Greek Youth Symphony Orchestra

© Spiros Hamalis

The Greek Youth Symphony Orchestra (GYSO) was founded by Dionysis Grammenos only three years ago, during economically very difficult times for the Mediterranean country. Now the orchestra makes its Berlin debut at Young Euro Classic in 2020. Its goal is to introduce young musical talents to the symphonic and operatic repertoire through intensive rehearsal phases. Approximately 100 young Greek instrumentalists studying both in Greece and abroad have participated in the working phases so far. These have included concert performances of Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro and Don Giovanni. One important aspect for the young orchestra is musical education work, in an effort to win new audiences for classical music. The GYSO is orchestra-in-residence at the cultural centre of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens. It also works closely with the Greek National Opera and is financed by the John S. Latsis Foundation.

www.elson.gr

Greece
July 24, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Michael Müller

©Lena Giovanazzi

Michael Müller, the Governing Mayor of Berlin, was born in Berlin in 1964. He finished secondary school in 1982, followed by a business apprenticeship and a specialized upper secondary school for business and administration. From 1986 to 2011, he worked as a self-employed printer.

Michael Müller joined the Social Democratic Party (SPD) in 1981. From 1991 to 2000, he was chair of his local SPD chapter, and from 1989 to 1996, he was a member of Berlin-Tempelhof borough assembly, finishing his time there as the head of the SPD party group. He was also a delegate to the district and state party conventions. From 2000 to 2004, he was chair of the Tempelhof-Schöneberg SPD. In 2004, Michael Müller became chair of the SPD in the federal state of Berlin, a post that he held until 2012 and to which he was re-elected in 2016.

Elected a Member of the Berlin House of Representatives in 1996, Michael Müller has served in this capacity ever since. From 2001 to 2011, he also chaired the SPD parliamentary group in the Berlin House of Representatives.

In 2011, he was appointed Senator for Urban Development and the Environment and Mayor of Berlin. On 11 December 2014, Michael Müller became Governing Mayor of Berlin and has held this office ever since. From 2014 to 2016, he was also Senator for Culture; in 2016, he became Senator for Higher Education and Research.

Michael Müller was President of the German Federal Council from 1 November 2017 to 31 October 2018 and has been President of the international city network Metropolis since August 2018.

Governing Mayor of Berlin, Patron of Young Euro Classic

Dr. Willi Steul

© Bettina Fürst-Fastré

 

1st Chairman Deutscher Freundeskreis europäischer Jugendorchester e.V.

Dionysis Grammenos

© Marco Borggreve

The Greek conductor Dionysis Grammenos originally made a name for himself as a clarinettist: as a graduate of the Music Academy “Franz Liszt” in Weimar, he was voted “European Young Musician of the Year” in 2008, which brought him an engagement as soloist with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra at the opening of the Wiener Festwochen, drawing 50.000 listeners. In the meantime, Grammenos concentrates mostly on his conducting career. Most recently, he led a production of Mozart’s Die Entführung aus dem Serail at the Canadian Opera Company and a performance of La clemenza di Tito at the Aspen Music Festival. The list of orchestras he has conducted ranges from the Festival Strings Lucerne, the German State Philharmonic of Rheinland-Pfalz and the Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra to the State Symphony Orchestra of Thessaloniki and the Malta Philharmonic. Most recently, Grammenos conducted the season opening concert of the Athens Symphony Orchestra and made a guest appearance in Milan with the Cameristi della Scala for their traditional New Year’s Concert. Dionysis Grammenos is the founder and chief conductor of the Greek Youth Symphony Orchestra.

www.dionysisgrammenos.com

Conductor

Christina Poulitsi

 

© Pauline Niarchou

The Greek soprano Christina Poulitsi is currently identified mainly with one role: the Queen of the Night in Mozart’s Zauberflöte. She sings this role regularly not only at the Komische Oper in Berlin, but also performed it in the Komische Oper’s spectacular production when it toured Rome and Paris, Adelaide, Australia and Lincoln Center in New York. The singer began her vocal training in her native city of Athens, later receiving a scholarship of the Maria Callas Foundation to study with Brigitte Eisenfeld and Dagmar Schellenberger at the Berlin University of the Arts. Since her 2009 debut at the Athens Opera, she has appeared there as Lucia di Lammermoor, Amina in Bellini’s La Sonnambula and most recently as Gilda in Verdi’s Rigoletto. Further invitations have taken Christina Poulitsi, who is praised particularly for her “crystal-clear intonation” and her “warm lyrical timbre”, to Dresden’s Semper Opera and the Royal Opera House in London.

www.christinapoulitsi.com

Soprano

Lea Singer

Some know her under the name Lea Singer, others as Eva Gesine Bauer – she is successful under both names. Two souls live within this versatile writer, who has won renown equally for her novels and non-fiction. The native of Munich has been well served in both fields by her foundation in art history, literature and musicology. Music plays an important role in her literary oeuvre, which is marked by intense historical research: in her biographies, Lea Singer has written not only about famous names such as Mozart and Chopin, but also about the librettist of Die Zauberflöte, Emanuel Schikaneder. Her novel Konzert für die linke Hand (2008) focuses on the one-armed pianist Paul Wittgenstein; her most recent one, Der Klavierschüler, on the piano virtuoso Vladimir Horowitz, who died in 1989.

Author

Eleftherios Veniadis

© Sevi Tsoni

The Greek composer Eleftherios Veniadis, born in 1977, divides his time between Berlin and his home on the Greek island of Chios. After studying music theory and acting and first engagements in Greece, he moved to Germany in 2005. He studied composition at the University of the Arts in Berlin and the Music Academy “Carl Maria von Weber” in Dresden, followed by numerous scholarships and awards, for example the First Opera Award of the Neukölln Opera for Honolulu Vagamani (2012). Veniadis created further musical theatre projects such as Chemo Brother, composed in 2016 for the Deutsche Oper Berlin, as well as Fly, an adaptation of Aristophanes which had its world premiere at the Big Bang Festival in Athens in 2017. The artist is particularly active in the Chios Music Festival, which he co-founded and which is trying to send a cultural signal amidst the catastrophic refugee situation in Greece. Chios was also the venue of the world premiere of his opera The Mastix Opera in 2018, an homage to the island’s life elixir.

www.veniadis.com

Composer

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Overture to "Idomeneo" K. 366 (1770/71)

ELEFTHERIOS VENIADIS

New Work (German premiere, commissioned by Young Euro Classic)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Aria "Martern aller Arten" from "Die Entführung aus dem Serail" K. 384 (1782)

BIRKE J. BERTELSMEIER

New Work (German premiere, commissioned by Young Euro Classic)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Concert Aria "No, che non sei capace" K. 419 (1783)

LEA SINGER

"KAIROS – Greece in Europa" (First recitation of texts commissioned by Young Euro Classic)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Symphony No. 9 in E-minor Op. 95 "From the New World" (1893)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission with concert ticket

PROGRAMME

The opening night of Young Euro Classic in 2020 not only offers a strong starting signal in musical terms, but sets out to inspire reflection. Notes combine with words, antiquity with modernism, Greece with Central Europe. “Myth – Memory – Future” is the motto of this concert, which marks the Berlin debut of the Greek Youth Symphony Orchestra, still a young ensemble on the international youth orchestra scene. The first half of the concert is conceived as a “cantata” with several elements: to begin with, Mozart pays homage to antiquity with his overture to the opera Idomeneo; in addition, the Greek soprano Christina Poulitsi sings two arias by the genius from Salzburg. Young Euro Classic has commissioned two German premieres by a Greek composer and a German one, and these are interwoven with the first recitation of texts by the well-known author Lea Singer on the subject of “Kairos – Greece in Europe” written especially for this occasion. The new works will have their world premiere a few days earlier in Athens and travel to Berlin with the orchestra. As a musical finale, the guests from Greece perform Dvořák’s Symphony “From the New World”, a work that has itself acquired the status of a myth.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Greek Youth Symphony Orchestra

© Spiros Hamalis

Erst vor drei Jahren ist das Griechische Jugend-Symphonieorchester von Dionysis Grammenos gegründet worden, in wirtschaftlich äußerst schwierigen Zeiten für das Mittelmeerland. Jetzt gibt das Greek Youth Symphony Orchestra (GYSO) sein Berliner Debüt bei Young Euro Classic 2020. Sein Ziel ist es, junge Musiktalente durch intensive Probenphasen mit dem symphonischen wie auch dem Opernrepertoire vertraut zu machen. Bereits 100 junge Griechinnen und Griechen, die in ihrer Heimat wie auch im Ausland studieren, nahmen an den Arbeitsphasen teil. Zu den bisherigen Konzerten zählten auch konzertante Aufführungen von Mozarts Le nozze di Figaro und Don Giovanni. Ein wichtiger Aspekt für das junge Orchester ist weiterhin die musikalische Jugendarbeit, um ein neues Publikum für klassische Musik zu gewinnen. Das GYSO ist „Orchestra in residence“ im Kulturzentrum der Stiftung Stavros Niarchos in Athen. Außerdem arbeitet es mit der Griechischen Nationaloper zusammen und wird von der John S. Latsis-Stiftung mitgetragen.

www.elson.gr

Griechenland
24. Juli 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Michael Müller

© Lena Giovanazzi

Der Regierende Bürgermeister von Berlin, Michael Müller, wurde 1964 in Berlin geboren. Er verließ die Schule 1982 mit der Mittleren Reife. Er absolvierte eine kaufmännische Lehre und besuchte die Fachoberschule Wirtschaft und Verwaltung. Zwischen 1986 und 2011 war er als selbständiger Drucker tätig.

Müller ist seit 1981 Mitglied der SPD. Von 1991 bis 2000 fungierte er als Abteilungsvorsitzender. Von 1989 bis 1996 war er Mitglied der Bezirksverordnetenversammlung Tempelhof, zuletzt als Fraktionsvorsitzender. Ferner war Müller Landesparteitags- und Kreisdelegierter. Von 2000 bis 2004 amtierte er als Kreisvorsitzender der SPD Tempelhof-Schöneberg. Landesvorsitzender war Müller von 2004 bis 2012 und erneut seit 2016.

Im Jahre 1996 wurde Müller Mitglied des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin, dessen Mitglied er seitdem ist.  Von 2001 bis 2011 hatte er das Amt des Fraktionsvorsitzenden der SPD inne.

Von 2011 bis 2014 war Müller Senator für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt sowie Bürgermeister von Berlin. Am 11. Dezember 2014 wurde er Regierender Bürgermeister von Berlin und Senator für Kultur. Im Jahr 2016 übernahm Müller anstelle der Kultur das Amt des Senators für Wissenschaft und Forschung.

Vom 1. November 2017 bis zum 31. Oktober 2018 war Müller Präsident des Bundesrats. Seit August 2018 ist er Präsident des internationalen Städtenetzwerks Metropolis.

Der Regierende Bürgermeister von Berlin, Schirmherr von Young Euro Classic

Dr. Willi Steul

© Bettina Fürst-Fastré

 

1. Vorsitzender Deutscher Freundeskreis europäischer Jugendorchester e.V.

Dionysis Grammenos

© Marco Borggreve

Der Grieche Dionysis Grammenos machte sich zuerst als Klarinettist einen Namen: Als Absolvent der Hochschule „Franz Liszt“ in Weimar wurde ihm 2008 die Auszeichnung „Europäischer junger Musiker des Jahres“ zuerkannt; infolgedessen musizierte er mit den Wiener Symphonikern vor 50 000 Zuhörern zur Eröffnung der Wiener Festwochen. Inzwischen konzentriert sich Grammenos vor allem auf seine Dirigentenlaufbahn. Zuletzt leitete er bei der Canadian Opera Company eine Produktion von Mozarts Entführung aus dem Serail, beim Aspen Music Festival La clemenza di Tito. Die Liste der Orchester reicht von den Festival Strings Lucerne, der Deutschen Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz und dem Philharmonischen Orchester Odessa bis zum Staatlichen Symphonieorchester Thessaloniki und dem Malta Philharmonic. Zuletzt eröffnete Grammenos mit dem Symphonieorchester Athen die neue Saison und gastierte in Mailand bei den Cameristi della Scala zum traditionellen Neujahrskonzert. Grammenos ist Gründer und Chefdirigent des Greek Youth Symphony Orchestra.

www.dionysisgrammenos.com

Dirigent

Christina Poulitsi

© Pauline Niarchou

Die griechische Sopranistin Christina Poulitsi wird derzeit vor allem mit einer Rolle identifiziert: der Königin der Nacht in Mozarts Zauberflöte. Die Partie singt sie nicht nur regelmäßig an der Komischen Oper Berlin, sondern trat in der spektakulären Produktion des Hauses auch in Rom und Paris, im australischen Adelaide wie am Lincoln Center in New York auf. Ihre Ausbildung absolvierte die Sängerin zuerst in ihrer Geburtsstadt Athen, später mit einem Stipendium der Maria-Callas-Stiftung  an der Berliner Universität der Künste bei Brigitte Eisenfeld und Dagmar Schellenberger. Seit ihrem Debüt 2009 an der Athener Oper ist sie dort als Lucia di Lammermoor, als Amina in Bellinis La Sonnambula und zuletzt als Gilda in Verdis Rigoletto aufgetreten. Weitere Einladungen führten Christina Poulitsi, die besonders für ihre „kristallklare Intonation“ und ihr „warmes lyrische Timbre“ gelobt wurde, mehrfach an die Dresdner Semperoper und das Royal Opera House in London.

www.christinapoulitsi.com

Sopran

Lea Singer

© Jacques Schumacher

Die einen kennen sie unter dem Namen Lea Singer, die anderen als Eva Gesine Baur – erfolgreich ist sie unter beiden. Die vielseitige Schriftstellerin hat sich als Sachbuchautorin gleichermaßen einen Namen gemacht wie als Romanschriftstellerin. Dabei kommt der gebürtigen Münchnerin ihr Studium der Fächer Kunstgeschichte, Literaturwissenschaft und Musikwissenschaft vielfältig zugute. Gerade die Musik nimmt einen großen Stellenwert in ihrem literarischen Oeuvre, das stets von intensiven historischen Recherchen geprägt ist, ein: In ihren Sachbiografien beschäftigte sich Lea Singer nicht nur mit bekannten Namen wie Mozart und Chopin, sondern auch mit dem Librettisten der Zauberflöte, Emanuel Schikaneder. In ihrem Künstlerroman Konzert für die linke Hand (2008) steht der einarmige Pianist Paul Wittgenstein im Vordergrund, in ihrem zuletzt erschienenen Werk Der Klavierschüler der 1989 verstorbene Klaviervirtuose Vladimir Horowitz.

Autorin

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Ouvertüre zu „Idomeneo" KV 366 (1770/71)

ELEFTHERIOS VENIADIS

Neues Werk (Deutsche Erstaufführung, Auftragswerk von Young Euro Classic)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Arie „Martern aller Arten" aus „Die Entführung aus dem Serail“ KV 384 (1782)

BIRKE BERTELSMEIER

Neues Werk (Deutsche Erstaufführung, Auftragswerk von Young Euro Classic)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Konzertarie „No, che non sei capace" KV 419 (1783)

LEA SINGER

„KAIROS – Griechenland in Europa“ (Erstrezitation der von Young Euro Classic in Auftrag gegebenen Texte)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Symphonie Nr. 9 e-moll op. 95 „Aus der neuen Welt" (1893)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Das Eröffnungskonzert von Young Euro Classic 2020 setzt nicht nur musikalisch ein kräftiges Startsignal; es regt auch zum Nachdenken an. Töne verbinden sich mit Worten, Antike mit Moderne, Griechenland mit Mitteleuropa. „Mythos – Erinnerung – Zukunft“ lautet das Motto dieses Konzerts, das zugleich auch das Debüt des noch jungen griechischen Jugendsymphonie-Orchesters ist. Der erste Teil ist dramaturgisch als „Kantate“ mit mehreren Komponenten konzipiert: Zu Anfang erweist Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart der Antike mit der Ouvertüre zur Oper Idomeneo seine Reverenz, darüber hinaus ist die griechische Sopranistin Christina Poulitsi mit zwei Arien des Salzburger Genies zu erleben. Young Euro Classic hat Kompositionsaufträge für zwei Erstaufführungen – eines griechischen Komponisten und einer deutschen Komponistin – vergeben, die sich mit Gedanken verbinden, die die vielgelesene Autorin Lea Singer sich zum Thema „Kairos – Griechenland in Europa“ gemacht hat. Die neuen Werke werden wenige Tage zuvor in Athen uraufgeführt und reisen dann mit dem Orchester nach Berlin. Im zweiten Teil folgt das musikantische Finale: Die griechischen Gäste spielen mit Dvořáks Symphonie „Aus der Neuen Welt“ ein Werk, das selbst schon zum Mythos geworden ist.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.