fbpx
Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra

After its celebrated performance at Berlin’s Philharmonie as a pre-opening of Young Euro Classic 2015, the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra returns to Berlin for a second performance. The orchestra was founded in 2012 by Benjamin Zander and cooperates closely with the Boston Philharmonic Orchestra, the city’s second orchestra (next to the famous Boston Symphony Orchestra). The Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra includes high school and college students aged 12 to 21 and celebrated its debut in November 2012 at the legendary Symphony Hall in Boston. This was followed in 2013 by a tour of the Netherlands and in 2015 by a tour through Germany, Switzerland and the Czech Republic. In June 2017 the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra travelled South America, performing in Peru, Uruguay and Argentina. The symphonies of Gustav Mahler play an important part in its repertoire, but also great orchestral works of the French and Russian tradition.

www.bostonphil.org

USA
June 14, 2018 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Benjamin Zander

A native of Great Britain, Benjamin Zander founded the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra in 2012 and has subsequently turned it into one of the leading youth orchestras in the USA. Born in 1939 in England as the son of emigrants from Berlin, the twelve-year-old became a composition student of Benjamin Britten and Imogen Holst before turning to the cello as his instrument. In 1967 Zander moved to the USA, where he taught at the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston until retiring in 2012; his public lectures on music were a popular fixture. As a conductor, Zander has worked with numerous national youth orchestras, but also with the Israel Philharmonic, the Toronto Symphony, and the Scottish and Irish National Orchestras. Together with the Philharmonia Orchestra in London, he has recorded Beethoven and Mahler symphonies. Zander has been invited as a speaker at the World Economic Forum in Davos several times. His bestseller The Art of Possibility (2000) has been translated into 17 languages.

www.benjaminzander.com

Conductor

GEORGE BUTTERWORTH

“The Banks of Green Willow” (1913)

MAURICE RAVEL

“La Valse” (1920)

GUSTAV MAHLER

Symphony No. 9 in D-Major (1910)

PROGRAMME

This prelude to Young Euro Classic 2018 is designed to whet the listener’s appetite: as in 2015, the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra performs a pre-opening of the festival, and expectations of the young musicians from the East Coast of the USA are running high. After all, this youth orchestra under its experienced conductor Benjamin Zander has made an excellent name for itself within a short period of time. Once again, Zander has put together a highly intelligent programme, featuring works by the English composer George Butterworth, the Frenchman Maurice Ravel and the Austrian Gustav Mahler, all written in the short period between 1910 and 1920. The centrepiece is Mahler’s Ninth Symphony, a fascinating farewell to life. Played by a youth orchestra whose entire future lies ahead of it and conducted by a renowned Mahler expert such as Benjamin Zander – this is bound to be a breath-taking concert!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra

Nach seinem gefeierten Auftritt in der Berliner Philharmonie im Vorfeld von Young Euro Classic 2015 kommt das Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra nun zum zweiten Mal nach Berlin. Es wurde 2012 von Benjamin Zander ins Leben gerufen und kooperiert eng mit dem Boston Philharmonic Orchestra, dem zweiten Orchester der Stadt neben dem berühmten Boston Symphony Orchestra. Das BPYO setzt sich aus Studenten der High School und des College von 12-21 Jahren zusammen und feierte sein Debüt im November 2012 in der legendären Boston Symphony Hall. Bereits 2013 folgte eine Tournee in die Niederlande, 2015 eine Tour durch Deutschland, die Schweiz und Tschechien.  Im Juni 2017 bereiste das Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra die südamerikanischen Länder Peru, Uruguay und Argentinien. Besonderen Stellenwert im Repertoire haben die Symphonien Gustav Mahlers, aber auch die großen französischen und russischen Orchesterwerke.

www.bostonphil.org

USA
14. June 2018 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Benjamin Zander

Der gebürtige Brite Benjamin Zander gründete das Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra 2012 und hat es seitdem schnell zu einem der führenden Jugendorchester der USA gemacht. Geboren 1939 in England als Sohn Berliner Emigranten, wurde der Zwölfjährige Kompositionsschüler von Benjamin Britten und Imogen Holst, bevor er sich dem Violoncello zuwandte. 1967 übersiedelte Zander in die USA, wo er bis zu seiner Emeritierung 2012 am New England Conservatory of Music in Boston unterrichtete; breite Resonanz fanden auch seine öffentlichen Vorlesungen über Musik. Als Dirigent hat Zander mit zahlreichen nationalen Jugendorchestern, aber auch mit dem Israel Philharmonic, dem Toronto Symphony, dem Scottish und Irish National Orchestra zusammen gearbeitet. Mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra in London nahm er Beethoven- und Mahler-Symphonien auf. Außerdem wurde Zander mehrfach als Redner für das Weltwirtschaftsforum in Davos engagiert. Sein Bestseller The Art of Possibility (2000) wurde in 17 Sprachen übersetzt.

www.benjaminzander.com

Dirigent

GEORGE BUTTERWORTH

„The Banks of Green Willow“ (1913)

MAURICE RAVEL

„La Valse“ (1920)

GUSTAV MAHLER

Symphonie Nr. 9 D-Dur (1910)

PROGAMM

Es ist ein Vorspiel zu Young Euro Classic 2018, das Lust auf mehr macht: Wie schon 2015 bestreitet das Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra das Pre-Opening, und man darf höchst gespannt sein auf die jungen Musikerinnen und Musiker von der amerikanischen Ostküste. Denn innerhalb kürzester Zeit hat sich dieses Jugendorchester unter seinem erfahrenen Dirigenten Benjamin Zander ein exzellentes Niveau erarbeitet. Auch diesmal hat Zander ein höchst intelligentes Programm gestrickt, mit Werken des Engländers George Butterworth, des Franzosen Maurice Ravel und des Österreichers Gustav Mahler, die alle drei in dem kurzen Zeitraum zwischen 1910 und 1920 entstanden sind. Im Mittelpunkt steht Mahlers Neunte, ein faszinierender Abgesang auf das Leben. Gespielt von einem Jugendorchester, das seine ganze Zukunft noch vor sich hat, und dirigiert von einem ausgewiesenen Mahler-Experten wie Benjamin Zander – das muss ein mitreißendes Konzert werden!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.