Internationales Orchesterinstitut Attergau

© Internationales Orchesterinstitut Attergau

The Vienna Philharmonic is behind this youth orchestra: in 1994 a member of the venerable orchestra founded the International Orchestra Institute Attergau (IOIA) in order to give young music students from all over the world insights into the tradition of orchestral playing as practiced by the Vienna Philharmonic. To this day, all instrumental sections are coached exclusively by members of the Vienna Philharmonic, and the conductors of the summer academy, which takes place in St. Georgen in the Attergau district of Austria, have a special connection and appear regularly with the Vienna Philharmonic. Therefore, the IOIA has appeared at the Salzburg Festival and at other major Austrian festivals in recent years under such eminent conductors as Thomas Hengelbrock, Riccardo Muti, Mariss Jansons, Bertrand de Billy and Christoph Eschenbach. This performance is its debut at Young Euro Classic.

www.ioia.at

International
August 8, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Axel Kober

© Max Brunnert

For more than ten years, Axel Kober has been general music director of the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf, where he commands a broad repertoire, from Handel and Mozart to Wagner, Strauss, Puccini, Verdi and all the way to Berg and Widmann. One special highlight of recent years was a new production of the Ring des Nibelungen in 2017/18 (director: Dietrich Hilsdorf). Before, Kober held positions in Mannheim and Leipzig. Furthermore, the conductor, born in Kronach in Franconia in 1970, is a frequent guest at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, where he often conducts the great Wagner operas, taking turns with Donald Runnicles. At the Vienna State Opera, Kober has conducted the Ring, Arabella and Hänsel und Gretel, among others. In 2013 the conductor was first invited to Bayreuth, where he led performances of Tannhäuser; from 2015 onwards he took on Der fliegende Holländer there. This summer, Kober conducts performances of Tannhäuser and Lohengrin on the “Green Hill” in Bayreuth.

www.axelkober.de

 

Conductor

Elisabeth Kulman

© Julia Wesely

The Austrian mezzo-soprano Elisabeth Kulman stands out for her great versatility and many interests that go far beyond singing. After a successful international opera career, she decided in 2015 to appear almost exclusively on the concert stage. Thus, she appears as the soloist in the Berlin Philharmonic’s European Concert under Kirill Petrenko in Tel Aviv this year. In her music show La femme c’est moi, Elisabeth Kulman merges many different musical styles, from opera and classical art song to musical and pop. Together with the Viennese arranger Tscho Theissing, she has presented arrangements of Zarah Leander songs, Mussorgsky Dis-Covered with an international jazz quartet and Hungaro Tune with symphony orchestra and jazz soloists. Furthermore, the singer makes use of her status to fight for more equitable relations in the world of classical music. She is a co-founder of the association “art but fair”, runs the YouTube channel What’s Opera Doc and is one of the initiators of  #voiceit für eine Kultur der Würde (#voiceit – for a culture of dignity).

www.elisabethkulman.com

 

Mezzo-Soprano

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Overture to “Egmont” Op. 84 (1810)

GUSTAV MAHLER

Songs with Orchestra:
"Ging heut' morgen übers Feld" from "Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen" (1884/1896)
"Liebst du um Schönheit" from "Rückert-Lieder" (1902/1905)
"Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder" from "Rückert-Lieder" (1901/1905)
"Urlicht" from "Des Knaben Wunderhorn" resp. Symphony No. 2 (1894)
"Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen" from "Rückert-Lieder" (1901/1905)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphony No. 7 A-Major Op. 92 (1812)

PROGRAMME

A more quintessentially Viennese programme is truly hard to imagine! That, however, is hardly surprising in the case of the International Orchestra Institute Attergau, as the ensemble is international, but coached exclusively by members of the Vienna Philharmonic. Thus, that orchestra’s venerable tradition is likely to animate all the works performed on this evening at Berlin’s Konzerthaus: the concert opens with Beethoven’s gripping overture to Goethe’s play Egmont, first performed in Vienna in 1810. The crowning finale is Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7, a work of overwhelming energy – its impressive technical challenges should be in the best hands with IOIA. The calm at the eye of the storm is offered by the songs by Gustav Mahler which form the centre of the concert. Elisabeth Kulman, an Austrian singer renowned for having and knowing her own mind, joins the orchestra for these. One of these songs’ titles states: “Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder“ – “Do not look into my songs” – that is an injunction best left unheeded: better to attend the concert and listen to these exquisite songs!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Internationales Orchesterinstitut Attergau

Hinter diesem Jugendorchester stehen die Wiener Philharmoniker: 1994 gründete ein Mitglied des traditionsreichen Orchesters das Internationale Orchesterinstitut Attergau (IOIA), um jungen Musikstudierenden aus aller Welt einen Einblick in Traditionen des Orchesterspiels, wie sie von den Wiener Philharmonikern gepflegt werden, zu geben. Alle Instrumentengruppen werden nach wie vor ausschließlich von Mitgliedern der Philharmoniker betreut, und auch die Dirigent*innen der Sommerakademie, die ihren Sitz in St. Georgen im Attergau hat, zeichnen sich durch eine besondere Verbindung und regelmäßige Auftritte mit den Wiener Philharmonikern aus. So musizierte das IOIA in den vergangenen Jahren bei den Salzburger Festspielen wie auch anderen österreichischen Festivals unter bedeutenden Dirigenten wie Thomas Hengelbrock, Riccardo Muti, Mariss Jansons, Bertrand de Billy und Christoph Eschenbach. Mit diesem Konzert gibt das Orchester sein Debüt bei Young Euro Classic.

www.ioia.at

International
08. August 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Axel Kober

© Max Brunnert

Seit über zehn Jahren ist Axel Kober Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf, wo er ein umfangreiches Repertoire von Händel und Mozart über Wagner, Strauss, Puccini, Verdi bis zu Berg und Widmann dirigiert. Besonderer Höhepunkt war die Neuinszenierung des Ring des Nibelungen in den Jahren 2017/18 (Regie: Dietrich Hilsdorf). Zuvor hatte Kober Engagements in Mannheim und Leipzig. Darüber hinaus ist der Dirigent, 1970 im fränkischen Kronach geboren, ein gern gesehener Gast an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, wo er regelmäßig neben Donald Runnicles die Repertoire-Aufführungen der großen Wagner-Opern übernimmt. Auch an der Wiener Staatsoper stand Kober des Öfteren am Pult, so mit dem Ring, mit Arabella und Hänsel und Gretel. 2013 wurde der Dirigent erstmals nach Bayreuth eingeladen, wo er Tannhäuser dirigierte; ab 2015 folgte dann die musikalische Leitung des Fliegenden Holländer. In diesem Sommer dirigiert Kober am Grünen Hügel Aufführungen von Tannhäuser und Lohengrin.

www.axelkober.de

Dirigent

Elisabeth Kulman

© Julia Wesely

Die österreichische Sängerin Elisabeth Kulman zeichnet sich durch eine ungewöhnliche Vielseitigkeit und Interessen, die weit über das Singen hinausgehen, aus. Nach einer erfolgreichen internationalen Opernkarriere beschloss sie im Jahr 2015, sich nur noch fast ausschließlich auf die Konzertbühne zu konzentrieren. So tritt sie als Solistin im diesjährigen Europakonzert der Berliner Philharmoniker in Tel Aviv unter Kirill Petrenko auf. In ihrer Musikshow La femme c’est moi verschmilzt Elisabeth Kulman dagegen verschiedenste Musikstile von Oper und klassischem Lied bis zu Musical und Pop. Gemeinsam mit dem Wiener Arrangeur Tscho Theissing entstanden auch Bearbeitungen von Zarah Leander-Songs, Mussorgsky Dis-Covered mit internationalem Jazzquartett sowie Hungaro Tune mit Symphonieorchester und Jazzsolisten. Darüber hinaus setzt die Sängerin ihre große Bekanntheit für gerechtere Verhältnisse in der Klassikwelt ein. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des Vereins „art but fair“, Betreiberin des Youtube-Kanals What’s Opera Doc und Initiatorin von #voiceit für eine Kultur der Würde.

www.elisabethkulman.com

Mezzosopran

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Ouvertüre zu „Egmont" op. 84 (1810)

GUSTAV MAHLER

Lieder mit Orchesterbegleitung:
„Ging heut' morgen übers Feld" aus „Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen" (1884/1896)
„Liebst du um Schönheit" aus den „Rückert-Liedern" (1902/1905)
„Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder" aus den „Rückert-Liedern" (1901/1905)
„Urlicht" aus „Des Knaben Wunderhorn" bzw. der Symphonie Nr. 2 (1894)
„Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen" aus den „Rückert-Liedern" (1901/1905)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphonie Nr. 7 A-Dur op. 92 (1812)

PROGRAMM

Wienerischer geht es kaum! Aber das muss bei dem Internationalen Orchesterinstitut Attergau auch nicht überraschen, wird das international zusammengesetzte Ensemble doch von Mitgliedern der Wiener Philharmoniker gecoacht. Insofern dürfte die großartige Tradition des Orchesters unüberhörbar durch alle Werke wehen, die bei diesem Festivalabend im Konzerthaus Berlin erklingen: Den Anfang macht Beethovens packende Ouvertüre zu Goethes Schauspiel Egmont, uraufgeführt 1810 in Wien, den krönenden Abschluss bildet Beethovens siebte Symphonie, jenes von Energie übersprudelnde Werk, dessen rasante technische Anforderungen bei den Attergauern in den besten Händen sein dürften. Den ruhenden Punkt in der Mitte bilden Lieder von Gustav Mahler, für die mit Elisabeth Kulman eine für ihren eigenen Kopf bekannte Österreicherin auf der Bühne steht. „Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder“, heißt es in einem der Rückert-Lieder Mahlers. Diese Aufforderung sollte man besser ignorieren: Lieber hinkommen und den Liedern zuhören!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.