fbpx
National Youth Orchestra of China

It is one of the youngest youth orchestras worldwide: in 2017 the National Youth Orchestra of China – or NYO-China – was founded, giving about 100 highly talented young musicians of that country the chance to gain high-level orchestral playing experience. The musicians, aged 14 to 21, work together for one month each summer, coached by selected professionals from the best Chinese orchestras. In 2017, the National Youth Orchestra of China gave concerts in Beijing and Shanghai, but also at Carnegie Hall in New York; the concert was broadcast worldwide via livestream. The conductor was Ludovic Morlot, and the soloists were Yuja Wang and Olga Kern, both pianists. In 2018 a series of chamber concerts by an ensemble of 21 members followed within China. On its first grand European tour, the large orchestra makes its debut at Young Euro Classic 2019.

www.nyochina.org 

China
August 5, 2019 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Holger Wemhoff

© Daniela Vagt

Chief Presenter, Klassik Radio

Fans of Klassik Radio would recognize his voice instantly: for more than 20 years, Holger Wemhoff has been chief presenter at the station. Born in Ibbenbüren in Westphalia, Holger Wemhoff studied theatre studies, Italian literature and modern German literary history in Munich. He is one of the most popular German stage presenters at the biggest classical music events and hosts the Deutsche Grammophon podcast “Let’s talk about classical music”. Among the numerous stars Holger Wemhoff has interviewed in his show are Sir Peter Ustinov, Armin Mueller-Stahl, Ennio Morricone, Rolando Villazón, Montserrat Caballé and Anna Netrebko. His expert yet amusing presentations have entertained audiences in the concert halls of Berlin, Hamburg, Munich, Frankfurt and Stuttgart. His first book, an autobiography, appeared in German in the fall of 2011. The Vienna Philharmonic invites him regularly as the backstage moderator for its legendary “Summer Night Concert”. 

Patron of the Evening

Ludovic Morlot

© Lisa-Marie Mazzucco

Born in Lyon in 1973, Ludovic Morlot originally studied violin, moving on to the Royal College of Music in London, where he added conducting to his curriculum. He attended further conducting courses in the USA. Ever since winning the Seiji Ozawa Fellowship in Tanglewood in 2001, Morlot has had a particularly close relationship with the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Further invitations have taken him to the great orchestras of the USA, but also to Berlin, Dresden, London, Amsterdam and Tokyo. This season the Frenchman, who has been music director of the Seattle Symphony since 2011, makes his debut in Houston, Detroit, Rotterdam and with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra. His recording of orchestral works of his compatriot Henri Dutilleux with the Seattle Symphony was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2016. In the USA, Morlot has also led premieres of works by Tristan Murail, Elliott Carter and Augusta Read Thomas.

Ludovicmorlot.com 

Conductor

Garrick Ohlsson

© Dario Acosta

At the age of 22, Garrick Ohlsson won the Chopin Competition in Warsaw in 1970, vaulting into the top league of pianists overnight. Ever since, the American, who was a student of Claudio Arrau and of Rosa Lhevinne at the Juilliard School in New York, has performed with all the notable orchestras in the USA. He has toured Poland no less than ten times; in November 2018 he performed Ignaz Paderewski’s Piano Concerto in Warsaw, commemorating the 100th anniversary of Polish independence. Ohlsson’s concert repertoire is enormously broad, including more than 80 works, e.g. the piano concerti by Scriabin, Busoni, Barber and Lutoslawski. Among his CD productions, the recordings of the complete Beethoven sonatas and the complete works of Frédéric Chopin stand out. In addition, his discography also features works by Weber, Grieg, Granados, Gershwin and Stefan Wolpe. Starting in this season, Ohlsson dedicates himself to the complete piano works of Johannes Brahms, which he performs as cycles in several cities in the USA and Europe.

www.garrickohlsson.com

Piano

XIAOGANG YE

"Sunlight" and "Twilight" from "The Tianjin Suite" (2016, German Premiere)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major Op. 73 (1809)

DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH

Symphony No. 5 in D Minor Op. 47 (1937)

PROGRAMME

The National Youth Orchestra of China has only existed for two years – but for their first European tour, the young Chinese musicians have set themselves high goals! The 100 young instrumentalists undergo an extensive application process with video submissions and auditions in order to join their national youth orchestra. Therefore, the “heavy lifting” required by this programme should be just their thing: on the one hand, the Chinese orchestra performs Beethoven’s majestic Piano Concerto No. 5 with the American pianist Garrick Ohlsson as the soloist – a perfect fit for this festival’s Beethoven focus. Its counterpart is Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5, a fascinatingly ambivalent work, oscillating between depression and resistance, sorrow and eloquence. And of course, the Chinese orchestra has also chosen a current work from its homeland: Ye Xiaogang composed his Tianjin-Suite in 2016.

Broadcast

The concert will be streamed LIVE on arte.tv/yec

Gallery

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

National Youth Orchestra of China

Es gehört zu den jüngsten Jugendorchestern weltweit: 2017 wurde das National Youth Orchestra of China – kurz NYO-China – gegründet, um damit etwa 100 jungen, hochtalentierten Musikerinnen und Musikern des Landes die Gelegenheit zu hochqualifiziertem Musizieren im Orchester zu ermöglichen. In einer einmonatigen sommerlichen Probenphase arbeiten die Musiker im Alter von 14 bis 21 Jahren mit ausgewählten Lehrern aus den besten chinesischen Orchestern zusammen. Bereits 2017 gab das NYO-China auf seiner ersten Tournee neben Konzerten in Beijing und Shanghai auch sein Debüt in der Carnegie Hall in New York.; das Konzert wurde per Livestream weltweit übertragen. Dirigent war Ludovic Morlot, als Solistinnen traten die Pianistinnen Yuja Wang und Olga Kern auf. 2018 folgte eine Reihe von Kammerkonzerten, mit denen das nunmehr 21-köpfige Ensemble in Konzertsälen innerhalb von China auftrat. Auf seiner ersten Europa-Tournee ist das große Orchester 2019 auch zum ersten Mal bei Young Euro Classic zu Gast. 

www.nyochina.org

 

China
05. August 2019 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Holger Wemhoff

© Daniela Vagt

Chefmoderator, Klassik Radio

Allen Fans des Senders Klassik Radio ist seine Stimme wohlvertraut: Holger Wemhoff ist seit über 20 Jahren als Chefmoderator bei dem Sender tätig. Geboren im westfälischen Ibbenbüren, studierte Holger Wemhoff nach dem Abitur Theaterwissenschaft mit dem Schwerpunkt Musiktheater sowie Italienische Philologie und Neue deutsche Literaturgeschichte in München. Regelmäßig führt er als Chefmoderator von Klassik Radio seine Hörerinnen und Hörer durch die „Große Welt“ der Klassik, immer darauf bedacht, dass sie einem breiten Publikum zugänglich bleibt. Unter den zahlreichen Stars, die Holger Wemhoff in seinen Sendungen interviewte sind u.a. Sir Peter Ustinov, Armin Mueller-Stahl, Ennio Morricone, Rolando Villazón, Montserrat Caballé und Anna Netrebko. Dabei begeistert er mit seinen fachkundigen und amüsanten Moderationen das Publikum in den Konzerthäusern Berlins, Hamburgs, Münchens, Frankfurts und Stuttgarts. Im Herbst 2011 erschien sein erstes Buch – „Holger Wemhoff Biografie: Wo die Sprache aufhört – Mein Leben mit der Klassik“. Seit 2018 ist er der Moderator des Podcasts für die Deutsche Grammophon „Lass uns über Klassik reden“. 2019 wird er zum zweiten Mal das Sommernachtskonzert der Wiener Philharmoniker als Backstage-Moderator begleiten.

Pate des Abends

Ludovic Morlot

© Lisa-Marie Mazzucco

1973 in Lyon geboren, wechselte Ludovic Morlot nach ersten Studien als Geiger an das Royal College of Music in London, wo er zusätzlichen Dirigierunterricht erhielt. Im Anschluss ging er zum weiteren Dirigierstudium in die USA. Seit dem Gewinn des Seiji-Ozawa-Stipendiums in Tanglewood 2001 hat Morlot eine besonders enge Beziehung zum Boston Symphony Orchestra. Weitere Einladungen führten ihn zu den großen Orchestern in den USA, aber auch nach Berlin, Dresden, London, Amsterdam und Tokyo. In dieser Saison gibt der Franzose, der seit 2011 Musikdirektor der Seattle Symphony ist, sein Debüt in Houston, Detroit, Rotterdam und bei den Bamberger Symphonikern. Seine Aufnahme von Orchesterwerken seines Landsmanns Henri Dutilleux mit der Seattle Symphony war 2016 für den Grammy nominiert. In den USA dirigierte Morlot auch Erstaufführungen von Werken Tristan Murails, Elliott Carters und Augusta Read Thomas.

www.ludovicmorlot.com

Dirigent

Garrick Ohlsson

© Dario Acosta

Mit seinem Sieg beim Warschauer Chopin-Wettbewerb katapultierte sich der 22-jährige Garrick Ohlsson 1970 in die vorderste Reihe der Pianisten. Seitdem ist der US-Amerikaner, der noch bei Claudio Arrau und an der New Yorker Juilliard School bei Rosa Lhevinne studierte, mit allen namhaften Orchestern der USA aufgetreten. Allein zehn Tourneen führten ihn durch Polen; im November 2018 spielte er in Warschau zum 100. Jahrestag der Unabhängigkeit Ignaz Paderewskis Klavierkonzert. Ohlssons Konzertrepertoire ist überaus weitgefächert und umfasst über 80 Werke, darunter auch die Klavierkonzerte von Skrjabin, Busoni, Barber und Lutoslawski. Unter seinen CD-Produktionen sticht die Aufnahme aller 32 Beethovensonaten wie auch des Gesamtwerks von Frédéric Chopin hervor. Darüber hinaus finden sich Werke von Weber, Grieg, Granados, Gershwin und Stefan Wolpe in seiner Diskografie. Seit der vergangenen Saison widmet sich Ohlsson dem gesamten Klavierwerk von Johannes Brahms, das er zyklisch in mehreren Städten der USA und Europas aufführen will.

www.garrickohlsson.com

Klavier

 

XIAOGANG YE

"Sonnenlicht" und "Dämmerung" aus "The Tianjin Suite" (2016, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Klavierkonzert Nr. 5 Es-Dur op. 73 (1809)

DMITRI SCHOSTAKOWITSCH

Symphonie Nr. 5 d-Moll op. 47 (1937)

PROGRAMM

Das National Youth Orchestra of China gibt es erst seit zwei Jahren – aber für ihre erste Europatournee haben sich die jungen Chinesen schon viel vorgenommen! Denn die 100 Musikerinnen und Musiker müssen eine aufwändige Bewerbung per Video und Probespiel durchlaufen, um in das nationale Jugendorchester aufgenommen werden. Insofern kommen die „dicken Brocken“ dieses Programms als Herausforderung genau richtig: Zum einen haben sich die Chinesen Beethovens majestätisches fünftes Klavierkonzert mit dem US-Amerikaner Garrick Ohlsson als Pianisten ausgesucht – wunderbar passend zum Beethoven-Schwerpunkt bei diesem Festival. Den Gegenpol bildet Schostakowitschs fünfte Symphonie, ein faszinierend ambivalentes Werk zwischen Depression und Aufbäumen, zwischen Trauer und Emphase. Und selbstverständlich haben die Chinesen auch ein aktuelles Werk aus ihrer Heimat im Gepäck: Ye Xiaogang hat seine Tianjin-Suite erst 2016 komponiert.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird LIVE gestreamt auf arteconcert.com

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.