Jong Metropole

© Pieter Kunnen

The Dutch formation Jong Metropole is the result of an unusual cooperation between the Youth Orchestra oft he Netherlands (NJO), the Youth Jazz Orchestra of the Netherlands and the Metropole Orkest – with the goal of supporting young talents from the fields of classical and non-classical music on their paths to a professional career. The combination of the classical tradition with swing, jazz and improvisation is the project’s main focus. On the one hand, the approximately 60 musicians meet in full strength for several working phases with subsequent tours; on the other, they work on innovative music projects in smaller ensembles. Master courses with renowned guest soloists and members of the Metropole Orkest are part of the curriculum. Founded in the summer of 2016, the Jong Metropole is supported by the Prince Bernhard Cultural Fund and the Keep an Eye Foundation.

www.jongmetropole.nl

  

Netherlands
August 4, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Jochen Neuffer

© Karim Khawatmi

The conductor, composer and arranger Jochen Neuffer works in many musical styles and across several genres – whether classical, jazz, pop or rock. A native of Tübingen, he studied composition and arranging at the Stuttgart Music Academy, among others, and perfected his craft in master classes with Vince Mendoza and Chris Walden. Before that, he studied classical piano performance and conducting and took jazz piano lessons from Ull Möck. As a conductor, he appears regularly with orchestras, big bands and ensembles in Germany and abroad; he has arranged pieces for various artists such as Lisa Fischer and Helen Schneider, but also for the American singer Lalah Hathaway, the saxophone player Donny McCaslin, the vocalist José James and the Cuban pianist Roberto Fonseca. Together with the legendary Broadway writers’ duo Stephen Flaherty & Lynn Ahrens, Neuffer reworked the stage adaptation of the Sylvester Stallone film Rocky for the international market.

www.jochenneuffer.com

Conductor

Symphonic Jazz at its best!

PROGRAMME

When it comes to musical curiosity and innovative projects, the Dutch NJO is always ahead of the curve – that is a fact the Young Euro Classic audience has been able to witness more than once! Whether in ancient music or operetta productions, the young musicians from the Netherlands have surprised us in many different formations. This summer, it is the ensemble Jong Metropole which makes its debut at Berlin’s Konzerthaus, leaving its calling card with symphonic jazz. It sounds like a fascinating programme, for the Jong Metropole brings together classical music and swing, jazz and improvisation at eye level. Well-known classical works are mixed with new commissions, including a composition written especially for the Jong Metropole by Damiano Pascarelli. The man who holds this all together musically is Jochen Neuffer, who makes his home in Berlin and has made an international name for himself as a wanderer between the worlds of classical music, jazz and pop.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Jong Metropole

© Pieter Kunnen

Die niederländische Formation Jong Metropole ist das Ergebnis einer ungewöhnlichen Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Niederländischen Jugendorchester, dem Niederländischen Jugend-Jazzorchester und dem Metropole Orkest – mit dem Ziel, junge Talente aus klassischer und nicht-klassischer Musik auf dem Weg zu einer professionellen Karriere gezielt zu fördern. Dabei steht die Kombination von klassischen Traditionen mit Swing, Jazz und Improvisation im Vordergrund. Einerseits treffen sich die etwa 60 Musikerinnen und Musiker in voller Stärke für mehrere Probenphasen mit anschließender Tournee; zum anderen arbeiten sie in kleineren Ensembles an innovativen Musikprojekten. Zusätzlich gehören Meisterkurse mit renommierten Gastsolisten und Mitgliedern des Metropole Orkest zum Angebot. Gegründet im Sommer 2016, wird Jong Metropole vom Prins-Bernhard-Kulturfonds und der Stiftung „Keep an Eye“ getragen.

www.jongmetropole.nl

 

Niederlande
04. August 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Jochen Neuffer

© Karim Khawatmi

Der Dirigent, Komponist und Arrangeur Jochen Neuffer arbeitet Genre-übergreifend in zahlreichen musikalischen Stilrichtungen – sei es Klassik, Jazz, Pop oder Rock. Der gebürtige Tübinger lernte sein Handwerk als Komponist und Arrangeur unter anderem an der Musikhochschule in Stuttgart und verfeinerte es in Meisterklassen bei Vince Mendoza und Chris Walden. Zuvor studierte er klassisches Klavier und Dirigieren und nahm Jazz-Piano-Unterricht bei Ull Möck. Als Dirigent ist er regelmäßig zu Gast bei Orchestern, Big Bands und Ensembles im In- und Ausland; Arrangements schrieb er für verschiedenste Künstler wie Lisa Fischer und Helen Schneider, aber auch für die US-Sängerin Lalah Hathaway, den Saxofonisten Donny McCaslin, den Vokalisten José James und den kubanischen Pianisten Roberto Fonseca. Gemeinsam mit dem legendären Broadway-Autorengespann Stephen Flaherty & Lynn Ahrens überarbeitete Neuffer die Bühnenadaption des Sylvester-Stallone-Films Rocky für den internationalen Markt. 

www.jochenneuffer.com

Dirigent

Symphonic-Jazz vom Feinsten!

PROGRAMM

Wenn es um musikalische Neugier und innovative Projekte geht, haben die Niederländer immer die Nase vorn – das konnte das Publikum von Young Euro Classic schon mehr als einmal erleben! Mal war es die Alte Musik, dann wieder eine Operetten-Produktion, mit denen sie in verschiedensten Formationen überraschten. In diesem Sommer nun kommt das Ensemble Jong Metropole erstmals ins Berliner Konzerthaus, um sich mit Symphonic Jazz vorzustellen. Das klingt nach einem spannenden Programm, denn im Jong Metropole sind Klassik und Swing, Jazz und Improvisation gleichberechtigt unter einem Dach versammelt. Bekannte Klassiker mischen sich mit neuen Werken, darunter eine Komposition, die von Damiano Pascarelli extra für Jong Metropole geschrieben wurde. Musikalisch zusammengehalten wird alles von dem Wahl-Berliner Jochen Neuffer, der sich ebenfalls als Grenzgänger zwischen Klassik, Jazz und Pop einen internationalen Namen gemacht hat.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.