Galilee Chamber Orchestra

The Galilee Chamber Orchestra’s work is pioneering: at the time of its founding in 2012, it was one of the first orchestras in Israel to unite Arabic and Jewish musicians. Today, the 35-member orchestra has equal numbers of Arabic and Jewish musicians and enjoys an excellent reputation, with a concert calendar of six major concerts per year and numerous additional performances as part of the in-school music education programme of the Polyphony Foundation, which is also the parent of the orchestra and responsible for its financing. Since the orchestra’s founding, the pianist and conductor Saleem Ashkar has been the music director and essential motor of the Galilee Chamber Orchestra, whose musical partners have included cellist Lynn Harrell and pianist András Schiff most recently. The Galilee Chamber Orchestra radiates into Israeli society: its concerts bring classical music to marginalized social groups and serve as a model for cooperation and cultural exchange.

Israel
July 31, 2019 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Stefan Raue

© Bettina Fürst-Fastré

Director General, Deutschlandradio

Stefan Raue has been director general of Deutschlandradio since September 1, 2017. Raue was born in Wuppertal in 1958 and studied history, literary studies and philosophy in Freiburg and Bielefeld. His career as a journalist began in 1986 as an intern at the “Westdeutsche Allgemeine Zeitung” and at the WDR radio station, where he subsequently worked from 1987 to 1990 as a reporter in the State Studio in Düsseldorf. In 1990 he was appointed political editor, managing editor and chief editor for current affairs at RIAS-TV; in 1992 director of the department of current affairs and news at DW-TV. From 1992 to 1995 he held various leading positions at the ZDF; from 2011 to 2017 he was editor-in-chief of the MDR. 

Patron of the Evening

Saleem Ashkar

© Luidmila Jermies

Born in Nazareth, living in Berlin: those are the coordinates defining many of Saleem Ashkar’s activities. Early in life, the Israeli with Christian-Arab roots found mentors in Daniel Barenboim and Zubin Mehta: at the age of 17, he made his debut as a pianist with the Israel Philharmonic, at 22 he was conducted by Barenboim in his Carnegie Hall debut in New York. Since then, Saleem Ashkar has performed with the Vienna Philharmonic and the Filarmonica della Scala, with the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam and the London Symphony Orchestra, not to mention at festivals in Salzburg, Ravinia, Lucerne and at the Ruhr Piano Festival. His current artistic focus is on the performance of the complete 32 Piano Sonatas by Beethoven, a feat the 41-year-old has already accomplished in Berlin and Israel, Prague and Duisburg. Furthermore, he regularly spends time in Israel in his efforts to support young Israeli and Palestinian musicians there.

www.saleemashkar.com

Artistic Director, piano

JOSEPH HAYDN

Overture to "L’isola disabitata” (1779)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Concerto for Piano No. 2 in B-flat Major Op. 19 (1788-1801)

WISAM GIBRAN

"Overcoming" (World Premiere)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphony No. 1 in C Major Op. 21 (1800)

6:30 pm: „Contemporary Music as a Challenge" in cooperation with the Max Planck Society at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission with concert ticket.
Speaker: Iris Mencke, Max Planck Institute for Empirical Aesthetics, Frankfurt a.M.
Moderator: Anne Kussmaul
The language of this event is German

PROGRAMME

The makeup of this ensemble is a small sensation in itself: the Galilee Chamber Orchestra unites equal numbers of young Arabic and Jewish musicians in one classical orchestra. Add to this a brilliant pianist who was born into a Christian family in Nazareth and lives in Berlin today. That is the wonderful story behind the concert of the Galilee Chamber Orchestra at Young Euro Classic, where the ensemble makes its debut. The challenges the pianist and conductor Saleem Ashkar has set for his musicians are not exactly small: together they will perform the Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat Major and the Symphony No. 1 in C Major by Ludwig van Beethoven. The audience is also treated to a new work by the extraordinarily versatile composer Wisam Gibran. He is also from Nazareth – like Saleem Ashkar.

Broadcast

This concert will be recorded and broadcast nationwide by Deutschlandfunk Kultur – via FM, DAB +, Kabel, online and app.

Gallery

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Galilee Chamber Orchestra

Das Galilee Chamber Orchestra hat Pionierarbeit geleistet: Bei seiner Gründung 2012 war es eines der ersten Orchester in Israel, in denen arabische und jüdische Musiker gemeinsam spielten. Heute besteht das 35-köpfige Orchester zu gleichen Teilen aus arabischen und jüdischen Musikern und genießt einen hervorragenden Ruf mit einem Konzertkalender von sechs großen Konzerten pro Jahr und zusätzlich zahlreichen  Aufführungen im Rahmen des „In-school Music Education Program” der Polyphony-Stiftung, die das Orchester trägt und finanziert. Seit seiner Gründung ist der Pianist und Dirigent Saleem Ashkar der musikalische Leiter und entscheidende Motor des Galilee Chamber Orchestra, zu dessen Partnern zuletzt der Cellist Lynn Harrell und der Pianist András Schiff zählten. Dabei strahlt die Wirkung des Galilee Chamber Orchestra weit in die israelische Gesellschaft: Seine Konzerte bringen klassische Musik zu Gruppen am Rand der Gesellschaft und dienen als Modell für Zusammenarbeit und kulturellen Austausch.

Israel
31. Juli 2019 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Stefan Raue

© Bettina Fürst-Fastré

Intendant Deutschlandradio

Stefan Raue ist seit 1. September 2017 Intendant des Deutschlandradio. Raue wurde 1958 in Wuppertal geboren und studierte in Freiburg und Bielefeld Geschichte, Literaturwissenschaft und Philosophie. Seine journalistische Karriere begann er 1986 als Volontär bei der Westdeutsche Allgemeinen Zeitung und beim WDR, für den er dann von 1987 bis 1990 als Reporter im Landesstudio Düsseldorf arbeitete. 1990 wurde er Politikredakteur, Chef vom Dienst und Redaktionsleiter für „Aktuelles“ bei RIAS -TV, 1992 Hauptabteilungsleiter „Aktuelles und Nachrichten“ bei DW-TV. Seit 1995 war Raue in verschiedenen Positionen beim ZDF tätig. U.a. als Schlussredakteur des „heute-journal“ und als stellvertretender Leiter der Senderredaktion der „heute“-Nachrichten. Von 1997 an war er Redaktionsleiter des Magazins „Blickpunkt“, zusätzlich war er seit 1999 stellvertretender Hauptredaktionsleiter im Bereich Politik und Zeitgeschehen des ZDF. Von 2011 bis 2017 war er Chefredakteur des MDR. 

Pate des Abends

Saleem Ashkar

© Luidmila Jermies

In Nazareth geboren, in Berlin lebend: Das sind die Koordinaten, zwischen denen sich die Aktivitäten von Saleem Ashkar entfalten. Der Israeli mit den christlich-arabischen Wurzeln wurde schon früh von Daniel Barenboim und Zubin Mehta gefördert: Mit 17 Jahren gab er sein Debüt als Pianist beim Israel Philharmonic, mit 22 Jahren spielte er unter Barenboims Leitung erstmals in der Carnegie Hall in New York. Seitdem ist Saleem Ashkar mit den Wiener Philharmonikern und der Filarmonica della Scala ebenso aufgetreten wie mit dem Concertgebouw Orchester Amsterdam und dem London Symphony Orchestra, außerdem bei den Festivals in Salzburg, Ravinia, Luzern und beim Klavierfestival Ruhr. Sein aktueller Schwerpunkt ist die zyklische Aufführung aller 32 Beethovensonaten, die der 41-Jährige bereits in Berlin und Israel, in Prag und Duisburg vorgestellt hat. Darüber hinaus engagiert er sich persönlich durch regelmäßige Besuche für die Förderung junger israelischer und palästinensischer Musiker in seiner Heimat.

www.saleemashkar.com

Künstlerische Leitung, Klavier

JOSEPH HAYDN

Ouvertüre zu "L’isola disabitata” (1779)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Konzert für Klavier Nr. 2 B-Dur op. 19 (1788-1801)

WISAM GIBRAN

"Overcoming" (Uraufführung)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphonie Nr. 1 C-Dur op. 21 (1800)

18:30 Uhr „Zeitgenössische Musik als Herausforderung“
In Kooperation mit der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:15 Uhr
Referentin: Iris Mencke, Max-Planck-Institut für empirische Ästhetik, Frankfurt a.M.
Moderation: Anne Kussmaul

PROGRAMM

Schon allein die Zusammensetzung des Galilee Chamber Orchestra ist eigentlich eine Sensation: Es ist das erste professionelle Orchester in Israel, das zu gleichen Teilen aus arabischen und jüdischen Musikern besteht. Und dann kommt noch ein brillanter Pianist dazu, der als Sohn aus christlicher Familie in Nazareth geboren wurde und heute in Berlin lebt. Das ist die wundersame Geschichte, die hinter dem Konzert des Galilee Chamber Orchestra bei Young Euro Classic steht, das damit zum ersten Mal im Konzerthaus Berlin auftritt. Die Herausforderungen, die der Pianist und Dirigent Saleem Ashkar seinen Musikern gestellt hat, sind nicht gerade klein: Gemeinsam werden sie das 2. Klavierkonzert B-Dur und die 1. Symphonie C-Dur von Ludwig van Beethoven spielen. Und dazu noch ein neues Werk des außerordentlich vielseitigen Komponisten Wisam Gibran. Auch er stammt aus Nazareth – wie Saleem Ashkar.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird von Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und bundesweit gesendet – über UKW, DAB+, Kabel, online und app.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.