Colombian Youth Philharmonic

© Filarmónica Joven de Colombia

The Filarmónica Joven de Colombia – also known under its English title Colombian Youth Philharmonic – was founded in 2010 by the Colombian foundation “Bolivar Davivienda”. The orchestra’s goal is to foster the individual musical capabilities of its members as well as their social responsibility and self-determination. The Foundation selects 120 particularly talented musicians aged 16 to 24 from among roughly 300,000 throughout the country. Thanks to a close working relationship with the Young Orchestra of the Americas, docents from North American music academies travel to Colombia to coach the orchestra members; the conductor Andrés Orozco-Estrada has made use of his close contacts with the Houston Symphony and the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra to help the orchestra’s cause. After concert tours of Brazil and the USA, the Colombian Youth Orchestra’s first European tour takes it to Young Euro Classic, but also to the Rheingau Music Festival, the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival, to Kassel, Stuttgart and Graz, Austria.

www.fundacionbolivardavivienda.org

Colombia
July 3, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Andrés Orozco-Estrada

© Werner Kmetitsch

Aged 39, Andrés Orozco-Estrada is one of the most interesting and sought-after conductor personalities of the younger generation. He has long been a regular guest of the world’s great orchestras, performing with the Vienna Philharmonic, the London Philharmonic and the American orchestras in Philadelphia, Cleveland and Chicago; in May 2017 he makes his debut with the Berlin Philharmonic. Since the 2014/15 season Orozco-Estrada has been chief conductor of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra and Music Director of the Houston Symphony. Born in Medellín in 1977, he moved to Vienna at the age of 19 to study conducting, and still lives there today. In addition to the classical and romantic repertoire, the Colombian is a passionate advocate for contemporary composers from Europe and South America. Orozco-Estrada also has an impressive discography: after symphonies by Mendelssohn, Dvořák and Brahms, he recently began a Strauss cycle with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra.

www.orozcoestrada.com

Conductor
Juanita Lascarro

© Diana Karch

Originally from Colombia, the soprano Juanita Lascarro began her vocal training in her native city of Bogotá and continued it at the Cologne Music Academy. Since 2002 she has been an ensemble member at the Frankfurt Opera, where she has performed mainly the great Mozart roles, but also Handel, Puccini and Strauss as well as the title roles in Donizetti’s Lucia di Lammermoor and Berg’s Lulu. She has also appeared in operas by Zemlinsky and Henze, in Martinů’s opera Greek Passion and in Leoncavallo’s La Bohème. Regular guest performances have taken her to the opera houses in Vienna, London and Barcelona; at the Deutsche Oper Berlin she sang the role of Daphne (Strauss). At the same time, Juanita Lascarro is a sought-after concert performer whose repertoire ranges from Handel oratorios to Strauss’ Four Last Songs to Kurt Weill. Together with the Twelve Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic she has sung Bachiana Brasileira No. 5 by Villa-Lobos in Berlin, London and Salzburg.

www.juanita-lascarro.de

Soprano

JIMMY LOPÉZ

“América Salvaje“ (2006)

RICHARD STRAUSS

“Morgen“ Op. 27 No. 4 (1894)

RICHARD STRAUSS

“Traum durch die Dämmerung“ Op. 29 No. 1 (1895)

RICHARD STRAUSS

“Liebeshymnus“ Op. 32 No. 3 (1897)

RICHARD STRAUSS

“Cäcilie“ op. 27, Nr. 2 (1897)

JAIME LÉON

Serenata “La calle está desierta“ (1977)

JAIME LÉON

“Cuando lejos, muy lejos“ (1977)

JAIME LÉON

“Algún día“ (1980)

IGOR STRAVINSKY

“Le Sacre du Printemps“ (1913)

PROGRAMME

The beginning of Young Euro Classic 2017 is already within reach in early July – and the Colombian Youth Philharmonic will increase the eager anticipation of the new festival season! Founded seven years ago, its goal is not only to support its young musicians’ special talents, but also to strengthen their sense of social responsibility and self-determination. Now the young musicians from South America come to Berlin’s Konzerthaus as part of their first European concert tour. And the Colombian Youth Philharmonic aims to prove its quality by performing one of the most spectacular works of modern times: Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du Printemps. It is led by a charismatic conductor who, at the age of 39, has long been a fixture at all the world’s major concert halls: the Colombian Andrés Orozco-Estrada. The cast is completed with a soprano who has chosen Germany as her second home: Juanita Lascarro performs songs by Richard Strauss and the Colombian national composer Jaime León.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Colombian Youth Philharmonic

© Filarmónica Joven de Colombia

Die rund 100 Nachwuchsmusiker der Filarmónica Joven de Colombia (Colombian Youth Philharmonic) zählen zu den besten jungen Instrumentalisten Kolumbiens.  2010 von der Stiftung „Fundación Bolívar Davivienda“ gegründet, hat das kolumbianische Jugendorchester mit seinen Musikern zwischen 16 und 24 Jahren bei mehr als 120 Konzerten in und außerhalb Kolumbiens seine Zuhörer begeistert. Regelmäßig verfeinern die jungen Künstler, die in einem strengen Auswahlverfahren landesweit von einer internationalen Jury ausgewählt wurden, verfeinern  ihr Können in Workshops mit Musikern namhafter Orchester wie den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra, dem Houston Symphony oder hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt. Ihre erste Europa-Tournee führt die Filarmónica Joven de Colombia (Colombian Youth Philharmonic) im Sommer 2017 zu bedeutenden Festivals wie dem Rheingau Musik Festival, den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, zur „styriarte“ nach Graz und Young Euro Classic 2017 nach Berlin, ebenso nach Stuttgart und Kassel.

www.fundacionbolivardavivienda.org

Kolumbien
03. Juli 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Andrés Orozco-Estrada

© Werner Kmetitsch

Der 39-jährige Kolumbianer Andrés Orozco-Estrada zählt zu den interessantesten und meistgefragten Dirigenten-Persönlichkeiten der jüngeren Generation. Längst ist er mit großen Orchestern wie den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem London Philharmonic und den US-amerikanischen Orchestern in Philadelphia, Cleveland und Chicago aufgetreten; im Mai dieses Jahr steht sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern an. Seit der Spielzeit 2014/15 ist Orozco-Estrada Chefdirigent des hr-Sinfonieorchesters Frankfurt und Music Director beim Houston Symphony. Geboren 1977 in Medellín, kam er mit 19 Jahren als Dirigierstudent nach Wien, wo er noch heute lebt. Große Aufmerksamkeit finden seine aktuellen Plattenveröffentlichungen bei Pentatone. Mit dem hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt legte er zunächst Strawinskis Feuervogel und Sacre du Printemps vor. Jüngst erschien die erste CD aus seinem Richard Strauss-Zyklus  mit dem  hr-Sinfo¬nieorchester Frankfurt (Heldenleben und Macbeth).

www.orozcoestrada.com

Dirigent
Juanita Lascarro

© Diana Karch

Die aus Kolumbien stammende Sopranistin Juanita Lascarro erhielt ihre Gesangsausbildung in ihrer Geburtsstadt Bogotá und an der Musikhochschule Köln. Seit 2002 ist sie Mitglied im Ensemble der Oper Frankfurt, wo sie seitdem vor allem die großen Mozart-Partien, aber auch Händel, Puccini und Strauss sowie die Titelrollen in Donizettis Lucia di Lammermoor und Bergs Lulu singt. Auch in Opern von Zemlinsky und Henze, in Martinůs Oper Griechische Passion und Leoncavallos La Bohème ist die Sängerin aufgetreten. Regelmäßige Gastspiele führten sie an die Opernhäuser in Wien, London und Barcelona; an der Deutschen Oper Berlin sang sie die Daphne (Strauss). Gleichzeitig ist Juanita Lascarro eine vielgefragte Konzertsängerin, deren Repertoire von Händel-Oratorien über Strauss’ Vier letzte Lieder bis zu Kurt Weill reicht. Mit den 12 Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker führte sie die Bachiana Brasileira Nr. 5 von Villa-Lobos in Berlin, London und Salzburg auf.

www.juanita-lascarro.de

Sopran

JIMMY LOPÉZ

„América Salvaje“ (2006)

RICHARD STRAUSS

„Morgen“ op. 27 Nr. 4 (1894)

RICHARD STRAUSS

„Traum durch die Dämmerung“ op. 29 Nr. 1 (1895)

RICHARD STRAUSS

„Liebeshymnus“ op. 32 Nr. 3 (1897)

RICHARD STRAUSS

„Cäcilie“ op. 27 Nr. 2 (1897)

JAIME LEÓN

Serenata „La calle está desierta“ (1977)

JAIME LEÓN

„Cuando lejos, muy lejos“ (1977)

JAIME LEÓN

„Algún día“ (1980)

IGOR STRAWINSKI

„Le Sacre du Printemps“ (1913)

Szenische Choreografie der Orchestermusiker mit Videoprojektionen und Licht-Design

PROGRAMM

Der Start von Young Euro Classic 2017 ist Anfang Juli bereits in Sichtweite – und das kolumbianische Jugendorchester erhöht noch die Vorfreude auf die neue Festivalsaison! Gegründet wurde das Colombian Youth Philharmonic vor sieben Jahren mit dem Ziel, nicht nur das besondere musikalische Talent der jungen Orchestermitglieder, sondern auch deren soziale Verantwortung und Selbstbestimmung zu fördern. Nun machen die jungen Musikerinnen und Musiker aus Südamerika auf ihrer ersten Europa-Tournee Station im Berliner Konzerthaus. Und wie gut das Colombian Youth Philharmonic ist, will es an einem der spektakulärsten Werke der Moderne beweisen: Strawinskis Le Sacre du Printemps. Dazu bringt es einen charismatischen Dirigenten mit, der mit seinen 39 Jahren längst in allen großen Konzertsälen dieser Welt zu Hause ist: den Kolumbianer Andrés Orozco-Estrada. Ihm zur Seite steht eine Sopranistin, die Deutschland zu ihrer zweiten Heimat erwählt hat: Juanita Lascarro singt Lieder von Richard Strauss und dem kolumbianischen Nationalkomponisten Jaime León.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.