Ševčík Academy Orchestra

©

The Ševčík Academy Orchestra was founded in 2019 as part of an academy. Its namesake is Otakar Ševčík (1852-1934), one of the most influential violin pedagogues of his time, who taught all over the world, but also authored a widely-used manual, the “School of Violin Technique”. The academy is located in Horažďovice, a small town in Southern Bohemia which is also the birthplace of Ševčík. Here, an international team of teachers gathers to work with young musicians, a team incorporating renowned soloists and orchestra musicians, including members of the Czech Philharmonic and the Berlin Philharmonic. They work along the lines of Ševčík’s teaching method, which postulated technically perfect command of the instrument in order to develop freedom of interpretation. The conductor laureate of the Ševčík Academy Orchestra is Jakub Hrůša, chief conductor of the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra and designated music director of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London.

Czechia
August 17, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

Alena Hron

Michal Bares

The Czech conductor Alena Hron studied in Prague at the Conservatory and the Academy of Performing Arts, then moved on to Oslo and finally to Zurich, where she recently graduated with a master’s degree from the Academy of the Arts. The only current recipient of the Taki Alsop Conducting Fellowship, the conductor receives two years of intense mentoring and coaching from the conductor Marin Alsop. In 2023, Alena Hron made her debut at the Prague Spring Festival and also conducted the Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonic and the Janáček Philharmonic, including in concerts in Berlin and Paris. Alena Hron gathered her first opera experiences at the Silesian Theatre in Opava, where she conducted Verdi’s Rigoletto and the musical Funny Girl. In parallel with Jakub Hrůša, the chief conductor of the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra and future music director at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London, she has led the summer concerts of the Ševčík Academy Orchestra during the past two years. Starting with the 2024/25 season, she will be the chief conductor of the Southern Czech Philharmonic in Ceske Budejovice.

www.alenahron.cz

Conductor

Tomáš Jamník

Marek Novotný

Born in Prague in 1985 and living in Berlin today, the Czech cellist Tomáš Jamník has established himself on the international classical music scene as a performer of classical and contemporary compositions. He studied with Josef Chuchro at the Prague Academy of the Performing Arts, then with Peter Bruns in Leipzig and with Jens Peter Maintz at the Berlin University of the Arts. In 2006, he won the International Competition of the Prague Spring Music Festival. Since then, the musician has appeared with internationally renowned orchestras in Europe, the USA and Asia, including the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin under the baton of Robin Ticciati. His chamber music partners include the pianist Leif Ove Andsnes, the violinist Josef Špaček, the mezzo-soprano Magdalena Kožená and the Pavel Haas Quartet. Championing contemporary music, he has given world premieres of works by the Czech composers Miroslav Srnka, Michal Nejtek, Slavomír Hořínka and Ondřej Kukal. Since 2015, he has been the artistic director of the Czech Chamber Music Academy, and since 2019 he has held the same position at the Ševčík Academy.

www.tomasjamnik.cz

Cello

Matteo Hager

©

The Czech-American violinist Matteo Hager graduated from the Music High School in Prague and received a scholarship to attend the Royal Academy of Music in London, where he currently studies with Rodney Friend. The 21-year-old has won several international competitions, for example the Violin Competition Josef Micka, the France Musique Competition, the Augustin Aponte Music Competition and the “Note di Talento”. In 2023, Matteo Hager was declared a “Rising Star” by the BBC Music Magazine. He has performed with all the major orchestras in the Czech Republic, working with conductors such as Tomáš Netopil, Tomáš Brauner, Radek Baborák, Petr Vronský and Jan Kučera. In 2023, the violinist was entrusted with the honour of representing the Royal Academy of Music as a soloist in New York City. Apart from the violin, his main interest is composition; Hager has repeatedly performed his own works.

Violin

Jiří Teml

The Czech composer Jiří Teml, born in 1935, can look back upon a long and fruitful creative life; his compositions seems innumerable. Teml also achieved broad renown by working for the radio for decades, first in Pilsen, then at Radio 3 in Prague. Teml achieved his first great success as a composer in 1972 at the festival Prague Spring with his Fantasia appassionata for organ. While in his early years, especially under the influence of the Polish avant-garde, the contemporary idiom dominated his work, Teml later found a personal style with a greater affinity for melodic and rhythmic elements of Czech folk music. Apart from symphonic works, chamber music makes up the bulk of his oeuvre, within which Teml kept experimenting with new combinations ranging from duos to sextets. Furthermore, solo compositions for organ and harpsichord stand alongside vocal works and choral music. Teml also wrote the two children’s operas The Emperor’s New Clothes (2006) and Puss-in-Boots (2008) and several song cycles for children’s choruses.

Composer

BEDŘICH SMETANA

“The Vltava” from “My Fatherland” (1874)

JIŘÍ TEML

Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (World Premiere) 🏆

BOHUSLAV MARTINŮ

Overture for Orchestra H 345 (1953)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Romance for Violin and Orchestra in F-minor Op. 11 (1873-1877)

VÍTĚZSLAVA KAPRÁLOVÁ

“Suita Rustica” Op. 19 (1938)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Slavic Dance No. 7 in C-Major Op. 72 (1886/87)

About the concert

A perfect programme for Young Euro Classic! The music stands of the young musicians of the Ševčík Academy Orchestra and their youthful conductor Alena Hron in Berlin will feature a combination of familiar melodies and true rarities – all from the infinite depths of the Czech musical landscape and imagination. The popular framework is constructed by The Vltava by Smetana and a Slavic Dance by Dvořák, but between these two bookends, not only will the often-underestimated Bohuslav Martinů be heard, but also the Suita Rustica by Vítězslava Kaprálová, a Czech composer who died in 1940, aged only 25. A world premiere was commissioned from Jiří Teml: a new cello concerto to be premiered by Tomáš Jamník, a cellist based in Berlin. The Czech orchestra also gives a platform to another promising soloist: the 21-year-old Matteo Hager, who performs the Violin Romance by Dvořák.

Broadcast

The concert will be recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcast nationwide – on the radio, online and in the Dlf Audiothek app.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Ševčík Academy Orchestra

© privat

Das Ševčík Academy Orchestra wurde 2019 als Teil einer Akademie gegründet. Sie erinnert mit ihrem Namen an Otakar Ševčík (1852-1934), einen der bedeutendsten Geigenpädagogen seiner Zeit, der in aller Welt unterrichtet hat, aber auch eine vielbenutzte „Schule der Violintechnik“ verfasste. Die Akademie hat ihren Sitz in Horažďovice, einer kleiner südböhmischen Stadt, dem Geburtsort von Ševčík. Hier findet sich ein internationales Team von Lehrenden zusammen, dem renommierte Solisten und Orchestermusiker angehören, darunter Mitglieder der Tschechischen Philharmonie und der Berliner Philharmoniker. Sie arbeitet nach den Traditionen von Ševčíks Unterrichtsmethode, die eine technisch perfekte Beherrschung des Instruments verfolgte, um daraus die nötige Freiheit der Interpretation entwickeln zu können. Ehren-Chefdirigent des Ševčík Academy Orchestra ist Jakub Hrůša, der Chefdirigent der Bamberger Symphoniker und designierter Music Director des Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London.

Tschechien
17. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

Alena Hron

© Michal Bares

Die tschechische Dirigentin Alena Hron erhielt ihre Ausbildung zuerst am Prager Konservatorium und der Akademie für darstellende Künste; später wechselte sie nach Oslo und zuletzt nach Zürich, wo sie an der Akademie der Künste kürzlich ihren Masters-Abschluss machte. Als einzige derzeitige Stipendiatin der Taki Alsop Conducting Fellowship erhält die Musikerin über zwei Jahre hinweg intensive Förderung und Coaching durch die Dirigentin Marin Alsop. 2023 feierte Alena Hron ihr Debüt beim Prager Frühling, außerdem dirigierte sie die Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonie sowie die Janáček Philharmonie, darunter bei Konzerten in Berlin und Paris. Erste Opernerfahrungen sammelte Alena Hron am Schlesischen Theater in Opava/Oppau mit Verdis Rigoletto und dem Musical Funny Girl. Parallel zu Jakub Hrůša, dem Chefdirigenten der Bamberger Symphoniker und zukünftigen Music Director an der Covent Garden Opera in London, leitete sie in den vergangenen beiden Jahren die sommerlichen Konzerte des Ševčík Academy Orchestra. Ab der Spielzeit 2024/25 wird sie neue Chefdirigentin der Südtschechischen Philharmonie mit Sitz in Ceske Budejovice.

www.alenahron.cz

Dirigentin

Tomáš Jamník

© Marek Novotný

1985 in Prag geboren und heute in Berlin lebend, hat sich der tschechische Cellist Tomáš Jamník als Interpret sowohl klassischer als auch zeitgenössischer Kompositionen in der internationalen Klassikszene etabliert. Er studierte u. a. bei Josef Chuchro an der Prager Akademie der darstellenden Künste, später in Leipzig bei Peter Bruns und an der Universität der Künste Berlin bei Jens Peter Maintz. 2006 gewann er den Internationalen Musikwettbewerb des Festivals Prager Frühling, seitdem ist der Musiker mit international renommierten Orchestern in Europa, den USA und Asien aufgetreten, darunter auch das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin unter der Leitung von Robin Ticciati. Zu seinen Kammermusik-Partnern zählen der Pianist Leif Ove Andsnes, der Geiger Josef Špaček, die Mezzosopranistin Magdalena Kožená und das Pavel Haas-Quartett. Im Rahmen seines Engagements für zeitgenössische Musik brachte er Werke der tschechischen Komponisten Miroslav Srnka, Michal Nejtek, Slavomír Hořínka und Ondřej Kukal zur Uraufführung. Seit 2015 ist er Künstlerischer Leiter der Tschechischen Kammermusikakademie, seit 2019 amtiert er in derselben Position an der Ševčík-Akademie.

www.tomasjamnik.cz

Violoncello

Matteo Hager

© privat

Der tschechisch-amerikanische Geiger Matteo Hager erhielt nach seinem Abitur am Musikgymnasium in Prag ein Stipendium für die Royal Academy of Music in London, wo er derzeit bei Rodney Friend studiert. Der 21-Jährige hat bereits mehrere internationale Wettbewerbe gewonnen, so den Violinwettbewerb Josef Micka, den Wettbewerb France Musique, den Augustin Aponte Musikwettbewerb und die „Note di Talento“. 2023 wurde Matteo Hager vom BBC Music Magazine als „Rising Star“ ausgezeichnet. Außerdem trat er mit allen wichtigen Orchestern Tschechiens unter Dirigenten wie Tomáš Netopil, Tomáš Brauner, Radek Baborák, Petr Vronský und Jan Kučera auf. 2023 erhielt der Geiger die ehrenvolle Aufgabe, die Royal Academy of Music als Solist in New York City zu repräsentieren. Sein großes Interesse gilt neben der Violine der Komposition; mehrfach ist Hager schon mit eigenen Werken aufgetreten.

Violine

Jiří Teml

Der tschechische Komponist Jiří Teml, Jahrgang 1935, kann auf eine überaus lange und fruchtbare Schaffenszeit zurückblicken; nahezu unüberschaubar ist die Vielzahl seiner Kompositionen. Große Bekanntheit erzielte Teml auch durch seine Jahrzehnte lange Tätigkeit beim Radio, zuerst in Pilsen, später bei Radio 3 in Prag. Seinen ersten großen Erfolg als Komponist erzielte Teml 1972 bei Festival Prager Frühling mit seiner Fantasia appassionata für Orgel. Stand in den frühen Jahren, beeinflusst vor allem von der polnischen Avantgarde, das zeitgenössische Idiom im Vordergrund, wechselte Teml später zu einem persönlichen Stil, der stärker melodische und rhythmische Elemente der tschechischen Volksmusik aufnahm. Neben symphonischen Werken steht vor allem Kammermusik im Mittelpunkt, in der Teml immer wieder mit neuen Kombinationen vom Duo bis zum Sextett experimentierte. Des Weiteren finden sich Solo-Kompositionen für Orgel und Cembalo neben Vokalwerken und Chormusik. Teml komponierte außerdem die beiden Opern für Kinder Des Kaisers neue Kleider (2006) und Der gestiefelte Kater (2008) sowie mehrere Liederzyklen für Kinderchöre.

Komponist (Wettbewerbsbeitrag Europäischer Kompositionspreis 2024)

 

BEDŘICH SMETANA

„Die Moldau“ aus „Mein Vaterland“ (1874)

JIŘÍ TEML

Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester (Uraufführung) 🏆

BOHUSLAV MARTINŮ

Ouvertüre für Orchester H 345 (1953)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Romanze für Violine und Orchester f-Moll op. 11 (1873-1877)

VÍTĚZSLAVA KAPRÁLOVÁ

„Suita Rustica“ op. 19 (1938)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Slawischer Tanz Nr. 7 C-Dur op. 72 (1886/87)

Über das Konzert

Dieses Programm passt perfekt zu Young Euro Classic! Denn was die jungen Musiker:innen vom Ševčík Academy Orchestra und die ebenso junge Dirigentin Alena Hron mit nach Berlin bringen, kombiniert wohlbekannte Melodien mit wirklichen Raritäten – und das alles aus dem unerschöpflichen Fundus der tschechischen Musiklandschaft. Den populären Rahmen bieten Die Moldau von Smetana und ein Slawischer Tanz von Dvořák, aber dazwischen kommt nicht nur der vielfach unterschätzte Bohuslav Martinů zu Wort, sondern erklingt auch die Suita Rustica von Vítězslava Kaprálová, einer tschechischen Komponistin, die 1940 mit nur 25 Jahren starb. Als Uraufführung steuert Jiří Teml außerdem ein neues Cellokonzert bei, das von dem in Berlin lebenden Tomáš Jamník aus der Taufe gehoben wird. Und noch einen vielversprechenden Solisten bringt das tschechische Orchester mit: den 21-jährigen Matteo Hager, der mit der Violinromanze von Dvořák zu erleben ist.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.