European Union Youth Orchestra

© MUTESOUVENIR | Kai Bienert

Described by the Guardian as having “gripping, exhilaratingly good orchestral playing, surging with energy, laser-sharp focus and collective daring… [and] a technical prowess that is downright terrifying”, the EUYO has been bridge between music colleges and the professional music world for generations of Europe’s finest musicians since its foundation in 1976. The Orchestra has worked with many of the world’s greatest musicians including Daniel Barenboim, Leonard Bernstein, Sir Colin Davis, and particularly its three Music Directors and current Chief Conductor: founding Music Director Claudio Abbado, former Music Director Vladimir Ashkenazy, former Music Director and current Conductor Laureate Bernard Haitink, and Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko. The EUYO now has over 4,000 alumni, selected by the Orchestra’s rigorous, annual audition process conducted in all EU Member States, and many are now notable conductors, soloists, teachers, and instrumentalists working with major orchestras in the world, including the London Symphony Orchestra, the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. Founded by Joy and Lionel Bryer in 1976, the EUYO has been a Cultural Ambassador for the European Union for more than forty years, and is a truly global brand, having performed in most of the world’s major concert halls and festivals, including the BBC Proms, New York’s Carnegie Hall and Vienna’s Musikverein.

www.euyo.eu

European Union
August 21, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

Gianandrea Noseda

© Tony Hitchcock

The Italian Gianandrea Noseda, born in Milan in 1964, is a sought-after conductor worldwide. Since 2016 he has been chief conductor of the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington DC; in 2021 he also became general music director of the Zurich Opera, where he has staged Wagner’s Ring des Nibelungen over the past two seasons with artistic director Andreas Homoki directing. He regularly conducts the Berlin and Vienna Philharmonic, appears in New York and Paris and leads orchestras with which he enjoys long-standing relationships, e.g. the BBC Philharmonic, the Pittsburgh Symphony and the Israel Philharmonic. At the Met in New York, he has conducted operas such Gounod’s Roméo et Juliette, Bizet’s Pearl Fishers and Borodin’s Prince Igor. His discography includes works ranging from Dvořák and Liszt to Casella, Respighi and Dallapiccola as well as Shostakovich and Prokofiev. His special championship of the younger generation is apparent in such engagements as his appointment as founding conductor of the Tsinandali Festival and its youth orchestra in Georgia in 2019.

www.gianandreanoseda.com

Conductor

Nicolas Altstaedt

© Marco Borggreve

Since his highly acclaimed debut with the Vienna Philharmonic under Gustavo Dudamel at the Lucerne Festival in 2010, the German-French cellist Nicolas Altstaedt has established himself as one of the most sought-after and versatile musicians of our times, with a repertoire ranging from the earliest times to contemporary music. He has recently appeared with the Budapest Festival Orchestra under Iván Fischer and the Rotterdam Philharmonic under Lahav Shani and was artist-in-residence at the SWR Orchestra under Teodor Currentzis. He regularly plays concerts on historical instruments with ensembles such as Il Giardino Armonico and conductors such as René Jacobs, Philippe Herreweghe and Giovanni Antonini. This season will see his debuts at the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, the Philharmonia Orchestra with Paavo Järvi, the Swedish Radio Orchestra with Maxim Emelyanychev, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen with Thomas Adès, as well as a tour with the Australian Chamber Orchestra. In 2012, at Gidon Kremer’s wish, Altstaedt succeeded Kremer as artistic director of the Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival.

www.nicolas-altstaedt.com

Violoncello

CARLOS SIMON

“Fate Now Conquers” (2020)

BENJAMIN BRITTEN

“The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra” (1946)

RICHARD STRAUSS

“Don Quixote” Op. 35 (1897)

About the concert

They hail from all the 27 countries of the European Union, and for 25 years, their performances in Berlin have demonstrated their outstanding musical class: the excellent musicians of the European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO). The who’s-who of great names from the orchestra’s past – from Vladimir Ashkenazy to Bernard Haitink and Herbert Blomstedt – continues with this year’s team: the sought-after conductor Gianandrea Noseda and the cellist Nicolas Altstaedt, who is no stranger to Berlin audiences. Together, they present a programme which plays to the EUYO’s familiar strengths. The evening opens with a composition by the American Carlos Simon of 2020, whose title Fate Now Conquers refers to a note from Beethoven’s diaries. The virtuoso orchestral work that follows is Benjamin Britten’s Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra – and the same description applies to the evening’s symphonic highlight, the tone poem Don Quixote by Richard Strauss, in which Altstaedt and his cello assume the role of the Knight of the Sad Countenance.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

European Union Youth Orchestra

© MUTESOUVENIR | Kai Bienert

Europäischer geht es nicht: Seit seiner Gründung 1976 bildet das EUYO eine Brücke zwischen Musikausbildung und professioneller Karriere. Über 4.000 Musiker:innen haben nach rigorosen Auswahlspielen in jedem EU-Land mittlerweile das EUYO durchlaufen; seine Ehemaligen finden sich heute als Dirigent:innen, Solist:innen, Lehrende und Orchestermusiker:innen in Orchestern wie dem London Symphony Orchestra, den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Boston Symphony Orchestra und dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. Das EUYO hat mit legendären Musiker:innen wie Daniel Barenboim, Leonard Bernstein und Sir Colin Davis zusammengearbeitet. Nach dem Gründungsdirigenten Claudio Abbado, Vladimir Ashkenazy und Bernard Haitink, ist seit Herbst 2015 Vasily Petrenko Chefdirigent des Orchesters. Gegründet 1976 von Joy und Lionel Bryer, ist das EUYO ein Kulturbotschafter der Europäischen Union und darüber hinaus eine Weltmarke, wie Auftritte bei den BBC Proms, der Carnegie Hall und dem Wiener Musikverein belegen. Die Auftritte bei Young Euro Classic gehören seit Gründung des Festivals zu den jährlichen Glanzlichtern: 2019 setzte das EUYO mit seiner dreitägigen Residence und der Aufführung von Beethovens Neunter in und vor dem Konzerthaus Berlin ein besonders spektakuläres Highlight.

www.euyo.eu

Europäische Union
21. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

Gianandrea Noseda

© Tony Hitchcock

Der Italiener Gianandrea Noseda, geboren 1964 in Mailand, ist ein weltweit viel gefragter Dirigent. Seit 2016 arbeitet er als Chefdirigent beim National Symphony Orchestra in Washington, 2021 übernahm er außerdem die Position des Generalmusikdirektors an der Oper Zürich, wo er unter anderem gemeinsam mit Intendant Andreas Homoki in den letzten Spielzeiten Wagners Ring des Nibelungen auf die Bühne gebracht hat. Hinzu kommen Auftritte bei den Berliner und Wiener Philharmonikern, in New York und Paris sowie Konzerte mit Orchestern, mit denen er seit langem zusammenarbeitet, wie dem BBC Philharmonic, dem Pittsburgh Symphony und dem Israel Philharmonic. Auch an der Met in New York ist er mit Opern wie Gounods Roméo et Juliette, Bizets Perlenfischer und Borodins Fürst Igor hervorgetreten. In seiner Diskografie reicht die Bandbreite von Dvorák und Liszt über Casella, Respighi und Dallapiccola bis zu Schostakowitsch und Prokofjew. Sein besonderes Engagement für die junge Generation unterstrich Noseda, als er 2019 zum Gründungsdirigenten des Tsinandali-Festivals mit angeschlossenem Jugendorchester in Georgien ernannt wurde.

www.gianandreanoseda.com

Dirigent

Nicolas Altstaedt

© Marco Borggreve

Der deutsch-französische Cellist Nicolas Altstaedt hat sich seit seinem hochgelobten Debüt mit den Wiener Philharmonikern unter Gustavo Dudamel beim Lucerne Festival 2010 als einer der gefragtesten und vielseitigsten Künstler etabliert, dessen Repertoire von den Anfängen bis zur zeitgenössischen Musik reicht. In letzter Zeit konzertierte er mit dem Budapest Festival Orchester unter Iván Fischer, dem Rotterdam Philharmonic unter Lahav Shani, war Artist in Residence beim SWR Orchestra unter Teodor Currentzis. Er konzertiert regelmässig auf historischen Instrumenten mit Ensembles wie Il Giardino Armonico und Dirigenten wie René Jacobs, Phillippe Herreweghe und Giovanni Antonini. Diese Saison stehen u.a. Debuts beim Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, beim Philharmonia Orchestra mit Paavo Järvi, dem Swedish Radio Orchestra mit Maxim Emelyanychev, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen mit Thomas Adès, als Tourneen mit dem Australian Chamber Orchestra an. 2012 wurde er auf Gidon Kremers Wunsch dessen Nachfolger als Künstlerischer Leiter des Kammermusikfestes Lockenhaus.

www.nicolas-altstaedt.com

Violoncello

CARLOS SIMON

„Fate Now Conquers“ (2020)

BENJAMIN BRITTEN

„The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra“ (1946)

RICHARD STRAUSS

„Don Quixote“ op. 35 (1897)

Über das Konzert

Sie kommen aus allen 27 Ländern der Europäischen Union und stellen seit 25 Jahren bei ihren Auftritten in Berlin immer wieder ihre besondere Klasse unter Beweis: die exzellenten Musiker:innen des European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO). In die Phalanx großer Namen der Vergangenheit von Vladimir Ashkenazy über Bernard Haitink bis zu Herbert Blomstedt reiht sich auch das diesjährige Team aus dem vielgefragten Dirigenten Gianandrea Noseda und dem in Berlin bestens bekannten Cellisten Nicolas Altstaedt ein: Sie präsentieren ein Programm, das die Qualität des EUYO in bestes Licht rücken dürfte. Eröffnet wird der Abend mit einer Komposition des US-Amerikaners Carlos Simon von 2020, deren Titel Fate Now Conquers sich auf eine Notiz aus Beethovens Tagebuchaufzeichnungen bezieht. Als virtuoses Orchestervorzeigewerk folgt dann Benjamin Brittens Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra – dies gilt noch mehr für das symphonische Highlight des Abends, die Tondichtung Don Quixote von Richard Strauss, in der Altstaedt mit seinem Violoncello in die Rolle des Ritters von der traurigen Gestalt schlüpft.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.