Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa

© Bruno Vicente

The Portuguese national youth orchestra Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa – JOP – now returns to Berlin’s Konzerthaus for a fifth time. Founded and financed by the Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa (OCP), JOP has developed since its founding in 2010 from a chamber orchestra with 20 strings into a full symphony orchestra with over 80 musicians. They are between 14 and 24 years old and come together regularly to work with OCP musicians and international guest artists. The orchestra focuses on contemporary works; it also engages in social projects in many way, for example the integrational work Alcance | Reach by João Godinho, which won the European Composers Award at Young Euro Classic in 2019 (as did the Portuguese work by Mariana Vieira in 2017). In 2023, the JOP first performed together with its “older sister”, the OCP, to perform Mahler’s Ninth Symphony in Lisbon. Last year, the youth orchestra also travelled to the island of São Miguel in the Azores, where it performed Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony.

jop.org.pt

Portugal
August 9, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

Pedro Carneiro

© Patrícia Andrade

The Portuguese conductor Pedro Carneiro, born in the capital of Lisbon in 1975, has pursued a double career in music. On the one hand, he is an internationally celebrated percussionist who performs at all the major concert halls between the USA, Japan and Australia. More than 100 world premieres demonstrate his special position as a member of the musical avant-garde, as do his collaborations with the Arditti Quartet, the Tokyo String Quartet and the Chilingirian Quartet. The percussionist has a special love for improvisation, often in combination with live electronics or other innovative technologies. On the other hand, Carneiro has launched a successful career as a conductor. The Portuguese Chamber Orchestra (Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa) wasfounded at his initiative and has its own concert series at the Centro Cultural de Belém in Lisbon. Not least, the Portuguese multi-talent composes orchestral and chamber music, is interested in interactive projects with theatre, film or dance, and develops percussion accessories such as mallets and pedals.

www.pedrocarneiro.com

Conductor

Eva Aguilar

© privat

The 21-year-old Portuguese musician Eva Aguilar pursues several artistic career paths simultaneously. She plays cello, studies voice and is also training as a composer. In this area, she is interested mainly in multi-disciplinary forms of composition, incorporating improvisation and installation, choreography, video and electronics. During recent years, Eva Aguilar has been invited by various ensembles to create commissioned works, in her Portuguese homeland as well as in Spain, France, Belgium and Great Britain.  Her works have been played at renowned festivals for contemporary art, such as the Dialogues Festival (Edinburgh), Festival Rondò 22 (Milan) as well as the DME Festival, Música Viva Festival and COMPOTA in Portugal. In 2023, Aguilar was the Composer in Residence at the Victor Córdon Studios / National Theatre São Carlos; this year, she is Composer in Residence of the Portuguese National Youth Orchestra JOP, also writing a new work which will have its world premiere at Young Euro Classic.

Composer (Competition entry European Composition Award 2024)

GYÖRGY LIGETI

“Poème Symphonique” (1962)

EVA AGUILAR

New Work (World Premiere) 🏆

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Symphony No. 9 in E-Minor Op. 95 “From the New World” (1893)

Words of Welcome

Joe Chialo
Senator for Culture and Social Cohesion

Dr. Willi Steul
1st Chairman, Deutscher Freundeskreis europäischer Jugendorchester e.V.

About the concert

The opening night of the 25th edition of Young Euro Classic promises to be fascinating – as the audience has come to expect from the Portuguese National Youth Orchestra! Its founder and director Pedro Carneiro is known for his imaginative programmes, always featuring the premieres of brand-new works. This year, it is the 21-year-old composer Eva Aguilar, who straddles the boundaries between music, choreography, video and electronics, and has been commissioned to write a new composition for the orchestra. Another special work is by György Ligeti, an avant-garde classic, which opens the concert: Poème Symphonique for 100 metronomes, which produce intriguing sound patterns with their ticking in different rhythms! After the interval, the Portuguese musicians demonstrate that they have also mastered the “great repertoire”: Antonín Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony “From the New World” is a timeless masterwork with gorgeous melodies, breath-taking rhythms and Bohemian-inflected sounds.

100 metronomes were kindly provided by the SWR Symphony Orchestra.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa

© Bruno Vicente

Bereits zum fünften Mal kehrt das portugiesische Jugendorchester Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa – kurz JOP – zum Festival Young Euro Classic ins Berliner Konzerthaus zurück. Getragen vom Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa (OCP) hat sich das JOP seit seiner Gründung 2010 von einem Kammerorchester mit 20 Streicher:innen zu einem vollen Symphonieorchester mit über 80 Musiker:innen entwickelt. Sie sind zwischen 14 und 24 Jahre alt und arbeiten mit den Musiker:innen des OCP und Gastkünstler:innen zusammen. Einen besonderen Stellenwert nehmen zeitgenössische Werke ein, darüber hinaus engagiert sich das Orchester auf verschiedenste Weise in sozialen Projekten, wie zum Beispiel bei dem integrativen Werk Alcance | Reach von João Godinho, das 2019 den Europäischen Komponistenpreis bei Young Euro Classic gewann (ebenso wie das Werk von Mariana Vieira 2017). 2023 trat das JOP erstmals gemeinsam mit seiner „älteren Schwester“, dem OCP, auf, um in Lissabon Mahlers neunte Symphonie aufzuführen. Im vergangenen Jahr reiste das Orchester auch auf die Azoren-Insel São Miguel, um dort Beethovens Neunte zu musizieren.

jop.org.pt

Portugal
09. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

Pedro Carneiro

© Patrícia Andrade

Der portugiesische Dirigent Pedro Carneiro, geboren 1975 in der Hauptstadt Lissabon, verfolgt eine zweigleisige Musikerlaufbahn. Zum einen ist er ein international gefeierter Perkussionist, der in allen großen Konzertsälen zwischen den USA, Japan und Australien auftritt. Mehr als 100 Uraufführungen zeigen seinen besonderen Rang als Künstler der musikalischen Avantgarde ebenso wie die regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Arditti Quartet, dem Tokyo String Quartet oder dem Chilingirian Quartet. Ein besonderes Faible besitzt der Perkussionist für die musikalische Improvisation, oft in Verbindung mit Live-Elektronik oder anderen innovativen Technologien. Zum anderen verfolgt Carneiro seit etlichen Jahren eine Karriere als Dirigent. Auf seine Initiative hin entstand 2007 das Portugiesische Kammerorchester (Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa); 2010 gründete er das Jovem Orquestra Portuguesa. Nicht zuletzt betätigt sich der Portugiese als Komponist von Orchester- und Kammermusik, interessiert sich für interaktive Projekte mit Theater, Film oder Tanz und entwickelte neues Schlagzeugzubehör wie Stöcke und Pedale.

www.pedrocarneiro.com

Dirigent

Eva Aguilar

© privat

Die 21-jährige portugiesische Musikerin Eva Aguilar verfolgt verschiedene künstlerische Stränge zur gleichen Zeit. Sie spielt Violoncello, studiert Gesang und verfolgt eine Ausbildung als Komponistin. In diesem Bereich interessiert sie sich vor allem für multi-disziplinäre Kompositionsformen, die auch Improvisation und Installation, Choreographie, Video und Elektronik miteinbeziehen. In den vergangenen Jahren ist Eva Aguilar bereits von verschiedensten Ensembles zu Auftragswerken eingeladen worden, in ihrer Heimat Portugal ebenso wie in Spanien, Frankreich, Belgien und Großbritannien. Auf namhaften Festivals für zeitgenössische Kunst wie dem Dialogues Festival (Edinburgh), Festival Rondò 22 (Mailand) sowie dem DME Festival, Música Viva Festival und COMPOTA in Portugal war sie mit eigenen Werken vertreten. 2023 arbeitete Aguilar als „Composer in Residence” für die Victor Córdon Studios/Nationaltheater São Carlos; in gleicher Funktion schreibt sie 2024 ein neues Werk für das Nationale Jugendorchester Portugals, das bei Young Euro Classic uraufgeführt wird.

Komponistin (Wettbewerbsbeitrag Europäischer Kompositionspreis 2024)

GYÖRGY LIGETI

„Poème Symphonique“ (1962)

EVA AGUILAR

Neues Werk (Uraufführung) 🏆

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Symphonie Nr. 9 e-Moll op. 95 „Aus der neuen Welt“ (1893)

Grußworte

Joe Chialo
Senator für Kultur und Gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt

Dr. Willi Steul
1. Vorsitzender Deutscher Freundeskreis europäischer Jugendorchester e.V.

Über das Konzert

Das Eröffnungskonzert zur 25. Ausgabe von Young Euro Classic verspricht spannend zu werden – wie man es vom Nationalen Jugendorchester Portugals erwarten darf! Denn dessen Gründer und Leiter Pedro Carneiro ist für seine fantasievollen Programme bekannt, die stets auch brandneue Werke in Erstaufführung präsentieren. In diesem Jahr ist es die gerade einmal 21-jährige Komponistin Eva Aguilar, eine Grenzgängerin zwischen Musik, Choreographie, Video und Elektronik, die den Auftrag für eine neue Komposition erhalten hat. Nicht weniger speziell ist das Werk von György Ligeti, ein Klassiker der Avantgarde, mit dem das Konzert eröffnet wird: das Poème Symphonique für 100 Metronome, die mit ihrem Ticken in verschiedenen Geschwindigkeiten Klänge der ganz besonderen Art produzieren! Nach der Pause zeigen die portugiesischen Musiker:innen dann, dass sie auch das „große Repertoire“ beherrschen: Antonín Dvořáks Neunte Symphonie „Aus der Neuen Welt“ ist ein zeitloses Meisterwerk aus allerschönsten Melodien, mitreißenden Rhythmen und böhmisch gefärbten Klängen.

100 Metronome wurden freundlicherweise vom SWR Symphonieorchester zur Verfügung gestellt.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.