesamtproben finden auch Kammermusikaktivitäten und Workshops zu musikalischen und nichtmusikalischen Themen statt. Höhepunkt der jährlichen Arbeitsphase ist ein Konzert in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall, worauf eine Tournee durch die Kulturmetropolen der Welt folgt. Im vergangenen Jahr reiste das NYO-USA unter Leitung von Michael Tilson Thomas nach Asien, wo das Orchester in Taipei, Shanghai, Beijing, Seoul und Daejeon auftrat. Auf seiner diesjährigen Europa-Tournee macht das NYO-USA erstmals Station bei Young Euro Classic.

USA
06. August 2019 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Sebastian Nordmann

© Pablo Castagnola

Intendant Konzerthaus Berlin

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Nordmann, geboren 1971 in Kiel, studierte Musikwissenschaften und Neuere Geschichte, zunächst an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, später dann an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin. Im direkten Anschluss an seinen Magister promovierte er bei Prof. Dr. Christian Martin Schmidt über das Thema „Der Einfluss des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festivals auf die Musiklandschaft Schleswig-Holstein“. Während seines Studiums sammelte Sebastian Nordmann praktische Erfahrungen im Kulturbereich beim Edinburgh Festival, der Kulturabteilung der Bayer AG, als Orchestermanager des Landesjugendorchesters Schleswig-Holstein und als Intendanzassistent bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Im Anschluss an die Promotion arbeitete er für zwei Jahre bei der strategischen Unternehmensberatung The Boston Consulting Group in Berlin. Von Oktober 2002 bis Dezember 2008 war er Intendant und Geschäftsführer der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Von 2008 bis 2013 unterrichtete er als Professor das Fach Musikmanagement / Karriereplanung an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock. Seit September 2009 ist Sebastian Nordmann Intendant des Konzerthauses Berlin und des Konzerthausorchesters Berlin. Seit Frühjahr 2016 ist er Künstlerischer Leiter des Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Hochschulwettbewerbs. 

Pate des Abends

Sir Antonio Pappano

© Musacchio & Ianniello EMI Classics

Der britische Dirigent Sir Antonio Pappano ist gleichermaßen in Oper und Konzert erfolgreich. Seit 2002 amtiert er als Musikdirektor am Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London; zugleich wirkt er seit 2005 als Chefdirigent der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom. 1959 als Sohn italienischer Eltern in London geboren, führte ihn der Weg über Chicago, Frankfurt und Bayreuth (als Assistent Daniel Barenboims), 1990 an die norwegische Oper in Oslo und 1992 an das Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel. Seitdem ist Pappano mit allen großen Orchestern in Nordamerika und Europa, in der vergangenen Saison auch mit den Berliner Philharmonikern und der Staatskapelle Berlin, aufgetreten. Sein Opernrepertoire ist überaus weit gespannt und reicht von den großen Werken Verdis, Puccinis und Wagners bis zu Schostakowitschs Lady Macbeth von Mzensk, Szymanowskis König Roger und Birtwistles The Minotaur. Zuletzt erregte er große Aufmerksamkeit mit einer CD-Produktion von Verdis Aida mit Anja Harteros und Jonas Kaufmann. Als Liedbegleiter musiziert Pappano regelmäßig mit Sängern wie Joyce DiDonato, Ian Bostridge und Gerald Finley.

Dirigent

Magdalena Kožená

© CEMA Oleg Rostovtsev

Die aus dem tschechischen Brno stammende Mezzosopranistin Magdalena Kožená erhielt ihre Ausbildung in den Fächern Gesang und Klavier am Konservatorium ihrer Heimatstadt und späte ran der Musikhochschule in Bratislava. Als Konzertsängerin hat sie mit vielen der bedeutendsten Dirigenten weltweit zusammengearbeitet, darunter Claudio Abbado, Pierre Boulez, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Bernhard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Mariss Jansons, James Levine, Sir Roger Norrington und Sir Simon Rattle. Sie ist außerdem eine gefragte Interpretin im Bereich der historischen Aufführungspraxis und war gemeinsam mit den English Baroque Soloists, Il Giardino Armonico, Les Musiciens du Louvre und anderen Ensembles zu hören. Im Jahr 2002 gab sie als Zerlina in Don Giovanni ihr Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen, wohin sie 2013 als Idamante in Idomeneo zurückkehrte. Ihr Opernrepertoire umfasst darüber hinaus  Partien wie Cherubino, Mélisande, Octavian, Carmen sowie die Titelrollen in Charpentiers Medée und Martinůs Juliette, mit denen sie u.a. an der Metropolitan Opera, am Royal Opera House Covent Garden, in Baden-Baden, Glyndebourne und an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden gastierte. Für ihre Verdienste um die französische Musik wurde Magdalena Kožená 2003 zum Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt.

Wir danken Frau Kožená ganz herzlich für ihr kurzfristiges Einspringen für die erkrankte Dame Sarah Connolly! 

Mezzosopran

TYSON J. DAVIS

"Delicate Tension” - inspiriert durch den 30. Jahrestag des Falls der Berliner Mauer (Uraufführung)

HECTOR BERLIOZ

"Les Nuits d'été" op. 7 (1834-1856)

SERGEI PROKOFJEW

Symphonie Nr. 5 B-Dur op. 100 (1944/45)

Zu Beginn der zweiten Konzerthälfte findet die Verleihung des Europäischen Komponistenpreises 2019 statt.

PROGRAMM

Think big! Das ist ganz sicher die Devise, wenn in diesem Sommer das National Youth Orchestra of the United States zum Abschluss von Young Euro Classic im Konzerthaus Berlin Station macht. Somit darf das Publikum nicht nur einen Top-Dirigenten wie Antonio Pappano erleben, der einst in den USA die Grundlagen für seine internationale Karriere gelegt hat. Gerne hätte das Orchester sein Können auch mit der Top-Solistin Dame Sarah Connolly unterstrichen, die aber ihren Auftritt krankheitsbedingt kurzfristig absagen musste. Wir danken Magdalena Kožená ganz herzlich für ihr kurzfristiges Einspringen. Frau Kožená wird ihr hervorragendes Können an einem der schönsten romantischen Liederzyklen, Les nuits d’été von Hector Berlioz, wunderbar demonstrieren. Nach der Pause steht dann noch Prokofjews Meisterwerk, die Fünfte von 1944, auf dem Programm: groß in den Ausmaßen, dazu voller melodische Einfälle, die das Werk zu seiner populärsten Symphonie gemacht haben.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird LIVE gestreamt auf arte.tv/yec

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.