Western Balkans Youth Orchestra

© Ulrike Schumann

The Western Balkans Youth Orchestra is a very young orchestra: it was founded at the end of 2019 by Desar Sulejmani, to find a way to make music together, bridging ethnic, national, religious and cultural differences. It includes mainly young music students from the six non-EU countries of the Western Balkan (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia). The concertmaster position rotates between pieces. The pianist and conductor Sulejmani, who studied in Germany, is the artistic director of the ensemble. It is financed in large part and supported logistically by various Rotary Clubs in Germany. The orchestra’s pedagogical and artistic work is inspired by the German system of orchestral academies, in which various docents from abroad rehearse the programme with the young musicians. Due to the pandemic the Western Balkans Youth Orchestra made its concert debut in autumn 2021 with three concerts in Pristina, Skopje and Tirana; it made its Young Euro Classic debut in 2022 and now returns for its third appearance.

www.wbyo.org

Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, and others
August 16, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

Desar Sulejmani

© Mimoza Veliu

Born in Albania, Desar Sulejmani began playing the piano at the age of six, soon appearing in public. From 1998 he attended the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen, where he studied with Till Engel (piano), Andreas Reiner and Rainer Kussmaul (chamber music) and David de Villiers (conducting). As Andreas Reiner’s piano partner, Sulejmani recorded the complete violin sonatas by Felix Mendelssohn for CD. Conducting has been the focus of his artistic work since 2003: he has held positions with orchestras in Essen, Cologne and Düsseldorf and has been invited to conduct in Albania and Kosovo, the Czech Republic, Austria and Uzbekistan. In 2008 Sulejmani conducted the first Albanian opera Mrika by Preng Jakova in his hometown of Shkodra. In 2016 he conducted an international production of Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte in Johannesburg, South Africa. In 2019 he founded the Western Balkans Youth Orchestra.

Dirigent

GIUSEPPE VERDI

Overture to “La Forza del Destino” (1862)

HEITOR VILLA-LOBOS

“O papagaio do moleque” (1932)

ROCK and POP SONGS

from the Western Balkans region in new orchestra arrangements

MODEST MUSSORGSKI

“Pictures at an Exhibition” (1874, orchestrated by Sergey Gorchakov)

Celebrate with us and the Western Balkans Youth Orchestra at the audience party after the concert – if the construction work on the Gendarmenmarkt allows it.

About the concert

Music as a language uniting peoples – a popular phrase in politicians’ speeches. There are, however, truly apposite examples for the truth of this claim: Daniel Barenboim’s West Eastern Divan Orchestra is one of them, and the West Balkans Youth Orchestra (WBYO), which now returns to Young Euro Classic for its third appearance, another. However, it takes significant effort from all quarters to enable the young musicians make music together. The WBYO and its director Desar Sulejmani, a German with Albanian roots, put their faith in colourful programmes which always integrate the music of their homelands – and thus it is again this summer, when new arrangements of rock and pop hits of the region will be heard in orchestral versions. The evening opens with an appetizer, the overture to Verdi’s opera La forza del destino, while the second half features Modest Mussorgsky’s cycle Pictures at an Exhibition – not in the highly familiar orchestration by Maurice Ravel, but in the much more “Russian” instrumentation created by Sergey Gorchakov in 1955. During the 25th festival edition, this means another premiere at Young Euro Classic!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Western Balkans Youth Orchestra

© Ulrike Schumann

Bei dem Western Balkans Youth Orchestra handelt es sich um ein noch sehr junges Orchester: Erst Ende 2019 wurde es auf Initiative von Desar Sulejmani gegründet, um über ethnische, nationale, religiöse und kulturelle Unterschiede hinweg einen Weg für gemeinsames Musizieren zu finden. Es setzt sich zum überwiegenden Teil aus jungen Musikstudierenden der sechs Nicht-EU-Länder des Westbalkans (Albanien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Nordmazedonien und Serbien) zusammen. Bei der Konzertmeisterposition gibt es ein bewusstes Rotationssystem. Der in Deutschland ausgebildete Pianist und Dirigent Sulejmani fungiert als Künstlerischer Leiter des Ensembles. Maßgebliche finanzielle wie logistische Unterstützung erhält es durch verschiedene Rotary Clubs in Deutschland. Seine pädagogisch-künstlerische Arbeit orientiert sich an dem deutschen Orchesterakademie-System, in dem verschiedene Dozent:innen aus dem Ausland das Programm mit den jungen Musiker:innen einstudieren. Sein Debüt erlebte das Western Balkans Youth Orchestra pandemiebedingt erst im Herbst 2021 mit drei Konzerten in Pristina, Skopje und Tirana; nach seinen Auftritten 2022 und 2023 ist das Orchester nun zum dritten Mal zu Gast bei Young Euro Classic.

www.wbyo.org

Albanien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Nord-Mazedonien, Serbien u.a.
16. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

Desar Sulejmani

© Mimoza Veliu

Der in Albanien geborene Desar Sulejmani begann als Sechsjähriger mit dem Klavierspiel und trat bald auch in Konzerten auf. Ab 1998 setzte er seine Ausbildung an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen fort, wo er bei Till Engel (Klavier), Andreas Reiner und Rainer Kussmaul (Kammermusik) sowie David de Villiers (Dirigieren) studierte. Als Klavierpartner von Andreas Reiner hat Sulejmani sämtliche Violinsonaten von Felix Mendelssohn auf CD eingespielt. Den Schwerpunkt seiner künstlerischen Arbeit nimmt seit 2003 das Dirigieren ein: Dabei verbinden sich feste Positionen, die er bei Orchestern in Essen, Köln und Düsseldorf betreute, mit einer Vielzahl von Einladungen, die Sulejmani nach Albanien und in den Kosovo, nach Tschechien, Österreich und Usbekistan führten. 2008 dirigierte Sulejmani in seiner Heimatstadt Shkodra die erste albanische Oper Mrika von Preng Jakova. 2016 leitete er eine internationale Produktion von Mozarts Zauberflöte im südafrikanischen Johannesburg. 2019 gründete er das Western Balkans Youth Orchestra.

Dirigent

GIUSEPPE VERDI

Ouvertüre zu „La Forza del Destino“ (1862)

HEITOR VILLA-LOBOS

„O papagaio do moleque" (1932)

ROCK- und POPSONGS

aus der Westbalkanregion in neuen Orchesterbearbeitungen

MODEST MUSSORGSKI

„Bilder einer Ausstellung" (1874, orchestriert von Sergei Gortschakow)

Feiern Sie mit uns und dem Western Balkans Youth Orchestra beim Publikumsfest nach dem Konzert – sofern es die Bauarbeiten auf dem Gendarmenmarkt zulassen.

Über das Konzert

Dass Musik eine völkerverbindende Sprache sei, ist eine beliebte Floskel in Politiker-Grußworten. Aber es gibt eben auch treffende Beispiele für die Richtigkeit dieser Behauptung: Daniel Barenboims West Eastern Divan Orchestra steht genauso dafür wie das West Balkans Youth Orchestra (WBYO), das nun bereits zum dritten Mal bei Young Euro Classic zu erleben ist. Doch es bedarf schon einiger Anstrengung von allen Seiten, damit die jungen Musiker:innen gemeinsam Musik machen können. Das WBYO und sein Leiter Desar Sulejmani, Deutscher mit albanischen Wurzeln, setzen dabei auf farbige Programme, in denen stets die Musik ihrer Heimatländer integriert wird – so zu erleben auch in diesem Sommer in neuen Orchesterbearbeitungen von Rock- und Pophits der Region. Dazu gibt es als Appetizer am Anfang die Ouvertüre zu Verdis Oper Die Macht des Schicksals, während der zweite Teil Modest Mussorgskis Zyklus Bilder einer Ausstellung gewidmet ist – aber nicht in der allbekannten Orchestrierung Maurice Ravels, sondern in der sehr viel „russischeren“ Orchesterversion durch Sergeij Gortschakow von 1955. Im 25. Festivaljahr eine weitere Premiere bei Young Euro Classic!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.