O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra

The internationally renowned chamber orchestra O/Modernt (Swedish for “Un/Modern”) has existed for several years; in the beginning of 2024, its founder and leader, the British violinist and conductor Hugo Ticciati, took the next step in O/Modernt’s journey by founding the New Generation Symphony Orchestra (NGSO). With its roots in the O/Modernt Academy, the NGSO brings together a select group of young musicians from across the Nordic-Baltic region. Members of the NGSO meet at the recently opened Queen Silvia Concert Hall in Stockholm for rehearsals and masterclasses, complemented by workshops in movement, dance, breath, meditation and improvisation. This holistic approach liberates the classically trained instrumentalists from the sanctity of correctness and showcases their freedom in concerts imbued with life, joy and a creative flow. In the spirit of O/Modernt, the NGSO is working on adventurous programmes that combine old and new in unexpected ways to awaken an innovative listening for all those present.

Sweden, Estonia, Denmark
August 19, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

Hugo Ticciati

© Kaupo Kikkas

The musical world of the British-Swedish violinist Hugo Ticciati is characterized by infinite curiosity. The 44-year-old, brother of the chief conductor of Berlin’s DSO, Robin Ticciati, includes literature, philosophy, spirituality and meditation in his programmes, just like dance and kinetic painting. He performs the classical violin concertos, but also delves into contemporary music with verve. Ticciati has works by Takemitsu, Shchedrin, Glass and Lera Auerbach in his repertoire and has also given works by Albert Schnelzer, Sergey Yevtushenko, Erkki-Sven Tüür and Judith Weir their world premieres recently. He is a passionate chamber musician, working with the percussionist Evelyn Glennie, pianists Angela Hewitt and Olli Mustonen and the trombonist Nils Landgren, for example. In addition, Hugo Ticciati is the artistic director of the O/Modernt Kammarorkester and the O/Modernt Festival in Stockholm. Recently he has turned increasingly to conducting as well and has been invited to work with the Swedish and Australian Chamber Orchestras as well as Stuttgarter Kammerorchester.

www.hugoticciati.com

Conductor and Violin

PETERIS VASKS

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 “In Evening Light” (2020, Excerpts)

TRADITIONAL

Scandinavian Folk

JEAN SIBELIUS

Symphony No. 1 in E-Minor Op. 39 (1898-1899)

HUGO ALFVÉN

Finale from the suite “The Prodigal Son” R. 214 (1957)

About the concert

O/Modernt concerts are always very special experiences! While the musicians from the North formerly tended to arrive at Young Euro Classic in chamber orchestra formations, this year marks the premiere of a larger symphonic guise: the O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra. The artistic appetite has not changed; more than ever, old and new sounds, symphonic and folk music will be woven together. Few Berlin listeners will know the music of the Latvian composer Pēteris Vasks, whose second violin concerto “In Evening Light” is featured on the programme? The same goes for the compositions of Hugo Alfvén, probably the most significant late romantic Swedish composer. In addition, there will be Scandinavian folk music, of course in unusual orchestral arrangements. At the heart of it all is the quicksilver founder and leader of the ensemble, Hugo Ticciati, who will not only be the violin soloist, but will also conduct the passionate First Symphony by Jean Sibelius after the interval.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra

Das international renommierte Kammerorchester O/Modernt (schwedisch für „Un/Modern“) existiert schon seit etlichen Jahren; nun hat dessen Gründer und Leiter, der britische Geiger und Dirigent Hugo Ticciati, Anfang 2024 den nächsten Schritt vollzogen und das O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra (NGSO) gegründet. Mit seiner Verwurzelung in der O/Modernt Akademie vereint das NGSO junge Talente aus dem gesamten Nordostseeraum. Die Mitglieder des Orchesters treffen sich in der kürzlich eröffneten Königin-Silvia-Konzerthalle in Stockholm zu intensiven Proben und Meisterklassen; darüber hinaus stehen auch Workshops in Bewegung, Tanz, Atem, Meditation und Improvisation auf dem Programm. Der holistische Ansatz befreit die Musiker:innen vom alleinigen Perfektionsanspruch und schafft so Raum für mehr Freiheit im künstlerischen Ausdruck. Kennzeichnend für diesen neuen Ansatz sind die Programme des Orchesters, die Altes und Neues auf unerwartete Weise miteinander kombinieren, um somit auch dem Publikum neue Konzerterlebnisse zu vermitteln.

Schweden, Estland, Dänemark
19. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

Hugo Ticciati

Das musikalische Wirken des britisch-schwedischen Violinisten Hugo Ticciati ist von grenzenloser Neugier geprägt. Der 44-Jährige, Bruder des DSO-Chefdirigenten Robin Ticciati, schließt Literatur, Philosophie, Spiritualität und Meditation gleichermaßen ein wie Tanz und kinetisches Malen. Er spielt die klassischen Violinkonzerte, aber er stürzt sich auch mit großer Vehemenz in die zeitgenössische Musik. Ticciati hat Werke von Takemitsu, Schtschedrin, Glass und Lera Auerbach in seinem Repertoire, außerdem brachte er in letzter Zeit Konzerte von Albert Schnelzer, Sergej Jewtuschenko, Erkki-Sven Tüür und Judith Weir zur Uraufführung. Er macht leidenschaftlich gern Kammermusik, so mit der Schlagzeugerin Evelyn Glennie, den Pianisten Angela Hewitt und Olli Mustonen oder dem Posaunisten Nils Landgren. Darüber hinaus ist Hugo Ticciati Künstlerischer Leiter des O/Modernt Kammarorkester und des O/Modernt Festivals in Stockholm. In letzter Zeit wendet er sich zunehmend dem Dirigieren zu und erhielt Einladungen vom Stuttgarter Kammerorchester wie auch vom Swedish und Australian Chamber Orchestra.

www.hugoticciati.com

Dirigent und Violine

PETERIS VASKS

Konzert für Violine und Orchester Nr. 2 „Im Abendlicht“ (2020, Auszüge)

TRADITIONELL

Skandinavischer Folk

JEAN SIBELIUS

Symphonie Nr. 1 e-Moll op. 39 (1898-1899)

HUGO ALFVÉN

Finale aus der Suite „Der verlorene Sohn“ (1957) R. 214

Über das Konzert

Die Konzerte von O/Modernt sind immer ein Erlebnis der ganz besonderen Art! Kamen die Musiker:innen aus dem Norden bisher eher als Kammerorchester zum Festival, so feiern sie diesmal ihre Premiere in größerer symphonischer Besetzung als O/Modernt New Generation Orchestra. Am künstlerischen Anspruch hat sich wenig geändert; mehr denn je werden alte und neue Klänge, Symphonisches und Volksmusik miteinander verwoben. Wer kennt schon hierzulande die Musik des Letten Pēteris Vasks, dessen zweites Violinkonzert „Im Abendlicht“ auf dem Programm steht? Oder die Kompositionen von Hugo Alfvén, wohl der markanteste spätromantische Komponist Schwedens? Darüber hinaus gibt es skandinavische Volksmusik, selbstverständlich in ungewöhnlichen Orchesterarrangements. Und mittendrin den quecksilbrigen Gründer und Leiter des Ensembles, Hugo Ticciati, der nicht nur als Geiger zu erleben ist, sondern nach der Pause auch die leidenschaftliche Erste Symphonie von Jean Sibelius dirigieren wird.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.