Nationaal Jeugdorkest

The National Youth Orchestra of the Netherlands (Nationaal Jeugdorkest or NJO) is part of the extensive musical organization dedicated to supporting musical talent in various genres, from a baroque orchestra to an opera company. Its members are students at conservatories in the Netherlands aged 18 to 26. The highlight of its many activities every year is the NJO Music Summer in Gelderland, which also features the Symphony Orchestra in numerous performances before it embarks upon an international tour. The NJO’s winter tour, on the other hand, is reserved for concerts in the most important cities of the Netherlands. The conductor Antony Hermus, with whom the NJO has appeared previously at Young Euro Classic, is the current artistic advisor and principal guest conductor. Prominent guest conductors have included Philippe Herreweghe, Jaap van Zweden, Iván Fischer and Oliver Knussen. Furthermore, renowned composers such as Steve Reich, John Adams, Kaaja Saariaho and Wolfgang Rihm have been the NJO’s Composers in Residence.

www.njo.nl

Netherlands
August 15, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

Antony Hermus

© Marco Borggreve

Much of the career of the Dutch conductor Antony Hermus has taken place in Germany. During his six years as General Music Director at the Anhaltisches Theater in Dessau (2009-15) he called attention to the opera house not only by producing a complete Wagner Ring, but also by open-air and Twitter concerts. Guest engagements have taken the 50-year-old to the most important symphony orchestras of the Netherlands, the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra and the Philharmonia Orchestra London, to Melbourne and Seoul. Since the 2022/23 season, Hermus has been chief conductor of the Belgian National Orchestra in Brussels; he has also conducted all the important Dutch symphony orchestras, including the Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Residentie Orkest and the Rotterdam Philharmonic. His discography also reflects his artistic curiosity. After recording works by August Klughardt with the Anhaltinische Philharmonie Dessau, Hermus recorded compositions by the late romantics Alphons Diepenbrock and Siegmund von Hausegger with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra. 2019 also saw the release of a CD of Violin Concerti by Eduard Lassen, Rued Langgaard and Philipp Scharwenka.

www.antonyhermus.com

Conductor

Boris Giltburg

© Sasha Gusov

While still living in the Soviet Union, the young Boris Giltburg received his first piano lessons from his mother, later continuing his education in Israel. Today, the 40-year-old is one of the most sought-after pianists of his generation and has performed with renowned conductors such as Zubin Mehta, Neeme Järvi, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Leif Segerstam and Yannick Nézet-Séguin. As a soloist, Giltburg has repeatedly chosen focuses for his work: for the 2020 Beethoven Year, he recorded all 32 Piano Sonatas on audio and video; he also played all five Piano Concerti with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic under Vasily Petrenko. From 2021 to 2023, Giltburg dedicated himself to Maurice Ravel’s complete solo piano works, which he performed at Bozar in Brussels, at the Muziekgebouw Amsterdam and at London’s Wigmore Hall. In 2023, he also dedicated a large part of his time to Sergei Rachmaninov’s piano works, on the occasion of the composer’s 150th birthday. Boris Giltburg also writes a blog called “Classical music for all” and contributes articles to British and German music journals.

www.borisgiltburg.com

Piano

Joey Roukens

© Friso Keuris

The Dutch composer Joey Roukens, born in 1982, has developed into one of the most interesting composers in the Netherlands after completing his studies at the University of Leiden in 2006. Almost all the important ensembles in the Netherlands have performed his works; apart from the large-scale cantata Rising Phenix (2014), the Violin Concerto (2015) and the orchestral work Morphic Waves (2015), an outstanding composition is Boundless (2016), commissioned by the Concertgebouw Orkest to commemorate Leonard Bernstein’s 100th birthday. For the piano duo Artur and Lucas Jussen, Roukens composed the double concert In Unison. In his works, the Dutchman seeks to combine very different styles – from Stravinsky and Ravel to Mahler and Sibelius, the rhythms of US-style minimalism and the clarity of renaissance polyphony, not to mention jazz and pop. With the work Distorted Fantasie (after J. P. Sweelinck), Roukens commemorated the 400th birthday of his compatriot Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck in 2021.

www.joeyroukens.com

Composer (Competition entry European Composition Award 2024)

JOEY ROUKENS

“Night Flight” (2021, German Premiere) 🏆

SERGEY RACHMANINOV

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G-minor Op. 40 (1926)

IGOR STRAVINSKY

“Petrouchka” (1947)

About the concert

The National Youth Orchestra of the Netherlands – NJO – looks back on almost 70 years of history. It has demonstrated its outstanding artistic quality many times at Young Euro Classic. After all, the rich musical tradition of the Netherlands is combined here with purposeful training for young musicians – with rich rewards. The NJO need not fear a highly virtuosic orchestral work such as Igor Stravinsky’s ballet suite Petrouchka, a colourful, breath-taking composition that gives all sections of the orchestra opportunities to shine. The solo work is also by an exiled Russian, Sergei Rachmaninov, who contemplated his life and lost homeland in his rarely-performed Piano Concerto No. 4. Here, the multi-award-winning pianist Boris Giltburg will be the virtuoso ruling the 88 keys of the piano. Last, but not least, the orchestra from the Netherlands also brings a contemporary work to Berlin: Night Flight, written in 2021 by the Dutch composer Joey Roukens.

Broadcast

The concert will be recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcast nationwide – on the radio, online and in the Dlf Audiothek app.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Nationaal Jeugdorkest

Das Nationale Jugendorchester der Niederlande (Nationaal Jeugdorkest oder NJO) ist Teil eines umfangreichen musikalischen Gebäudes, das sich in verschiedensten Sparten, vom Barockorchester bis zur Opern-Compagnie, die Förderung musikalischer Talente auf die Fahnen geschrieben hat. Seine Mitglieder sind Studierende niederländischer Konservatorien zwischen 18 und 26 Jahren. Höhepunkt der weitgefächerten Aktivitäten ist in jedem Jahr der NJO Musiksommer Gelderland, bei dem sich auch das Symphonieorchester mit zahlreichen Auftritten präsentiert, bevor es anschließend auf internationale Tournee geht. Dagegen ist die Wintertour jeweils für Konzerte in den wichtigsten Städten der Niederlande reserviert. Derzeit fungiert Antony Hermus als Künstlerischer Berater und Erster Gastdirigent. Daneben haben immer wieder renommierte Gäste wie Philippe Herreweghe, Jaap van Zweden, Ivan Fischer und Oliver Knussen das Orchester geleitet. Nicht zuletzt wirkten renommierte Komponisten wie Steve Reich, John Adams, Kaaja Saariaho und Wolfgang Rihm als „Composer in Residence“ beim NJO.

www.njo.nl

Niederlande
15. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

Antony Hermus

© Marco Borggreve

Der Niederländer Antony Hermus hat seine bisherige Laufbahn als Dirigent zu großen Teilen in Deutschland absolviert. In seiner sechsjährigen Tätigkeit als Generalmusikdirektor des Anhaltischen Theaters Dessau (2009-15) machte er nicht nur durch die Produktion des kompletten Wagner-Ring auf das Theater aufmerksam, sondern ebenso durch Open-Air- und Twitter-Konzerte. Gasteinladungen führten den 50-Jährigen zu den Bamberger Symphonikern und dem Philharmonia Orchestra London, nach Melbourne und Seoul. Seit der Saison 2022/23 ist Hermus Chefdirigent des Belgischen Nationalorchesters in Brüssel; außerdem hat er alle wichtigen niederländischen Symphonieorchester wie das Concertgebouw-Orchester, das Residenz-Orchester und die Rotterdamer Philharmoniker geleitet. Auch die Liste seiner CD-Produktionen zeigt seine künstlerische Neugier. So nahm Hermus mit der Anhaltischen Philharmonie Dessau Werke von August Klughardt sowie mit den Bamberger Symphonikern Kompositionen der Spätromantiker Alphons Diepenbrock und Siegmund von Hausegger auf. 2019 erschien außerdem eine CD mit Violinkonzerten von Eduard Lassen, Rued Langgaard und Philipp Scharwenka.

www.antonyhermus.com

Dirigent

Boris Giltburg

© Sasha Gusov

Noch in der Sowjetunion erhielt der junge Boris ersten Klavierunterricht bei seiner Mutter, später setzte er seine Ausbildung in Israel fort. Heute zählt der 40-Jährige zu den vielgefragten Pianisten seiner Generation; so musizierte er mit namhaften Dirigenten wie Zubin Mehta, Neeme Järvi, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Leif Segerstam und Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Als Solist hat sich Giltburg in den vergangenen Jahren immer wieder Schwerpunkte gesetzt: Zum Beethoven-Jahr 2020 nahm er sämtliche 32 Klaviersonaten als Audio und Video auf; außerdem spielte er alle fünf Klavierkonzerte mit dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra unter Vasily Petrenko. 2021-23 widmete sich Giltburg dem kompletten Soloklavierwerk von Maurice Ravel, das er im Bozar Brüssel, im Muziekgebouw Amsterdam und in der Londoner Wigmore Hall aufführte. 2023 stand darüber hinaus eine intensive Beschäftigung mit dem Klavierwerk von Sergej Rachmaninow aus Anlass von dessen 150. Geburtstag auf dem Programm. Mit großem Engagement betreibt der Pianist auch seinen Blog „Classical music for all“ und schreibt Beiträge für britische und deutsche Musikmagazine.

www.borisgiltburg.com

Klavier

Joey Roukens

© Friso Keuris

Der niederländische Komponist Joey Roukens, Jahrgang 1982, hat sich nach seinem Studium an der Universität Leiden, das er 2006 abschloss, zu einem der interessantesten Komponisten seines Landes entwickelt. Nahezu alle wichtigen Ensembles der Niederlande haben Werke von ihm aufgeführt; neben der großbesetzten Kantate Rising Phenix (2014), dem Violinkonzert (2015) und dem Orchesterwerk Morphic Waves (2015) sticht vor allem Boundless (2016) heraus, das als Auftragswerk des Concertgebouw Orkest zum 100. Geburtstag von Leonard Bernstein entstand. Für das Klavierduo Artur und Lucas Jussen komponierte Roukens das Doppelkonzert In Unison. In seinen Werken sucht der Niederländer höchst unterschiedliche Stile miteinander zu verbinden – von Strawinski und Ravel über Mahler und Sibelius bis zu den Rhythmen des US-amerikanischen Minimalismus und der Klarheit der Renaissance-Polyphonie, nicht zu vergessen Jazz und Pop. Mit Distorted Fantasie (after J. P. Sweelinck) erinnerte Roukens 2021 an den 400. Geburtstag seines Landsmanns Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck.

www.joeyroukens.com

Komponist (Wettbewerbsbeitrag Europäischer Kompositionspreis 2024)

JOEY ROUKENS

„Night Flight“ (2021, Deutsche Erstaufführung) 🏆

SERGEJ RACHMANINOW

Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 4 g-Moll op. 40 (1926)

IGOR STRAWINSKI

„Petruschka“ (1947)

Über das Konzert

Das Niederländische Jugendorchester – kurz: NJO – blickt auf fast 70 Jahre Geschichte zurück. Und es hat schon mehrfach seine hohe künstlerische Qualität bei Young Euro Classic unter Beweis gestellt! Denn zu der reichen musikalischen Tradition des Landes kommt die zielgerichtete Ausbildung junger Musiker:innen, die hier reiche Früchte trägt. Insofern kann sich das NJO ohne Bedenken an ein hochvirtuoses Orchesterwerk wie Igor Strawinskis Ballett-Suite Petruschka heranwagen, eine farbensprühende, mitreißende Komposition, die alle Orchestergruppen zu ihrem Recht kommen lässt. Auch das solistische Werk stammt von einem Exil-Russen, Sergej Rachmaninow, der in seinem selten zu hörenden 4. Klavierkonzert Rückschau auf Leben und verlorene Heimat hielt – hier ist der vielfach ausgezeichnete Boris Giltburg der virtuose Solist an den 88 Klaviertasten. Last but not least bringen die Niederländer auch ein zeitgenössisches Werk mit: Night Flight, komponiert 2021 von ihrem Landsmann Joey Roukens.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.