fbpx
National Youth Orchestra of Canada

The National Youth Orchestra of Canada has a long-standing tradition. It was founded in 1960 by the British-Czech conductor Walter Susskind, who directed it until 1964 and also led its first tour to Europe in 1966. Ever since, the orchestra has accompanied about 3,000 music students on their way towards a professional career in music. About 40 percent of all members of Canadian orchestras are graduates of the NYO of Canada, and many others can be found in other ensembles around the world. Every year, about 500 young musicians apply for its 100 seats; the summer working phase takes place at Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo, Ontario. This is followed by a national tour through Canada’s leading concert halls. Additional tours have taken the NYO of Canada to the USA, to Japan and China. Its performance at Berlin’s Konzerthaus marks the orchestra’s debut at Young Euro Classic.

www.nyoc.org

Canada
August 8, 2018 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Ulrich Deppendorf

© ARD Hanna Lippman

Journalist

Ulrich Deppendorf is a doyen of public television in Germany, whose appearance signalled important information on current world events – he moderated the Report from Berlin no less than 289 times. Berlin is the adopted home of this child of the Ruhr area, the place the 68-year-old feels at home. After studying law in Münster, he interned at the WDR, whose television programme director he ultimately became, after many successful years as an editor responsible for multiple features and programming areas, including “ARD aktuell” and its signature shows Tagesschau and Tagesthemen. That job interrupted his position as the head and chief editor of the ARD Capital Studio, which he then took up again from 2007 to 2015. To many, perhaps himself included, he thereby “returned home”.He finds it easy to deal with the gruff nature of the Berliners; perhaps it is also the city’s cultural riches that attract him. After all, the self-confessed classical music fan originally harboured quite a different dream profession: “I never regretted my decision to become a journalist, not even for one day. But in my next life, I would like to be a conductor.” As one of the founding fathers of Young Euro Classic, he has actively accompanied the festival from the very first minute. We hope this will remain the case for many years! In May of this year, he also became the chairman of the charitable association supporting the German Historical Museum Berlin.

Patron of the Evening
Jonathan Darlington

© Andreas Köhring

The British conductor Jonathan Darlington is a musical citizen of the world. Born in England in 1954, he was General Music Director at the Duisburg Opera from 2002 to 2011, lives in Paris today and has also been Music Director at the Vancouver Opera in Western Canada. Darlington started his career as a pianist, accompanist and répétiteur. He assisted Olivier Messiaen, Pierre Boulez and Myung-whun Chung in Paris; he was also the accompanist to master courses of Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, Janet Baker and Peter Pears at the Britten-Pears School in Aldeburgh. Since his 1984 conducting debut in Paris, Darlington has appeared with innumerable orchestras – including the Konzerthaus Orchestra in Berlin – and at opera houses in Europe and the USA. Apart from his position in Vancouver, he conducts regularly at the Semper Opera in Dresden (e.g. Die Zauberflöte, Die Fledermaus), but also in Vienna (Madama Butterfly) and Frankfurt (The Makropoulos Case).

 

www.jonathan-darlington.com

 

Conductor
Martin Mangrum

Aged only 21, the horn player Martin Mangrum is currently enrolled at the Colburn School, a conservatory in Los Angeles, where the principal horn player of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Andrew Bain, is his teacher. Martin Mangrum received his first horn lessons at the age of ten, subsequently moving on to the Montreal Music Conservatory and to the Marianopolis College. He has received several scholarships for the Aspen Music Festival during recent years. In the concert series “Jeunes et Pros” (Young Musicians and Professionals) in Montreal, the horn player has performed with members of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. Martin Mangrum has also been a substitute during concerts of the Los Angeles Philharmonic several times. In 2017 he won the Sénecal Mozart Prize and was invited as a soloist to the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra. This year, the Canadian Arts Council honoured the musician with the Michael Measures Prize.

 

Horn

GEORGE GERSHWIN

"Catfish Row" Suite from "Porgy and Bess" (1936)

RICHARD STRAUSS

Horn Concerto No. 2 in E-flat-Major Op. 132 (1942)

JOHN ESTACIO

"Moontides" (2018, German Premiere)

ALEXANDER SCRIABIN

"Le Poème de l’extase" Op. 54 (1905-1908)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

A premiere in the history of the National Youth Orchestra of Canada: for the first time in its more than 50 years of history, the young Canadians perform at Young Euro Classic in Berlin. And their musical selections are definitely a perfect calling-card: the concert begins with something nonchalant from Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess, followed by Richard Strauss’ Horn Concerto No. 2, a brilliant solo number. Then, importantly, a contemporary work by the Canadian composer John Estacio.  The crowning finale is the resounding, sensuously overwhelming spectacle of Alexander Scriabin’s Le poème de l’extase. The National Youth Orchestra of Canada is led by Jonathan Darlington, an experienced conductor, known to German audiences from his ten-year tenure as general music director at the Rheinoper in Duisburg.

 

Broadcast

This concert is recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcasted nationwide – via FM, DAB +, Kabel, online and app. The date of the broadcast is August 12, 2018, 20:03-22:00.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

National Youth Orchestra of Canada

Das National Youth Orchestra of Canada kann auf eine lange Tradition zurückblicken. 1960 wurde es von dem britisch-tschechischen Dirigenten Walter Susskind gegründet, der es bis 1964 leitete und 1966 auch auf seine erste Europa-Tournee führte. Seitdem hat das Orchester etwa 3000 Musikstudenten den Weg in die professionelle Laufbahn geebnet. Etwa 40 Prozent aller Mitglieder kanadischer Orchester sind Absolventen des NYO of Canada, viele weitere finden sich in anderen Ensembles weltweit. Jedes Jahr bewerben sich etwa 500 junge Musikerinnen und Musiker um die 100 Plätze; die sommerliche Probenphase findet in der Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo (Ontario) statt. Anschließend folgt eine landesweite Tournee durch die wichtigsten Konzertsäle Kanadas. Weitere Reisen führten das NYO of Canada auch in die USA, nach Japan und China. Mit seinem Auftritt im Konzerthaus Berlin ist das Jugendorchester erstmals bei Young Euro Classic zu erleben.

www.nyoc.org

Kanada
08. August 2018 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Ulrich Deppendorf

© ARD Hanna Lippmann

Journalist

Ulrich Deppendorf, das Urgestein des öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehens, das Signal für eine wichtige Information aus dem aktuellen Weltgeschehen – 289 mal moderierte er den Bericht aus Berlin, der Wahlheimat des Ruhrgebiet-Kindes, dem „Sehnsuchtsort“ des inzwischen 68-Jährigen. Nach seinem Jurastudium in Münster kam er einst über ein Volontariat zum WDR, dessen Fernseh-Programmdirektor er nach vielen erfolgreichen Jahren als Redakteur und Verantwortlicher vieler unterschiedlicher Sendungen und Programmbereiche, darunter „ARD aktuell“ mit Verantwortung für „Tagesschau“ und „Tagesthemen“, einige Jahre war. Dieser Job unterbrach ihn bei seiner Tätigkeit als Studioleiter und Chefredakteur des ARD-Hauptstadtstudios, die er dann 2007 bis 2015 aber wieder aufnahm. Für viele und vielleicht auch für ihn kam er zurück „nach Hause“. Mit der ruppigen Art der Berliner kommt er gut klar, sagt er,  vielleicht ist es auch der kulturelle Überfluss der Stadt, die ihn so anzieht. Der bekennende Klassik-Fan hatte nämlich in seinen jungen Jahren noch einen ganz anderen Berufswunsch: „Ich habe die Entscheidung zum Journalismus nicht einen Tag bereut. Aber in meinem zweiten Leben würde ich dann gerne Dirigent werden.“ Als Mitbegründer des Festivals Young Euro Classic ist er schon seit der ersten Minute aktiv dabei. Wir hoffen, dass das auch noch viele Jahre so bleiben wird! Seit Mai diesen Jahres ist er auch Vorsitzender des Museumsvereins des Deutschen Historischen Museums Berlin.

Pate des Abends
Jonathan Darlington

© Andreas Köhring

Der britische Dirigent Jonathan Darlington ist ein musikalischer Weltbürger durch und durch. Geboren 1954 in England, wirkte er von 2002 bis 2011 als Generalmusikdirektor an der Oper Duisburg, lebt heute in Paris und ist zugleich seit zehn Jahren Musikalischer Chef an der Oper im westkanadischen Vancouver. Seine Laufbahn begann Darlington als Pianist, Klavierbegleiter und Korrepetitor. So war er Assistent von Olivier Messiaen, Pierre Boulez und Myung-whun Chung in Paris; zum anderen betreute er Meisterkurse von Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, Janet Baker und Peter Pears an der Britten-Pears-School in Aldeburgh. Seit seinem Dirigierdebüt 1984 in Paris ist Darlington bei unzähligen Orchestern – so auch beim Konzerthausorchester Berlin – und Opernhäusern in Europa und den USA aufgetreten. Neben seinen Verpflichtungen in Vancouver dirigiert er regelmäßig an der Semperoper Dresden (Zauberflöte, Fledermaus), aber auch in Wien (Madama Butterfly) und in Frankfurt (Die Sache Makropoulos).

www.jonathan-darlington.com

Dirigent
Martin Mangrum

Der 21-jährige kanadische Hornist Martin Mangrum studiert derzeit an der Colburn School, einem Konservatorium in Los Angeles, bei dem Solohornisten des Los Angeles Philharmonic, Andrew Bain. Martin Mangrum erhielt seinen ersten Hornunterricht mit zehn Jahren, später wechselte er an das Musikkonservatorium von Montreal und an das Marianopolis College. Mehrfach hat er in den letzten Sommern als Stipendiat am Aspen Musikfestival teilgenommen. In der Konzertreihe „Jeunes et Pros“ (Junge und Profis) in Montreal trat der Hornist zusammen mit Mitgliedern des Montreal Symphony Orchestra auf. Mehrfach hat Martin Mangrum auch als Aushilfe bei Konzerten des Los Angeles Philharmonic mitgewirkt. 2017 gewann er den Sénecal Mozart Prize und wurde als Solist zum Ottawa Symphony Orchestra eingeladen. In diesem Jahr hat der Kanadische Rat für die Künste den Musiker mit dem Michael Measures-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Horn

GEORGE GERSHWIN

„Catfish Row“ Suite aus „Porgy and Bess“ (1936)

RICHARD STRAUSS

Hornkonzert Nr. 2 Es-Dur op. 132 (1942)

JOHN ESTACIO

„Moontides“ (2018, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

ALEXANDER SKRJABIN

„Le Poème de l’extase“ op. 54 (1905-1908)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Premiere für das National Youth Orchestra of Canada: Zum ersten Mal in ihrer über 50-jährigen Geschichte kommen die jungen Kanadierinnen und Kanadier zu Young Euro Classic nach Berlin. Was sie in ihrem musikalischen Gepäck haben, kann man getrost das perfekte Empfehlungsschreiben nennen: zu Anfang etwas Lässiges – mit Musik aus Gershwins Porgy and Bess. Danach das zweite Hornkonzert von Richard Strauss als brillante Solonummer. Schließlich – nicht zu vergessen – ein zeitgenössisches Werk des kanadischen Komponisten John Estacio. Und zu guter Letzt als krönender Abschluss das mitreißende, alle Sinne in Aufruhr versetzende Klangspektakel Le poème de l’extase von Alexander Skrjabin. Am Pult des National Youth Orchestra of Canada steht mit Jonathan Darlington ein erfahrener Könner: Fast zehn Jahre war der Brite Generalmusikdirektor an der Rheinoper Duisburg.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird von Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und bundesweit am 12.08.2018 ab 20:03 Uhr gesendet – über UKW, DAB+, Kabel, online und app.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.