Auckland Youth Orchestra

Founded in 1948, Auckland Youth Orchestra is the premier regional youth orchestra in New Zealand and was the first youth orchestra established in the Southern Hemisphere, designed to bridge the gap between school orchestras and adult professional groups. The role of AYO is not just to perform concerts but to train future musicians to feed into our national ensembles and orchestras. No other orchestral organisation or institution in New Zealand provides such a comprehensive programme to musicians up to the age of 26. The orchestra regularly presents concerts in centres throughout New Zealand and has toured to Australia, New Caledonia, North America, and Europe.  The orchestra performs up to twelve free concerts annually across the greater Auckland metropolitan area, nationally and abroad.  It attracts audiences of all ages with diverse cultural and socio-economic backgrounds. In 2011 AYO travelled to Europe, being the first ensemble from New Zealand invited to perform at Young Euro Classic. In 2013 AYO toured the length of the South Island with concerts in Dunedin, Gore, Te Anau, Wanaka, Westport, and Nelson.

www.ayo.org.nz

New Zealand
August 19, 2018 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Mitri Sirin


Television Presenter

Mitri Sirin was born in Rheine (North Rhine-Westphalia) in 1971 and holds both German and Turkish citizenship. After graduating from secondary school, he completed his civil service and worked as a DJ in various clubs. In 1993 he moved to Berlin and was part of the founding team of the radio station KISS FM. He worked there as a presenter and music journalist until 1997. In the meantime, he also gathered first experience as a television presenter on the sequel to the popular youth show “elf99” (“Saturday”, Vox) while also producing various television documentaries about the music and nightlife scene in Berlin. He subsequently started working as a presenter and journalist for several public radio stations. Between 2005 and 2015 Mitri Sirin was engaged as a television presenter and reporter for RBB and WDR. Since 2009 Mitri Sirin has been working mainly for the ZDF “Morgenmagazin”, whose main presenter he has been since 2014. Occasionally he helps out on the “heute” shows in Mainz. He often works as a reporter and author for major events, for example the G7 Summit. His family is from Turkey, where it belongs to the Christian minority.

Patron of the Evening
Antun Poljanich

Antun Poljanich was born in Dubrovnik, Croatia. He was educated in piano, music theory and conducting in Ljubljana, Sarajevo, Graz and St. Petersburg, where he worked with several orchestras. After his return to Croatia, Antun Poljanich conducted various European orchestras, e.g. the Slovene Philharmonic Orchestra (Slovenia), the Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra (Croatia), the Veneto Philharmonia (Italy), the Cadaqués Symphony Orchestra (Spain) and the Miskolc Symphony Orchestra (Hungary). Since 1996 the conductor has been living in New Zealand, performing with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and the St. Matthew’s Chamber Orchestra. In 1998 Antun Poljanich became music director of the Auckland Youth Symphony Orchestra, with which he celebrated successful concerts in New Zealand and abroad. As the music director of St. Peter’s College in Auckland, he is responsible for several programmes, including a concert band, a symphony orchestra, chamber music, choral and vocal music. In 2005 he was awarded the St. Peter’s College Scholarship for his contributions to music education in New Zealand. In 2007 Antun Poljanich returned to conduct in his native region again, leading the Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra and the Slovene Philharmonic Orchestra.

Conductor
Noah Rudd

Noah Rudd received his first oboe lessons at the age of nine; he currently studies at the University of Auckland in his third year. He is the principal oboe player of the New Zealand National Youth Orchestra and has worked repeatedly with professional orchestras such as the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra, the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra. Since 2014 Noah Rudd has been a member of the Auckland Youth Orchestra.

 

 

 

Oboe
Presentation of the European Composer Award

Starting at second half of the concert: At the festival Young Euro Classic the Mayor of Berlin presents the European Composer Award to the most deserving candidate. The award is given in recognition of the festival’s best world premiere or German premiere. It is endowed with 5.000 euros. An 11-member audience jury determines the winner. The 2017 European Composer Award was awarded to the Portugese composer Mariana Vieira for her Work “Raíz”, a Concerto for Oboe, Clarinet, Tuba, Harp, Double Bass, Marimba and Orchestra, which had its world premiere in Berlin as part of Young Euro Classic.

 

 

 

ALEXANDER COWDELL

“Persephone” (World Premiere)

ANTHONY RITCHIE

“Cartoon” Fantasy for Oboe and Orchestra (2017, German Premiere)

AARON COPLAND

“Appalachian Spring” (1945)

JEAN SIBELIUS

“Finlandia” Op. 26 (1900)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

For ambitious youth orchestras, no journey is too far to join the Young Euro Classic roster: from the other end of the globe, the musicians of the Auckland Youth Orchestra travel to Berlin for their concert – and this is their second voyage of this kind, after their debut in 2011. The orchestra members are all students at the University of Auckland, located at the northern end of New Zealand. In keeping with the festival tradition, the Auckland Youth Orchestra performs composers of its homeland, including a brand-new work by Alexander Cowdell  and a German premiere by the most successful composer of New Zealand, Anthony Ritchie. The rest of their programme demonstrates that the musicians from Auckland have a broad musical horizon: the second part of their concert features the famous tone poem Finlandia by the Jean Sibelius and the atmospheric Appalachian Spring by the American composer Aaron Copland. A more entertaining musical journey around the world is hard to imagine!

 

 

 

Broadcast

This concert is recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcasted nationwide – via FM, DAB +, Kabel, online and app. The date of the broadcast is August 21, 2018, 20:03-22:00.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Auckland Youth Orchestra

Das Auckland Youth Orchestra, gegründet 1948, ist das führende regionale Jugendorchester Neuseelands und war das erste Jugendorchester, das sich überhaupt in der südlichen Hemisphäre etablierte, um die Lücke zwischen Schulorchestern und professionellen Erwachsenenensembles zu schließen. Die Rolle des AYO besteht nicht nur im Konzertieren, sondern auch darin, die Musiker der Zukunft zu trainieren, damit sie in den nationalen Ensembles und Orchestern Neuseelands spielen können. Keine andere Orchesterorganisation oder -institution in Neuseeland bietet ein so umfassendes Ausbildungsprogramm für Musiker bis zu 26 Jahren. Das Orchester spielt regelmäßig in vielen Städten Neuseelands und ist ferner in Australien, Neukaledonien, Nordamerika und Europa aufgetreten. Jedes Jahr spielt es bis zu zwölf Konzerte bei freiem Eintritt im Ballungsgebiet von Auckland, national und international. 2011 ging das AYO auf eine Europatournee und war das erste Ensemble aus Neuseeland, das zu Young Euro Classic eingeladen wurde. 2013 unternahm das AYO eine Tournee durch die gesamte Südinsel Neuseelands und gab Konzerte in Dunedin, Gore, Te Anau, Wanaka, Westport und Nelson.

www.ayo.org.nz

Neuseeland
19. August 2018 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Mitri Sirin


Fernsehmoderator

Mitri Sirin besitzt die deutsche und türkische Staatsangehörigkeit und wurde 1971 in Rheine, NRW, geboren. Nach dem Abitur machte er Zivildienst und arbeitete als DJ in diversen Clubs. 1993 zog er nach Berlin und gehörte dort zum Gründungsteam des Radiosenders KISS FM. Bis 1997 arbeitete er dort als Moderator und Musikredakteur. Zwischendurch sammelte er erste Erfahrung als Fernseh-Moderator beim Nachfolgeformat des beliebten TV-Jugendmagazins elf99 („Saturday“, Vox) und produzierte parallel diverse TV Dokumentationen über die Musik- und Nachtszene der Hauptstadt. Es folgten Engagements als Moderator und Redakteur bei öffentlich-rechtlichen Radiosendern. In der Zeit zwischen 2005 bis 2015 arbeitete Mitri Sirin als TV-Moderator und Reporter für den RBB bzw. WDR. Seit 2009 ist Mitri Sirin hauptberuflich beim ZDF „Morgenmagazin“, für das er seit 2014 als Hauptmoderator arbeitet. Gelegentlich hilft er auch als Moderator der „heute“ Sendungen in Mainz aus. Immer wieder tritt er auch als Reporter bzw. Autor bei Großereignissen, wie z.B. dem G7 Gipfel, auf. Seine Familie stammt aus der Türkei und gehört dort der christlichen Minderheit an.

 

Pate des Abends
Antun Poljanich

Antun Poljanich wurde in Dubrovnik (Kroatien) geboren. Seine Ausbildungs- und Studienjahre in den Fächern Klavier, Musiktheorie und Dirigieren brachten ihn nach Ljubljana, Sarajevo, Graz und St. Petersburg, wo er mit mehreren St. Petersburger Orchestern gearbeitet hat. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Kroatien dirigierte Antun Poljanich verschiedene europäische Orchester, wie z.B. das Slowenische Philharmonische Orchester (Slowenien), das Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra (Kroatien), die Veneto Philharmonia (Italien), das Cadaqués Symphony Orchestra (Spanien) und das Miskolc Symphony Orchestra (Ungarn). Seit 1996 lebt der Dirigent in Neuseeland und tritt mit dem Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra und St. Matthew’s Chamber Orchestra regelmäßig auf. 1998 wurde Antun Poljanich musikalischer Leiter des Auckland Youth Symphony Orchestra, mit dem er in Neuseeland und im Ausland Erfolge feierte. Als Musikdirektor am St. Peter’s College in Auckland ist er für mehrere Programme verantwortlich, darunter eine Konzertband, ein Symphonieorchester, Kammermusik, sowie Chor- und Vokalmusik. 2005 wurde er mit dem St. Peter’s College Scholarship für seinen Beitrag zur Musikbildung in Neuseeland ausgezeichnet. 2007 kehrte Antun Poljanich zur Dirigiertätigkeit auch in seiner Heimatregion zurück und leitete das Symphonieorchester Dubrovnik und das Slowenische Symphonieorchester.

Dirigent
Noah Rudd

© Gloria Tian

Seinen ersten Oboenunterricht erhielt Noah Rudd mit neun Jahren; derzeit studiert er im dritten Jahr an der Universität Auckland. Er ist zugleich Solo-Oboist im New Zealand National Youth Orchestra und hat bereits mehrfach mit professionellen Orchestern wie dem Dunedin Symphony Orchestra, dem Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra und dem New Zealand Symphony Orchestra konzertiert. Seit 2014 ist Noah Rudd Mitglied im Auckland Youth Orchestra.

 

 

 

 

Oboe
Verleihung Europäischer Komponistenpreis

Zu Beginn der 2. Konzerthälfte: Der Europäische Komponistenpreis wird im Rahmen von Young Euro Classic vom Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin ausgelobt.
Prämiert wird die beste auf dem Festival präsentierte Uraufführung oder Deutsche Erstaufführung. Die Entscheidung über die Verleihung des mit 5.000 € dotierten Komponistenpreises fällt eine ehrenamtliche Jury aus zehn musikbegeisterten Laien plus Vorsitzender/m.
Der Europäische Komponistenpreis 2017 ging an die portugiesische Komponistin Mariana Vieira für ihr Werk „Raíz“ Konzert für Oboe, Klarinette, Tuba, Harfe, Kontrabass, Marimba und Orchester, das im Rahmen von Young Euro Classic 2017 in Berlin uraufgeführt wurde.

ALEXANDER COWDELL

„Persephone" (Uraufführung)

ANTHONY RITCHIE

„Cartoon” Fantasie für Oboe und Orchester (2017, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

AARON COPLAND

„Appalachian Spring“ (1945)

JEAN SIBELIUS

"Finlandia" op. 26 (1900)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal
Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Für ehrgeizige Jugendorchester ist kein Weg zu weit, um bei Young Euro Classic dabei zu sein: Vom anderen Ende des Erdballs kommen diesmal die Musikerinnen und Musiker des Auckland Youth Orchestra für ihr Konzert nach Berlin – und das schon zum zweiten Mal nach 2011. Sie alle sind Studenten an der Universität Auckland, gelegen an der nördlichen Spitze der Doppel-Insel Neuseeland. Nach bester Festivaltradition bringt das Auckland Youth Orchestra Komponisten aus seiner Heimat mit, darunter ein brandneues Werk des Komponisten Alexander Cowdell und eine Deutsche Erstaufführung des erfolgreichsten neuseeländischen Komponisten Anthony Ritchie.  Ansonsten zeigen die Musiker aus Auckland, dass sie einen ganz weiten musikalischen Horizont haben: Im zweiten Teil ihres Konzerts spielen sie die berühmte Tondichtung Finlandia des Finnen Jean Sibelius und das stimmungsvolle Orchesterstück Appalachian Spring des US-Amerikaners Aaron Copland. Abwechslungsreicher kann eine musikalische Weltreise nicht sein!

 

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird von Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und bundesweit am 21.08.2018 um 20:03 Uhr gesendet – über UKW, DAB+, Kabel, online und app.

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.