MIAGI Youth Orchestra

© Frank De Villiers

Since its first performance at Young Euro Classic in 2009, the MIAGI Youth Orchestra has been an absolute audience favourite. The orchestra exudes a vibe of enthusiasm for its music that is rarely felt even at Berlin’s Konzerthaus. Since 2001, MIAGI – an abbreviation for “Music Is A Great Investment” – has pursued its goal of “bringing young people together and contributing to their positive social development.” The musicians are from all social strata of South Africa, and the MIAGI Youth Orchestra’s repertoire is purposefully broad: it includes everything from classical music to jazz and traditional African music as well as diverse kinds of South African music from the 1940s to the present day. Since 2008 MIAGI has also been running the Cape Gate MIAGI Centre for Music in Soweto, Johannesburg, where more than 300 young people are given a high-quality music education.  A second MIAGI music centre in Khayelitsha Township, Cape Town is in its advanced planning stage. The 2018 concert at Young Euro Classic is the finale of a month-long European tour, celebrating Nelson Mandela’s Centenary 2018 under the motto coined by MIAGI’s partner, the Nelson Mandela Foundation, ‘Be the Legacy’. The tour also takes the MIAGI Youth Orchestra to festivals in Schleswig-Holstein, Ludwigsburg and Villach, to Brussels and Amsterdam.

www.miagi.co.za

South Africa
August 3, 2018 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Dr. Klaus Lederer

© SenatKultEuropa

Dr. Klaus Lederer was born in Mecklenburg in 1974 and spent his childhood and early adolescence in Frankfurt an der Oder. After the end of the GDR, he was active in leftist youth organizations and joined the Party of Democratic Socialism (PDS) in 1992. He spent the 1990s studying law at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin’s law school, where he earned a doctorate, and working for the PDS as a local politician. In December 2005 Klaus Lederer was elected chair of the Berlin Left Party, a position he held until December 2016. From 2003 to January 2017, Dr. Lederer was a member of the Left Party parliamentary group in the House of Representatives, Berlin’s state legislature, and was its spokesperson on legal policy. Dr. Klaus Lederer has been Mayor and Senator for Culture and Europe in Berlin since December 2016.

Mayor and Senator for Culture and Europe in Berlin
Dr. Willi Steul

© Bettina Fürst

The former general director of Deutschlandradio (2009-2017) has an unusually intriguing biography: after studies in England and France and earning a PhD in ethnology, Steul spent almost 5 years studying blood vengeance in Afghanistan during the 1970s, teaching intermittently at the University of Kabul before turning to journalism for good. He reported from Afghanistan and Pakistan, from Beirut, Greece, Turkey and from the Gulf War in 1991 as an ARD correspondent. In 1994 he joined Deutschlandradio in Berlin as an editor in chief. In 1998 he became associate general director of the SWR and director for Baden-Württemberg; in 2009 he returned to Deutschlandradio as its general director. Dr. Willi Steul was awarded the German Cross of Merit and is a Commandeur of the French Ordre national du Mérite. He is one of the co-founders of Young Euro Classic and has been chairman of the Circle of Friends of European Youth Orchestras e.V., which has presented the festival since the year 2000.

Chairman of the German Circle of Friends of European Youth Orchestras e.V.
Ulrich Deppendorf

 

© ARD Hanna Lippman

Ulrich Deppendorf is a doyen of public television in Germany, whose appearance signalled important information on current world events – he moderated the Report from Berlin no less than 289 times. Berlin is the adopted home of this child of the Ruhr area, the place the 68-year-old feels at home. After studying law in Münster, he interned at the WDR, whose television programme director he ultimately became, after many successful years as an editor responsible for multiple features and programming areas, including “ARD aktuell” and its signature shows Tagesschau and Tagesthemen. That job interrupted his position as the head and chief editor of the ARD Capital Studio, which he then took up again from 2007 to 2015. To many, perhaps himself included, he thereby “returned home”.He finds it easy to deal with the gruff nature of the Berliners; perhaps it is also the city’s cultural riches that attract him. After all, the self-confessed classical music fan originally harboured quite a different dream profession: “I never regretted my decision to become a journalist, not even for one day. But in my next life, I would like to be a conductor.” As one of the founding fathers of Young Euro Classic, he has actively accompanied the festival from the very first minute. We hope this will remain the case for many years! In May of this year, he also became the chairman of the charitable association supporting the German Historical Museum Berlin.

Deputy Chairman of the German Circle of Friends of European Youth Orchestras e.V.
Duncan Ward

© Frank De Villiers

Duncan Ward is among the most sought-after conductors of the younger generation. At the suggestion of Sir Simon Rattle, the British conductor was admitted to the Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic, the first conductor ever to join the Academy from 2012 to 2014. From 2015 to 2017 he was principal conductor of the British ensemble Sinfonia Viva as well as associate conductor of the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain. Recent highlights include engagements at the Orchestre de Paris, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, the MDR Symphony Orchestra, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Philharmonic, the Bamberg Symphonic Orchestra, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Ensemble Intercontemporain, the Residentie Orkest and the Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana as well as his return to the Glyndebourne Festival, where he led Brett Dean’s opera Hamlet as part of the touring programme. During the 2017/18 season he conducted the Dresden Philharmonic, the Orchestre National de Belgique, the Trondheim Symphony and the double production of Bernstein’s Trouble in Tahiti and James MacMillan’s Clemency at the Netherlands Opera. He has worked repeatedly with the MIAGI Youth Orchestra, for the first time in Johannesburg in 2013, and has implemented many fascinating projects and tours with the organization over the course of the years.

www.duncan-ward.co.uk

 

Conductor
Visser Liebenberg

© Antonia Steyn

The young clarinettist Visser Liebenberg has been a member oft he MIAGI Youth Orchestra for six years; he already performed as a soloist with the orchestra during his first European tour with MIAGI in 2012. Apart from his soloistic and chamber music activities, Liebenberg performs regularly with the KwaZulu-Natal Philharmonic Orchestra and with the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra. After graduating from the Stellenbosch Conservatory in his South African homeland with a bachelor’s degree, Liebenberg is now enrolled there in the project “Africa Open – Institute for Music Research and Innovation”, where he is exploring new clarinet techniques oriented towards the sound of indigenous South African music.

 

 

Clarinet

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

“Egmont” Overture in F-Minor Op. 84 (1810)

IGOR STRAVINSKY

“The Firebird” Suite for Orchestra (1919)

LEONARD BERNSTEIN

“Prelude, Fugue and Riffs” (1949/52)

DUNCAN WARD

“Rainbow Beats” Suite for 100 Years Nelson Mandela (2018)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

Once a MIAGI fan, you are likely to stay a MIAGI fan forever! Anyone witnessing the sound of this ensemble at its earlier performances in Berlin knows what awaits the audience at this year’s festival opening on August 3: electrifying verve and boundless enthusiasm from the first to the last note! The programme alone is enough to arouse curiosity: because two great charismatic men, Nelson Mandela and Leonard Bernstein, would have turned 100 years old this year, the MIAGI Youth Orchestra celebrates them extensively. Mandela dreamed of a society in which every person could have their place, regardless of background, race and colour – and that is what the new work Rainbow Beats reflects. The English conductor Duncan Ward has written it especially for this occasion, and the former assistant to Simon Rattle also conducts the orchestra. There is no question that he and his musicians, only slightly younger than their conductor – will put the audience at the Konzerthaus Berlin into the quintessential festival mood by performing Bernstein’s Prelude, Fugue and Riffs and Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

MIAGI Youth Orchestra

© Frank De Villiers

Seit seinem ersten Auftritt bei Young Euro Classic 2009 gehört das MIAGI Youth Orchestra zu den absoluten Publikumslieblingen. Das Orchester strahlt eine unmittelbare Begeisterung für die Musik aus, wie sie sogar im Konzerthaus Berlin nicht allzu oft zu erleben ist. Seit 2001 folgt MIAGI – als Abkürzung für „Music Is A Great Investment“ – seinem erklärten Ziel, „junge Menschen zusammenzubringen und dadurch einen Beitrag zu ihrer positiven sozialen Entwicklung zu leisten“. So wie die Musikerinnen und Musiker aus allen Schichten Südafrikas kommen, so ist auch das Repertoire des MIAGI Youth Orchestra bewusst breit gestreut: von der Klassik über Jazz bis zur traditionellen Musik Afrikas und diversen Strömungen südafrikanischer Musik von den 1940er-Jahren bis heute. Außerdem leitet MIAGI seit 2008 das Cape Gate MIAGI Centre for Music in Soweto, Johannesburg, wo über 300 Kinder und Jugendliche eine qualifizierte Musikausbildung erhalten. Ein zweites MIAGI Musikzentrum im Khayelitsha Township, Kapstadt, ist in fortgeschrittener Planung. Das Konzert bei Young Euro Classic 2018 ist krönender Abschluss einer einmonatigen Europatournee, die das 100-jährige Jubiläum von Nelson Mandela feiert unter dem von der Nelson Mandela Stiftung, einem MIAGI-Partner, ausgerufenen Motto „Be the legacy“. Sie führt das MIAGI Youth Orchestra auch zu den Festivals in Schleswig-Holstein, Ludwigsburg und Villach, nach Brüssel und Amsterdam. 

www.miagi.co.za

Südafrika
03. August 2018 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Dr. Klaus Lederer

© SenKultEuropa

Geboren 1974 in Mecklenburg, verbrachte Dr. Klaus Lederer seine Kindheit und frühe Jugend in Frankfurt an der Oder. Nach dem Ende der DDR engagierte er sich in linken Jugendverbänden und seit 1992 in der Partei des demokratischen Sozialismus (PDS). Sein Studium der Rechtswissenschaften bis zur Promotion zum Dr. jur. an der Juristischen Fakultät der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Arbeit in der PDS und für sie in der Kommunalpolitik füllten seine 1990er Jahre. Im Dezember 2005 wurde Klaus Lederer zum Landesvorsitzenden der LINKEN in Berlin gewählt. Er blieb an der Spitze des Landesverbandes bis zum Dezember 2016.Von 2003 bis Januar 2017 war Dr. Lederer Mitglied der Linksfraktion im Abgeordnetenhaus, dem Parlament des Bundeslandes Berlin und dort rechtspolitischer Sprecher der Fraktion DIE LINKE. Seit Dezember 2016 ist Dr. Klaus Lederer Bürgermeister und Senator für Kultur und Europa in Berlin.

Bürgermeister und Senator für Kultur und Europa in Berlin
Dr. Willi Steul

© Bettina Fürst-Fastré

Der ehemalige Intendant von Deutschlandradio (2009-2017) hat eine ungewöhnlich spannende Biographie: Nach Studien in England und Frankreich verbrachte der promovierte Ethnologe in den 1970er-Jahren fast 5 Jahre mit Feldforschungen zu Blutrache in Afghanistan, unterrichtete zeitweise an der Universität Kabul und wandte sich dann erst endgültig dem Journalismus zu. Als ARD-Korrespondent war er u.a. in Afghanistan und Pakistan, in Beirut, Griechenland, der Türkei und 1991 als Korrespondent im Golf-Krieg tätig. 1994 kam er als Chefredakteur zum Deutschlandradio nach Berlin. 1998 wurde er Direktor Baden-Württemberg und Stellvertretender Intendant des SWR und kehrte dann 2009 als Intendant zum Deutschlandradio zurück. Dr. Willi Steul ist Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes, sowie Commandeur im französischen Ordre national du Mérite. Er ist Mitgründer von Young Euro Classic und von Beginn an Vorsitzender des Freundeskreises europäischer Jugendorchester e.V., der das Festival seit dem Jahr 2000 veranstaltet.

 1. Vorsitzender Deutscher Freundeskreis europäischer Jugendorchester e.V.
Ulrich Deppendorf

© ARD Hanna Lippmann

Ulrich Deppendorf, das Urgestein des öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehens, das Signal für eine wichtige Information aus dem aktuellen Weltgeschehen – 289 mal moderierte er den Bericht aus Berlin, der Wahlheimat des Ruhrgebiet-Kindes, dem „Sehnsuchtsort“ des inzwischen 68-Jährigen. Nach seinem Jurastudium in Münster kam er einst über ein Volontariat zum WDR, dessen Fernseh-Programmdirektor er nach vielen erfolgreichen Jahren als Redakteur und Verantwortlicher vieler unterschiedlicher Sendungen und Programmbereiche, darunter „ARD aktuell“ mit Verantwortung für „Tagesschau“ und „Tagesthemen“, einige Jahre war. Dieser Job unterbrach ihn bei seiner Tätigkeit als Studioleiter und Chefredakteur des ARD-Hauptstadtstudios, die er dann 2007 bis 2015 aber wieder aufnahm. Für viele und vielleicht auch für ihn kam er zurück „nach Hause“. Mit der ruppigen Art der Berliner kommt er gut klar, sagt er,  vielleicht ist es auch der kulturelle Überfluss der Stadt, die ihn so anzieht. Der bekennende Klassik-Fan hatte nämlich in seinen jungen Jahren noch einen ganz anderen Berufswunsch: „Ich habe die Entscheidung zum Journalismus nicht einen Tag bereut. Aber in meinem zweiten Leben würde ich dann gerne Dirigent werden.“ Als Mitbegründer des Festivals Young Euro Classic ist er schon seit der ersten Minute aktiv dabei. Wir hoffen, dass das auch noch viele Jahre so bleiben wird! Seit Mai diesen Jahres ist er auch Vorsitzender des Museumsvereins des Deutschen Historischen Museums Berlin.

 2. Vorsitzender Deutscher Freundeskreis europäischer Jugendorchester e.V.
Duncan Ward

© Frank De Villiers

Duncan Ward zählt zu den gefragtesten Dirigenten der jüngeren Generation. Auf Vorschlag von Sir Simon Rattle wurde der Brite von 2012 bis 2014 als erster Dirigent überhaupt in die Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker aufgenommen. Von 2015 bis 2017 war er Principal Conductor des britischen Ensembles Sinfonia Viva. Zudem war er Associate Conductor des National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain. Höhepunkte der letzten Zeit waren Engagements beim Orchestre de Paris, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, dem BBC Symphony Orchestra, dem Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, dem MDR Sinfonieorchester, dem Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien, dem BBC Philharmonic, den Bamberger Symphonikern, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, dem Ensemble Intercontemporain, dem Residentie Orkest und dem Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana sowie seine Rückkehr zum Glyndebourne Festival, bei dessen Tourneeprogramm er Brett Deans Oper »Hamlet« leitete. In der Saison 2017/18 dirigierte er die Dresdner Philharmonie, das Orchestre National de Belgique, das Trondheim Symphony sowie an der Netherlands Opera die Doppelproduktion von Bernsteins »Trouble in Tahiti« und James MacMillans »Clemency«. Mit dem MIAGI Youth Orchestra arbeitete Duncan Ward schon mehrfach zusammen, das erste Mal 2013 in Johannesburg. Im Laufe der Jahre sind viele spannende gemeinsame Projekte und Tourneen entstanden.

www.duncan-ward.co.uk

Dirigent
Visser Liebenberg

© Antonia Steyn

Der junge Klarinettist Visser Liebenberg gehört dem MIAGI Youth Orchestra seit sechs Jahren an; bereits bei seiner ersten Europa-Tournee mit dem Orchester im Jahr 2012 trat er als Solist auf. Neben seinen solistischen und kammermusikalischen Aktivitäten spielt Liebenberg regelmäßig mit dem KwaZulu-Natal Philharmonic Orchestra und dem Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra. Nach seinem Bachelor am Stellenbosch Konservatorium in seiner südafrikanischen Heimat ist Liebenberg dort inzwischen eingeschrieben bei dem Projekt „Africa Open – Institute for Music Research and Innovation“, wo er sich mit neuen Klarinettentechniken beschäftigt, die sich an den Klängen der indigenen Musik Südafrikas orientieren.

 

 

 

Klarinette

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

„Egmont“ Ouvertüre f-Moll op. 84 (1810)

IGOR STRAWINSKI

„Der Feuervogel“ Suite für Orchester (1919)

LEONARD BERNSTEIN

„Prelude, Fugue and Riffs“ (1949)

DUNCAN WARD

„Rainbow Beats” Suite zu 100 Jahre Nelson Mandela (2018)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Einmal MIAGI, immer wieder MIAGI! Wer den Sound dieses Ensembles bei seinen früheren Festivalkonzerten in Berlin erlebt hat, der weiß, was das Publikum beim diesjährigen Eröffnungskonzert am 3. August erwartet: Hochspannung und Begeisterung vom ersten bis zum letzten Ton! Neugierig macht allein schon das Programm: Weil in diesem Jahr zwei große, charismatische Männer, Nelson Mandela und Leonard Bernstein, 100 Jahre alt geworden wären, werden sie vom MIAGI Youth Orchestra ausgiebig musikalisch gefeiert. Mandela träumte von einer Gesellschaft, in der jeder Mensch, unabhängig von Herkunft, Rasse und Hautfarbe, seinen Platz hat – das will das neue Werk Rainbow Beats musikalisch widerspiegeln. Der Engländer Duncan Ward hat es extra für diesen Anlass geschrieben, und der Rattle-Schüler steht auch selbst am Pult. Keine Frage, dass er und seine fast gleichaltrigen Musiker vorher mit Bernsteins Prelude, Fugue and Riffs und Strawinskys Feuervogel-Suite das Konzerthaus Berlin in allerbeste Festivalstimmung versetzen dürften!

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.