National Youth Jazz Orchestra

© Monika Jakubowska

Also known as the National Youth Jazz Orchestra, NYJO is a registered charity dedicated to making jazz and creative music-making more accessible to early-career musicians, young people, and audiences across the UK. The organisation offers professional development, performance, and networking opportunities to emerging professionals aged 18-25 looking to further their career playing jazz and adjacent genres. Throughout its activity, NYJO seeks to create a meeting-ground between the established and the experimental – the past, present, and future – to build bespoke artistic programmes, catering to lifelong and new jazz fans. 2024 marks the National Youth Jazz Orchestra’s debut appearance at Young Euro Classic.

nyjo.org.uk

Great Britain
August 13, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

Mark Armstrong

© privat

Mark Armstrong studied at Oxford University and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London. He writes and arranges music for all sorts of groups, from jazz and commercial recordings to choirs. He has been involved in the National Youth Jazz Orchestra since playing trumpet in the band 25 years ago. Today, he is its Music Director.

As a composer and arranger, Mark Armstrong has written extensively for big band and is a former winner of the BBC Big Band Competition arranging prize. Additionally, he composes and arranges for a variety of forces from small jazz ensemble to full orchestra and many of his works have been recorded by NYJO. As a performer, he performs regularly with the Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Orchestra and in small groups. Mark Armstrong is Jazz Professor at the Royal College of Music in London and works as a moderator, trainer and examiner for the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM).

 

 

 

Music Director

„British Standard Time“

British Jazz from the 1930s till today 🏆

About the concert

A Young Euro Classic debut! The NYJO’s programme “British Standard Time” presents a colourful mixture of music that draws upon the diverse range of influences that give British jazz its unique flavour. From the 1930s with influences such as bandleader Ray “Snakehips” Johnson and composer/bandleader Ray Noble, through the 1950s and 1960s, when Tubby Hayes and John Dankworth developed a British accent on American bebop and incorporating the influences of Windrush generation musicians like Joe Harriott and Dudu Pukwana, who brought the sound of the South African diaspora to British jazz. Combined with this is music that highlights the vibrancy of the current UK jazz scene, including compositions and arrangements by NYJO’s own musicians and other notable contemporary voices like Nikki Iles and Zoe Rahman. 

Broadcast

The concert will be recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcast nationwide – on the radio, online and in the Dlf Audiothek app.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

National Youth Jazz Orchestra

© Monika Jakubowska

Das National Youth Jazz Orchestra, auch bekannt als NYJO, ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation, die sich der Mission verschrieben hat, Jazz und kreatives Musikmachen leichter für Musiker:innen am Anfang ihrer Karriere, junge Menschen und ein breites Publikum im gesamten Vereinigten Königreich zugänglich zu machen. Die Organisation bietet Möglichkeiten zu professioneller Weiterbildung, Aufführungen und Netzwerken für junge Profis im Alter von 18 bis 25 Jahren, die ihre Karriere in Richtung Jazz und verwandter Genres ausbauen möchten. Das NYJO versucht, eine Begegnungsstätte für Etabliertes und Experimentelles zu sein – für die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft – und dabei maßgeschneiderte künstlerische Programme für eingefleischte und neue Jazz-Fans anzubieten. 2024 gibt das National Youth Jazz Orchestra sein Debüt bei Young Euro Classic.

www.nyjo.org.uk

Großbritannien
13. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

Mark Armstrong

© privat

Mark Armstrong studierte an der Universität von Oxford und an der Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London. Er komponiert und arrangiert Musik für viele unterschiedliche Formationen und Anlässe, von Jazz- und kommerziellen Aufnahmen bis zu Chören. Er ist ein Teil des National Youth Jazz Orchestra (NYJO), seit er vor 25 Jahren dort Mitglied wurde und Trompete spielte. Heute ist er der künstlerische Leiter der Organisation.

Als Komponist und Arrangeur hat Mark Armstrong sich ausgiebig der Bigband gewidmet; so erhielt er den Preis für Arrangeure bei der BBC Big Band Competition. Zusätzlich komponiert und arrangiert er für eine Vielzahl von Formationen, von kleinen Jazz-Ensembles bis zu Symphonieorchestern; viele seiner Werke sind vom NYJO aufgenommen worden. Als Instrumentalist tritt er regelmäßig mit Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Orchestra und anderen kleinen Gruppen auf.  Mark Armstrong ist Jazz-Professor am Royal College of Music in London und arbeitet ferner als Moderator, Trainer und Prüfer für das Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM).

 

 

Künstlerischer Leiter

„British Standard Time“

Britischer Jazz von den 1930ern bis 1960ern

Über das Konzert

Zum ersten Mal bei Young Euro Classic! Das Programm des NYJO „British Standard Time” präsentiert eine Vielfalt von Einflüssen, die dem britischen Jazz seine ganz eigene Farbe verliehen haben: von den 1930ern und Bandleadern wie Ray „Snakehips“ Johnson und Ray Noble bis zu den 1960ern, als Tubby Hayes und John Dankworth dem Bebop einen britischen Akzent verliehen, und weiter zu karibischen und südafrikanischen Einflüssen der „Windrush-Generation“ wie Joe Harriott und Dudu Pukwana. Hinzu kommen aktuelle Kompositionen und Arrangements von Mitgliedern des NYJO und bedeutenden britischen Jazzkomponist:innen der Gegenwart, z. B. Nikki Iles und Zoe Rahman, die die Lebendigkeit und Vielfalt der Jazzszene im Vereinigten Königreich illustrieren.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.