Bundesjugendorchester

© Selina Pfruener

Last year it turned 50, but there is absolutely no sign of failing energy or creativity: when it comes to new programming ideas and intriguing concert projects, the Bundesjugendorchester (National Youth Orchestra of Germany, or BJO) is always ahead of the game. At Young Euro Classic, where the BJO has been among the regulars from the first festival year onwards, its palette of unusual concerts already includes performances with the National Youth Jazz Orchestra to last year’s programme featuring film music from the silent movie era to the present. Diversity is key: following its motto “Playing. Supporting. Raising Enthusiasm”, the young musicians aged 14 to 19, most of them first prize winners of the Federal music competition “Jugend musiziert”, meet for several intense rehearsal periods per year. The orchestra presents compositions from all epochs, including contemporary works and world premieres. The BJO has long become one of Germany’s most important cultural ambassadors, as its recent concert tours to Ukraine (2017), India (2018) and South Africa (2019) demonstrate. Since 2013 the Berlin Philharmonic has been the patron orchestra of the Bundesjugendorchester, holding joint rehearsals, master courses and concerts.

www.bundesjugendorchester.de


World Youth Choir

© Claire Kidwell

The World Youth Choir is an international ensemble of the world’s best young choral singers. Founded in 1989, the chorus is reconstituted every year through online auditions heard by an international jury of experts. It brings together up to 100 young talents aged 17 to 26 for one annual rehearsal and concert period. Over the past 30 years the World Youth Choir has united more than 1,000 vocalists from 75 countries, giving more than 300 concerts in 37 different countries. Its recognition as a UNESCO Artist for Peace (1996-1998), its participation in the Olympic Games (Barcelona 1992, Beijing 2008) and the award of the Nobel Peace Prize (2011) have made the World Youth Choir a global symbol of peace and unity. The World Youth Choir is supported by the European Choral Association – Europa Cantat, the International Federation for Choral Music and Jeunesses Musicales International.

Germany
August 9, 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Tan Dun

© Columbia Artists

The Chinese multi-artist Tan Dun is doubtlessly among the most fascinating personalities on the international music scene. Born in the province of Hunan and living today in New York, the 62-year-old has managed to overcome the boundaries of classical music, of multi-media performances and the Eastern and Western music tradition, thanks to his originality and creativity. He became known to a broad audience with his score for Ang Lee’s film Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000), for which he won a Grammy Award. He composed the music for the video-and-music project The Map for cellist Yo-Yo Ma and the percussion concerto The Tears of Nature for Martin Grubinger. Tan Dun often includes elements such as water, paper or stone in his compositions. The Internet Symphony No. 1, commissioned by Google, reached more than 23 million users in 2008. At the same time, Tan Dun is in high demand as a conductor: this season, apart from the National Youth Orchestra of Germany, he also leads orchestras in Oslo, Turin, Melbourne, Shenzhen and Guangzhou.

www.tandun.com

Conductor

Iris Hendrickx

© Rick Stockwell

The young Belgian soprano Iris Hendrickx performs as an opera and concert singer. Her repertoire ranges from Mozart’s Pamina and Zerlina to Bizet’s Micaela and Antonia in Offenbach’s Tales of Hoffmann. Only recently the singer recorded a CD with French opera arias. On the concert stage, she has worked with conductors such as Philippe Herreweghe, Jost van Immerseel, Frieder Bernius and Patrick Fournillier.

www.irishendrickx.com

 

 

 

Soprano

Jo-Pei Weng

© privat

The contralto Jo-Pei Weng received her vocal training first in her homeland of Taiwan, then at the Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, USA. She has made a name for herself mainly on the opera stage, where she was successful as Dorabella in Così fan tutte, La Zia Principessa in Suor Angelica, Suzuki in Madama Butterfly, Amneris in Aida and as Bizet’s Carmen. In 2014 she sang the role of Olga in Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin at the Peking Opera; she was also the first Taiwanese singer to appear at the White Nights Festival in St. Petersburg.

Contralto

Xavier Moreno

© Xavier Moreno

Originally from Barcelona, the tenor Xavier Moreno had his first professional ensemble engagement at the Mannheim State Theatre, where he acquired a broad range of repertoire. Today he performs as a guest at many German and European opera houses and is in high demand in the title roles of Verdi’s Don Carlos and Massenet’s Werther, as Cavaradossi in Tosca, Pinkerton in Madama Butterfly and Don José in Carmen. On the concert stage, his core repertoire includes the tenor part in Verdi’s Requiem, the Stabat Mater by Dvořák and Elgar’s The Dream of Gerontius.

Tenor

Johannes D. Schendel

© Anne De Gelas

Born in Kaufbeuren in Bavaria, Johannes D. Schendel studied singing with Michael Schopper at the Frankfurt am Main Music Academy and was selected for the series “Young Artist Concerts” as a fellow of the German Music Competition. Today he is a member of the RIAS-Kammerchor in Berlin, but continues to perform as a concert soloist in Germany and abroad. He has worked with conductors such as Sigiswald Kuijken, Paul Goodwin, Sylvain Cambreling, Lothar Zagrosek, Masaaki Suzuki and René Jacobs.

Bass

Jörn Hinnerk Andresen

© Johannes G

Originally from Schleswig-Holstein, Jörn Hinnerk Andresen had already worked in Zwickau, Koblenz and at the Gärtnerplatztheater in Munich before he was appointed chorus master at the Dresden State Opera, where he remained from 2014 to 2019. During his career as a Kapellmeister, Andresen has conducted more than 60 operas, operettas and musicals from very different eras. He is invited regularly by the leading choruses in Munich, Leipzig, Copenhagen and Paris for concerts, CD productions and choral preparation; he was also chorus director at the Salzburg Festival from 2008 to 2013. Starting with the 2019/20 winter semester, Andresen was appointed professor of choral conducting at the Mozarteum in Salzburg. His special interest is baroque music; thus, he founded the baroque orchestra Cappella Confluentes and works as a guest conductor with the Lauttencompagney Berlin.

Chorus Master

TAN DUN

“Nine” (2020)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphony No. 9 d-Minor Op. 125 (1824)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Anastassia Boutsko (Deutsche Welle) at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission with concert ticket

PROGRAMME

If Beethoven is mandatory in the Beethoven year, then it should be Beethoven with a special note! Thus the National Youth Orchestra of Germany when it invited the exceptional Chinese artist Tan Dun to perform Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony with the best German orchestral musicians aged 13 to 19. Therefore, this meeting of Central Europe and the Far East promises an unusual result. When the World Youth Choir, whose casting is true to its name, intones the final chorus, the “Ode to Joy”, Schiller’s famous verses are imbued with even deeper meaning. This, however, is not all: Tan Dun, a master of creative exploration of musical traditions, has also focused on Beethoven as a composer. As a special birthday gift for the 250th anniversary of the master of symphonic art, he contributes a prologue for chorus and orchestra entitled Nine.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Bundesjugendorchester

© Selina Pfruener

Im vergangenen Jahr wurden sie 50, aber von nachlassender Energie und Kreativität kann keine Rede sein: Wenn es um neue Programmideen und spannende Konzertprojekte geht, hat das Bundesjugendorchester (BJO) stets die Nase vorn. Auch bei Young Euro Classic, wo das BJO seit dem ersten Festivaljahr zu den unverzichtbaren Stammgästen gehört, reicht die Palette ungewöhnlicher Konzerte von Auftritten mit dem Bundesjugendballett bis zu Filmmusik von der Stummfilmzeit bis heute. Entscheidend ist die Vielseitigkeit: Unter dem Motto „Spielen. Fördern. Begeistern“ treffen sich die jungen Musiker*innen zwischen 14 und 19 Jahren, zumeist Erste Preisträger des Wettbewerbs Jugend musiziert, mehrmals pro Jahr zu intensiven Arbeitsphasen. Dabei erarbeiten sie Kompositionen aus allen Epochen, auch zeitgenössische Werke sowie Uraufführungen gehören zum festen Bestandteil der Programme. Seit langem zählt das BJO zu den wichtigsten Kulturbotschaftern Deutschlands, wie jüngste Reisen in die Ukraine (2017), nach Indien (2018) und Südafrika (2019) zeigen. Seit 2013 unterstützen die Berliner Philharmoniker als Patenorchester das BJO durch gemeinsame Proben, Meisterkurse und Konzerte.

www.bundesjugendorchester.de

 
World Youth Choir

© Claire Kidwell

Der World Youth Choir ist ein internationales Ensemble der besten jungen Chorsänger*innen aus der ganzen Welt. Der 1989 gegründete Chor wird jedes Jahr durch Online-Vorsingen, das von einer internationalen Fachjury betreut wird, neu zusammengesetzt. Er vereint bis zu 100 junge Talente im Alter von 17 bis 26 Jahren zu einer Proben- und Konzertphase. In den vergangenen 30 Jahren hat der World Youth Choir über 1000 Sänger*innen aus 75 verschiedenen Ländern zusammengebracht und mehr als 300 Konzerte in 37 verschiedenen Ländern gegeben. Durch die Anerkennung als UNESCO-Friedenskünstler (1996-1998), das Mitwirken bei den Olympischen Spielen (Barcelona 1992, Beijing 2008) und einer Friedensnobelpreisverleihung (2011) ist er zu einem globalen Symbol für Frieden und Einheit geworden. Getragen wird der World Youth Choir durch die European Choral Association – Europa Cantat, den Internationalen Verband für Chormusik und Jeunesses Musicales International.

Deutschland
09. August 2020 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Tan Dun

© Columbia Artists

Der chinesische Multi-Künstler Tan Dun zählt zweifellos zu den schillerndsten Persönlichkeiten im internationalen Musikbetrieb. Geboren in der Provinz Hunan, heute wohnhaft in New York, hat der 62-Jährige es immer wieder geschafft, mit Originalität und Kreativität die Grenzen der klassischen Musik, der multimedialen Darbietungen und der östlichen wie westlichen Traditionen zu überwinden. Einem breiten Publikum wurde er durch seine Musik zu Ang Lees Film Tiger and Dragon (2000) bekannt, für den er mit einem Grammy ausgezeichnet wurde. Das Video-Musik-Projekt The Map komponierte er für den Cellisten Yo-Yo Ma,  das Schlagzeugkonzert The Tears of Nature für Martin Grubinger. Immer wieder bezieht Tan Dun Elemente wie Wasser, Papier und Steine in seine Kompositionen ein. Die von Google in Auftrag gegebene Internet Symphony Nr. 1 erreichte 2008 mehr als 23 Millionen User. Zugleich ist er ein vielgefragter Dirigent, der in dieser Saison außer beim Bundesjugendorchester bei Symphonieorchestern in Oslo, Turin, Melbourne, Shenzen und Guangzhou am Pult steht.

www.tandun.com

Dirigent

Iris Hendrickx

© Rick Stockwell

Die junge belgische Sopranistin Iris Hendrickx tritt sowohl als Opern- wie auch als Konzertsängerin auf. Ihr Repertoire reicht von Mozarts Pamina und Zerlina bis zu Bizets Micaela und der Antonia in Offenbachs Hoffmanns Erzählungen. Erst kürzlich hat die Sängerin eine CD mit französischen Opernarien aufgenommen. Auf der Konzertbühne arbeitete sie mit Dirigenten wie Philippe Herreweghe, Jost van Immerseel, Frieder Bernius und Patrick Fournillier zusammen.

www.irishendrickx.com

 

 

 

Sopran

Jo-Pei Weng

© Jo-Pei Weng

Die Altistin Jo-Pei Weng erhielt ihre sängerische Ausbildung zuerst in ihrer taiwanesischen Heimat, anschließend an der Johns-Hopkins-Universität in Baltimore, USA. Inzwischen hat sie sich vor allem auf der Opernbühne einen Namen gemacht, wo sie als Dorabella in Così fan tutte, La Zia Principessa in Suor Angelica, Suzuki in Madama Butterfly, Amneris in Aida und als Bizets Carmen erfolgreich war. 2014 sang sie die Olga in Tschaikowskis Eugen Onegin an der Pekinger Oper; außerdem trat sie als erste taiwanesische Sänger beim Festival „Weiße Nächte“ in St. Petersburg auf.

 

 

 

Alt

Xavier Moreno

© Xavier Moreno

Der aus Barcelona stammende Tenor Xavier Moreno erhielt sein erstes Engagement am Staatstheater Mannheim, wo er sich ein breites Repertoire erarbeitete. Inzwischen tritt er als Gast an vielen deutschen und europäischen Opernhäusern auf. Gefragt ist er vor allem in den Titelrollen von Verdis Don Carlos und Massenets Werther, als Cavaradossi in Tosca, Pinkerton in Madama Butterfly und Don José in Carmen. Im Konzert zählen die Tenorpartie in Verdis Requiem, das Stabat Mater von Dvořák und Elgars The Dream of Gerontius zu seinem Repertoire.

 

 

 

Tenor

Johannes D. Schendel

© Anne De Gelas

Der gebürtige Kaufbeurener Johannes D. Schendel studierte Gesang an der Musikhochschule Frankfurt am Main bei Michael Schopper und wurde als Stipendiat des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs in die Bundesauswahl „Konzerte junger Künstler“ aufgenommen. Inzwischen ist er Mitglied des RIAS-Kammerchors Berlin, tritt aber weiterhin als Konzertsolist im In- und Ausland auf. Dabei hat er unter Dirigenten wie Sigiswald Kuijken, Paul Goodwin, Sylvain Cambreling, Lothar Zagrosek, Masaaki Suzuki und René Jacobs gesungen.

 

 

Bass

Jörn Hinnerk Andresen

© Johannes G

Der aus Schleswig-Holstein stammende Jörn Hinnerk Andresen kam über Stationen in Zwickau, Koblenz und am Gärtnerplatztheater München an die Sächsische Staatsoper Dresden, wo er 2014-19 als Chordirektor wirkte. Im Laufe seiner Kapellmeistertätigkeit hat Andresen mehr als 60 Opern, Operetten und Musicals aus verschiedensten Epochen dirigiert. Er wird regelmäßig von den führenden Chören in München, Leipzig, Kopenhagen und Paris zu Konzerten, CD-Produktionen und Einstudierungen eingeladen; außerdem war er 2008-13 als Chordirektor bei den Salzburger Festspielen tätig. Zum Wintersemester 2019/20 hat Andresen eine Professur für Chordirigieren am Mozarteum in Salzburg angetreten. Sein besonderes Interesse gilt darüber hinaus der Barockmusik; so gründete er das Barockorchester Cappella Confluentes und arbeitet als Gastdirigent mit der Lauttencompagney Berlin zusammen.

Einstudierung Chor

TAN DUN

„Nine” (2020)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Symphonie Nr. 9 d-Moll op. 125 (1824)

19 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Anastassia Boutsko (Deutsche Welle) im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Wenn schon Beethoven im Beethoven-Jahr, dann mit einer besonderen Note! Dachte sich das Bundesjugendorchester und lud den chinesischen Ausnahme-Künstler Tan Dun ein, um gemeinsam mit den besten deutschen Musiker*innen zwischen 13 und 19 Jahren Beethovens neunte Symphonie aufführen. Wenn somit also Mitteleuropa auf Fernost trifft, ist ein ungewöhnliches Ergebnis garantiert. Und wenn dann auch noch der World Youth Choir, der mit seiner Besetzung seinem Namen alle Ehre macht, den Schlusschor „Ode an die Freude“ anstimmt, dann bekommen Schillers berühmte Verse noch einmal eine viel tiefere Bedeutung. Doch damit nicht genug: Tan Dun, ein Meister der kreativen Auseinandersetzung mit musikalischen Traditionen, hat auch kompositorisch den Blick auf Beethoven gerichtet. Als besonderes Geburtstagsgeschenk zum 250. des symphonischen Großmeisters steuert er einen Prolog für Chor und Orchester unter dem Titel Nine bei.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.