Georgian Sinfonietta

The Georgian Sinfonietta celebrates its 10-year anniversary this year, and it appears at the festival Young Euro Classic for the second time after its debut in 2010. Except for the capital of Tbilisi, the orchestra has performed in 15 other cities in Georgia and also at all the major festivals, such as the Tbilisi Autumn Festival, the New Year Music Celebrations, the Telavi Music Festival and “From Easter to Ascension”. Renowned artists such as Elisso Virsaladze, Lisa Batiashvili, Natalia Gutman, Giya Kancheli and Vantang Khakhidze have worked with the orchestra. The purchase of baroque instruments with the support of the Georgian Ministry of Culture in 2012 meant a major step forward for the Georgian Sinfonietta, which now plays both on baroque and modern instruments. In 2015 the Georgian Baroque Festival was founded as well, which has featured distinguished artists such as the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Jordi Savall and Sergio Azzolini.

www.sinfonietta.ge

Georgia
August 17, 2018 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Christine Lambrecht

© Susi Knoll

Undersecretary of State at the Federal Ministry of Finance

Christine Lambrecht was born in Mannheim in 1965 and studied law in Mannheim and Mainz, which she followed with further studies at the Speyer Academy of Administration. In 1992 she began to teach civil and commercial law at the University of Cooperative Education in Mannheim, working in adult education; since 1995 she has been in practice as an independent lawyer. Christine Lambrecht joined the SPD in 1982 and has held public offices since 1985, e.g. as a member of the Viernheim City Council and a delegate for the District Bergstraße. She has been a member of the German Parliament since 1998. From 2011 to 2013 she was Associate Chairwoman and from 2013 to 2017 Parliamentary Managing Director of the SPD; from December 2017 to March 2018 the associate leader of the SPD faction in the Bundestag, the German Parliament. In March 2018 she was appointed Undersecretary of State at the Federal Ministry of Finance. She is a member of the German Worker’s Welfare Association, of the association “Bürger und Polizei e.V.” and a founding member of the charitable association for the Women’s Shelter Bergstraße. From 2010 to 2018 Christine Lambrecht was also vice president of the helpers’ association of the THW (the German Agency for Technical Relief).  

Patron of the Evening
Kristjan Järvi

© Franck Ferville

The conductor Kristjan Järvi is one of the rather rare types of musician who are able to move between different genres with the ease of a virtuoso. Whether classical, jazz or hip hop: not least in conjunction with his various ensembles, the 45-year-old pursues a broad range of musical inclinations. Since 2012 he has been chief conductor of the MDR Symphony Orchestra in Leipzig; he also continues to lead the Absolute Ensemble in New York, which he founded. Born in the Republic of Estonia as the youngest son of the Estonian conductor Neeme Järvi, the conductor is tireless in his championship of contemporary music. He has commissioned more than 100 works, including from composers such as Arvo Pärt, Tan Dun and Erkki-Sven Tüür. Steve Reich and HK Gruber are among his artistic partners, as are Anoushka Shankar, Hauschka and Marcel Khalife. So far, Kristjan Järvi has released more than 60 albums, ranging from film scores for Cloud Atlas, A Hologram for the King and Sense 8 to the eponymous series The Kristjan Järvi Sound Project.

www.kristjanjarvi.com

Conductor 
Dudana Mazmanishvili

The Georgian pianist Dudana Mazmanishvili, born in Tbilisi in 1980, has been most successful during recent years in the USA, where she also studied at the Mannes School of Music in New York City. However, she also has close ties with Germany. After her basic education in her native Georgia, the young pianist moved to Munich to study with Elisso Virsaladze at the Music Academy there, recording her first CD for the Bavarian Radio, and has been living in Berlin for several years. The Georgian government named her “Cultural Ambassador of Georgia in Germany” in 2013; she also works as a Cultural Attaché at the Georgian Embassy in Berlin. Dudana Mazmanishvili is also at home in the German piano repertoire – she performs Bach and Beethoven as happily as Schumann, Brahms and Busoni. Furthermore, Chopin, Liszt, Rachmaninov and Georgian composers are an additional focus. Her latest CD featuring works by Schumann and Revaz Lagidze was recently released.

Piano
Irakli Kiziria

Born in Georgia during the Soviet era, Irakli Kiziria, who is also active in the Duo I/Y Berlin with his techno colleague Jacoub Chakarji, is a well-known figure on Berlin’s techno scene. They have performed as DJs at the Berghain club, but are most renowned for the popular party series STAUB, which they have presented at various locations during recent years. They have also founded their own label, which has released eight techno productions so far, including the album Riflor in 2016 and I/Y 008 in 2017. Irakli Kirizia’s original career was in architecture and design; since 2001, when he moved to Germany, he has focused on music and the arts. However, visual art has had a constant presence in his musical activities.

 

Live-Elektronics

GIYA KANCHELI

“Valse Boston” for Piano and Strings (1996)

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH

Piano Concerto in D-Minor BWV 1052 (1738) (arr. with electronic music)

KRISTJAN JÄRVI

“New York Songs” for Piano and String Orchestra (World Premiere)

KRISTJAN JÄRVI

"Too Hot to Handel" inspired by Handel‘s “Concerti grossi” (2018)

PROGRAMME:

“Divine Geometry – A Fusion of Classical and Electronic Music”: pianist Dudana Mazmanishvili and conductor Kristjan Järvi have found a truly “divine” title for their joint project with the Georgian Sinfonietta. And anyone familiar with the American conductor’s performances at Young Euro Classic knows that he is equally at home in classical music as with rock and electronics. And always tempted to develop musical “urtexts” further. Dudana Mazmanishvili is equally adept at experimentation. Accordingly, there is a Piano Concerto by Bach, catapulted into the 21st century by electronic means – after all, the baroque master composer was one of the greatest transformers ever. Then we find a selection of Handel’s Concerti grossi, also given a contemporary sound by Järvi. The conductor himself also composes and contributes a world premiere, a Piano Concerto with the promising title New York Songs. Finally, Dudana Mazmanishvili and the DJ Irakli Kiziria, no unknown face on Berlin’s club scene, ensure plenty of spontaneous improvisation on stage. The goal: using “divine geometry” to make Berlin’s Konzerthaus lift off the ground!

Broadcast

The concert will be streamed LIVE and ON DEMAND on ARTE CONCERT: concert.arte.tv/young-euro-classic

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Georgian Sinfonietta

Die Georgian Sinfonietta feiert in diesem Jahr ihr zehnjähriges Bestehen, und zum zweiten Mal kommt sie nach 2010 zum Festival Young Euro Classic. Außer in der Hauptstadt Tbilisi ist das Orchester inzwischen in 15 weiteren Städten Georgiens aufgetreten, außerdem bei allen großen Festivals wie dem Tbilisi Herbstfestival, New Year Music Celebrations, Telavi Musikfestival und „Von Ostern bis Himmelfahrt“. Renommierte Künstler wie Elisso Virsaladze, Lisa Batiashvili, Natalia Gutman, Giya Kancheli und Vantang Khakhidze haben mit dem Orchester zusammengearbeitet. Einen Einschnitt bedeutete 2012 der Ankauf von Barockinstrumenten mit Unterstützung des georgischen Kulturministeriums. Seitdem spielt die Georgian Sinfonietta sowohl auf barocken wie auf modernen Instrumenten; außerdem wurde 2015 das Tbilisi Baroque Festival gegründet, bei dem auch viele ausländische Künstler wie die Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Jordi Savall und Sergio Azzolini zu Gast waren.

www.sinfonietta.ge

Georgien
17. August 2018 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Christine Lambrecht

© Susi Knoll

Parlamentarische Staatssekretärin beim Bundesministerium der Finanzen

 Christine Lambrecht wurde 1965 in Mannheim geboren und studierte in Mannheim und Mainz Jura, worauf sie ein Studium an der Verwaltungshochschule in Speyer anschloss. 1992 begann sie an der Berufsakademie Mannheim Zivil- und Wirtschaftsrecht zu lehren und war in der Erwachsenenbildung tätig; seit 1995 ist sie selbständige Rechtsanwältin in Viernheim. Seit 1982 ist Christine Lambrecht Mitglied der SPD, für die sie seit 1985 auch Ämter bekleidete, so zum Beispiel als Stadtverordnete in Viernheim und Kreistagsabgeordnete für den Kreis Bergstraße. Seit 1998 ist Christine Lambrecht Mitglied des Bundestages. Von 2011 bis 2013 war sie stellvertretende Vorsitzende und von 2013 bis 2017 Parlamentarische Geschäftsführerin der SPD, von Dezember 2017 bis März 2018 war sie stellvertretende Vorsitzende der SPD-Fraktion im Bundestag. Im März 2018 wurde sie zur Parlamentarischen Staatssekretärin beim Bundesminister der Finanzen ernannt. Sie ist Mitglied der Arbeiterwohlfahrt, des Vereins Bürger und Polizei e.V. und Gründungsmitglied des Frauenhaus Verein Bergstraße e.V. Von 2010 bis 2018 engagierte sich Christine Lambrecht ferner als Vizepräsidentin der THW-Helfervereinigung.  

 

Patin des Abends
Kristjan Järvi

© Franck Ferville

Der Dirigent Kristjan Järvi gehört zu jenem eher raren Typus Musiker, die sich virtuos zwischen verschiedenen Genres hin und her bewegen. Ob Klassik, Jazz oder Hip Hop: Nicht zuletzt mit seinen verschiedenen Ensembles pflegt der 46-Jährige seine weitgefächerten Neigungen. Seit 2012 ist er Chefdirigent des MDR Sinfonieorchesters in Leipzig; zugleich leitet er nach wie vor das von ihm gegründete New York Absolute Ensemble. Geboren in Estland als jüngster Sohn des estnischen Dirigenten Neeme Järvi, ist der Dirigent unermüdlich im Einsatz für die zeitgenössische Musik. Er gab über 100 Werke in Auftrag, darunter an Komponisten wie Arvo Pärt, Tan Dun und Erkki-Sven Tüür. Steve Reich und HK Gruber zählen genauso zu seinen künstlerischen Partnern wie Anoushka Shankar, Hauschka und Marcel Khalife. Bisher veröffentlichte Kristjan Järvi mehr als 60 Alben, die von Filmmusik wie „Cloud Atlas“, „Hologram for the King“, „Sense 8“ bis hin zu seiner gleichnamigen Serie „Kristjan Järvi Sound Project“ reichen.

www.kristjanjarvi.co

Dirigent
Dudana Mazmanishvili

Die georgische Pianistin Dudana Mazmanishvili, 1980 in Tbilisi geboren, hat in den letzten Jahren ihre größten Erfolge in den USA gefeiert, wo sie an der Mannes School of Music in New York City studierte. Aber auch mit Deutschland ist sie eng verbunden. Nach erstem Unterricht in ihrer Heimat kam die junge Pianistin zum Klavierstudium bei Elisso Virsaladze an die Musikhochschule in München, machte dort für den Bayerischen Rundfunk ihre erste CD und lebt inzwischen seit einigen Jahren in Berlin. Die georgische Regierung ernannte sie 2013 zur „Kulturbotschafterin Georgiens in Deutschland“; außerdem arbeitet sie als Kulturattachée an der Georgischen Botschaft. Auch im deutschen Klavierrepertoire fühlt sich Dudana Mazmanishvili zuhause; so spielt sie Bach und Beethoven genauso gern wie Brahms und Busoni.  Darüber hinaus widmet sie sich besonders Chopin, Liszt, Rachmaninow und auch georgischen Komponisten. Kürzlich erschien ihre jüngste CD-Produktion mit Werken von Schumann und Revaz Lagidze.

Klavier
Irakli Kiziria

Der noch zu Zeiten der Sowjetunion in Georgien geborene Irakli Kiziria, zusammen mit seinem Techno-Kollegen Jacoub Chakarji auch als Duo I/Y Berlin aktiv, ist in Berlins Techno-Szene eine wohlbekannte Größe. Sie traten als DJ im Berghain auf, vor allem aber organisieren sie seit mehreren Jahren die angesagte Partyreihe STAUB, die an immer wieder neuen Locations stattfindet. Außerdem gründeten sie ein eigenes Label, bei dem inzwischen acht Produktionen mit Techno-Musik veröffentlicht wurden, darunter zuletzt 2016 das Album Riflor und 2017 ihr neuestes Release I/Y 008.   Ursprünglich kommt Irakli Kiziria von Architektur und Design her, seit 2001 lebt er in Deutschland, wo er seinen Fokus auf Musik und Kunst verlegte. Nach wie vor sind aber auch die visuellen Künste in seinen musikalischen Aktivitäten durchgehend präsent.

Live-Elektronik

GIYA KANCHELI

„Valse Boston“ für Klavier und Streicher (1996)

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH

Klavierkonzert d-Moll BWV 1052 (1738) (arr. mit elektronischer Musik)

KRISTJAN JÄRVI

„New York Songs“ für Klavier und Kammerorchester (Uraufführung)

KRISTJAN JÄRVI

„Too Hot to Handel” inspiriert von Händels „Concerti grossi“ (2018)

PROGRAMM:

„Divine Geometry“ – Fusion aus Klassik und Elektro

Einen wahrhaft „göttlichen“ Titel haben Pianistin Dudana Mazmanishvili und Dirigent Kristjan Järvi für ihr Projekt mit der Georgian Sinfonietta gefunden. Wer Letzteren bereits bei Young Euro Classic erlebt hat, weiß, dass der US-amerikanische Dirigent in der E-Musik genauso zu Hause ist wie in Rock und Elektro. Und immer dazu verleitet, musikalische Urtexte weiterzuentwickeln. Dudana Mazmanishvili steht der Experimentierfreude in nichts nach. Dementsprechend gibt es ein Klavierkonzert von Bach, diesmal mit elektronischen Elementen ins 21. Jahrhundert katapultiert – schließlich war der Barockmeister selbst einer der größten Transformer überhaupt. Dazu von Händel eine Auswahl seiner Concerti grossi, denen Järvi ebenfalls einen zeitgenössischen Sound verpasst. Darüber hinaus steuert er selbst als Uraufführung noch ein Klavierkonzert mit dem viel versprechenden Titel „New York Songs“ bei. Und zusätzlich werden die Pianistin Dudana Mazmanishvili und der in der Berliner Clubszene wohlbekannte DJ Irakli Kiziria dafür sorgen, dass die spontane Improvisation auf der Bühne nicht zu kurz kommt. Immer mit dem Ziel, im Sinne der „Göttlichen Geometrie“ das Berliner Konzerthaus aus den Angeln zu heben!

 

Partner des Abends

Mitschnitt

Konzert verpasst? Kein Problem! Dieses Konzert wird ON DEMAND noch bis zum 16.09.2018 auf ARTE CONCERT gestreamt: https://www.arte.tv/de/videos/084152-008-A/georgian-sinfonietta/

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.