Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa

© Patricia Andrade

After its successful appearances at Young Euro Classic in 2015, 2017 and 2019, the Portuguese youth orchestra Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa – JOP – now returns to Berlin’s Konzerthaus for a fourth time. Founded and financed by the Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa (OCP), JOP has developed since its founding in 2010 from a chamber orchestra with 20 strings into a full symphony orchestra with over 80 musicians. They are between 14 and 23 years old and come together for two rehearsal and concert periods a year, around Easter and in the summer. Master classes and concerts take place regularly all over Portugal; the orchestra also engages in social projects with its young orchestra musicians, for example the integrational work Alcance | Reach  by João Godinho, which won the European Composers Award at Young Euro Classic in 2019 and in which the soloists’ ensemble was a group of people with handicaps.

www.jop.org.pt

Portugal
July 28, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Pedro Carneiro

© Patrícia Andrade

The Portuguese conductor Pedro Carneiro, born in the capital of Lisbon in 1975, has pursued a double career in music. On the one hand, he is an internationally celebrated percussionist who performs at all the major concert halls between the USA, Japan and Australia. More than 100 world premieres demonstrate his special position as a member of the musical avant-garde, as do his collaborations with the Arditti Quartet, the Tokyo String Quartet and the Chilingirian Quartet. The percussionist has a special love for improvisation, often in combination with live electronics or other innovative technologies. On the other hand, Carneiro has launched a career as a conductor during recent years. The Portuguese Chamber Orchestra (Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa) was founded at his initiative and has its own concert series at the Centro Cultural de Belém in Lisbon. Not least, the Portuguese multi-talent composes orchestral and chamber music and directs the percussion festival “Bang Crash Splash!” in Lisbon.

www.pedrocarneiro.com

Conductor

FRANCISCA PIZARRO

New Work (World premiere)

DMITRI SHOSTAKOVITCH

Symphony No. 9 in E-flat-major Op. 70 (1944/45)

ANTON BRUCKNER

Symphony No. 9 in D-minor WAB 109 (1887-1896)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Daniela Becker at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission with concert ticket

PROGRAMME

Think Big – thus might have been the motto of the Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa when choosing this year’s concert programme. The young musicians from the Southwest of Europe and their ambitious chief conductor Pedro Carneiro demonstrate that they are not afraid of grand symphonic repertoire – so they serve a double dose of it. After the profound impression the Portuguese orchestra made last year with Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, this is something to look forward to! Before the interval, JOP delves into Dmitri Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony of 1945, in which the composer revealed the expectations of party and state after the victory in World War II as absurd. Anton Bruckner’s Ninth, however, is another calibre: an unfinished swan song for music, ending with a moving adagio. Old composer, young musicians – this combination is sure to set sparks flying!

Concert Partner

Partner

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa

© Patrícia Andrade

Nach seinen erfolgreichen Auftritten bei Young Euro Classic 2015, 2017 und 2019 kehrt das portugiesische Jugendorchester Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa – kurz JOP – nun zum vierten Mal ins Berliner Konzerthaus zurück. Getragen vom Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa (OCP) hat sich das JOP seit seiner Gründung 2010 von einem Kammerorchester mit 20 Streichern zu einem vollen Symphonieorchester mit über 80 Musikerinnen und Musikern entwickelt. Sie sind zwischen 14 und 23 Jahre alt; in zwei jährlichen Arbeitsphasen um Ostern und im Sommer werden die Programme erarbeitet. Regelmäßig finden Meisterklassen und Konzerte in allen Teilen Portugals statt; wichtig sind außerdem soziale Projekte, bei denen sich die jungen Orchestermusiker engagieren, wie zum Beispiel bei dem integrativen Werk Alcance | Reach von João Godinho, das 2019 den Europäischen Kompositionspreis bei Young Euro Classic gewann und eine Gruppe von Menschen mit Beeinträchtigungen als Solistenensemble mitspielte.

www.jop.org.pt 

Portugal
28. Juli 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Pedro Carneiro

© Patrícia Andrade

Der portugiesische Dirigent Pedro Carneiro, geboren 1975 in der Hauptstadt Lissabon, verfolgt eine zweigleisige Musikerlaufbahn. Zum einen ist er ein international gefeierter Perkussionist, der in allen großen Konzertsälen zwischen den USA, Japan und Australien auftritt. Mehr als 100 Uraufführungen zeigen seinen besonderen Rang als Künstler der musikalischen Avantgarde ebenso wie die regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Arditti Quartet, dem Tokyo String Quartet oder dem Chilingirian Quartet. Ein besonderes Faible besitzt der Perkussionist für die musikalische Improvisation, oft in Verbindung mit Live-Elektronik oder anderen innovativen Technologien. Zum anderen verfolgt Carneiro seit einigen Jahren eine Karriere als Dirigent. Auf seine Initiative hin entstand 2007 das Portugiesische Kammerorchester (Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa), das eine eigenen Konzertreihe im Centro Cultural de Belém (Lissabon) bestreitet. Nicht zuletzt betätigt sich der Portugiese als Komponist von Orchester- und Kammermusik und leitet das Lissaboner Percussion-Festival „Bang Crash Splash!“.

www.pedrocarneiro.com

Dirigent

FRANCISCA PIZARRO

Neues Werk (Uraufführung)

DMITRI SCHOSTAKOWITSCH

Symphonie Nr. 9 Es-Dur op. 70 (1944/45)

ANTON BRUCKNER

Symphonie Nr. 9 d-Moll WAB 109 (1887-1896)

19 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Daniela Becker im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Think Big – das hat sich in diesem Jahr das Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa zur Devise gemacht. Die jungen Musiker*innen aus dem südwestlichen Winkel Europas und ihr ehrgeiziger Chef Pedro Carneiro wollen zeigen, dass sie keine Berührungsängste mit der großen Symphonik – und das gleich doppelt – haben. Nach dem prächtigen Eindruck, den die Portugiesen im letzten Jahr mit Beethovens Siebter hinterlassen haben, darf man gespannt sein. Vor der Pause stürzt sich das JOP in Dmitri Schostakowitschs neunte Symphonie von 1945, in welcher der Komponist die siegestrunkenen Erwartungen von Partei und Staat nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs in fünf lakonischen Sätzen ad absurdum führte. Von anderer Ernsthaftigkeit ist dagegen Anton Bruckners Neunte, sein unvollendeter Abgesang auf die Musik, der mit einem ergreifenden Adagio endet. Alter Komponist trifft auf junge Musiker – daraus lassen sich ganz besondere Funken schlagen!

Partner des Abends

Partner

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.