Deutsche Streicherphilharmonie

© Maik Schuck

The past year was a very important one for the Deutsche Streicherphilharmonie (DSP – German String Philharmonic): in 2023, it celebrated its 50-year anniversary, another reason it received the prestigious Würth Prize of Jeunesses Musicales. Its outstanding quality and unusual programmes have ensured the orchestra, which brings together young musicians aged eleven to 18, a fixed place in the music world. Founded in East Berlin by Helmut Koch in 1973 as the “Radio Music School Orchestra” of the GDR, and then continued after reunification from 1991 onwards as the “German Music School Orchestra”, before adopting its current name in 2004. The DSP’s partners include violinist Julia Fischer, the Dutch piano duo Arthur and Lucas Jussen and the German percussionist Alexej Gerassimez, a wanderer between classical music and jazz and recently the DSP’s artist in residence. Today as ever, the docents coaching the young instrumentalists are mainly members of the Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin (RSB), ensuring the ensemble’s remarkably homogeneous string sound.

www.musikschulen.de/dsp/

Germany
August 14, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

Wolfgang Hentrich

© Marco Borggreve

As chief conductor of the German String Philharmonic, Wolfgang Hentrich draws upon his many years of experience as an orchestral violinist. For almost three decades, the 58-year-old has held the position of first concertmaster of the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra; before he was appointed to the same position at the Robert Schumann Philharmonic Orchestra in Chemnitz at the age of only 21. Following the model of the legendary Viennese concertmaster Willi Boskovsky, Hentrich conducted numerous New Year’s Concert with both orchestras since 1999. He also leads the Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra Dresden, holds an honorary professorship at the Dresden Music Academy and dedicates himself with particular enthusiasm to special programmes for children. Among his CD recordings, orchestral works by Johann Strauß, Mozart’s Violin Sonatas and the Violin Concerto by Kurt Schwaen and Ruth Zechlin stand out. In August 2013, Hentrich became Michael Sanderling’s successor as chief conductor of the German String Philharmonic.

Conductor

Jess Gillam

© Robin Clewley

She was the first saxophone player ever to reach the final round of the competition BBC Young Musicians. She was also the youngest soloist ever to perform at the legendary Last Night of the Proms in London. Today, Jess Gillam is still only 25 and already presents her own weekly show on BBC’s Radio 3, “This Classical Life”, which has won several awards. In the words of The Times of London, she is “not just one of Britain’s most virtuosic instrumentalists, but also an unstuffy, inspiring personality”. Jess Gillam has long had an exclusive recording deal with the venerable label Decca Classics: in 2019, her first album Rise was released, followed by Time (2020). In general, the energy and adventurous spirit of the saxophone player with the striking ponytail seem to know no bounds: during the corona lockdowns, she formed her “Virtual Scratch Orchestra”, assembling 2,000 musicians of all ages from more than 30 countries via the internet.

www.jessgillamsax.co.uk

Saxophone

Shir-Ran Yinon

© Claudia Masur

Composer

GIDEON KLEIN

Partita for Strings (1944)

SHIR-RAN YINON

„Fairy Dust“ (2024) and „Furious“ (2023)

ALEXANDER GLASUNOW

Concerto for Saxophone and String Orchestra in E-flat-major Op. 109 (1934)

SHIR-RAN YINON

„Brisk“ (World Premiere) 🏆

HANNA HAWRYLEZ

Chorale for Strings (2005)

PIOTR I. TSCHAIKOWSKI

Serenade for String Orchestra in C-Major Op. 48 (1880)

About the concert

Having just celebrated their ensemble’s 50-year anniversary in 2023, they finally return to Young Euro Classic after a hiatus: the young musicians of the Deutsche Streicherphilharmonie (German String Philharmonic). Since its earliest days, the orchestra has been coached very successfully by members of the Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin (RSB). This all-strings ensemble presents a multi-faceted and topical programme: it begins with a Partita by the Czech composer Gideon Klein, who was murdered in Auschwitz in 1945, and it does not end with the Saxophone Concerto by Alexander Glazunov, in which the English shooting-star Jess Gillam plays the solo part. Between them, there will be new works by Shir-Ran Yinon, who started out as a violinist with connections with the rock and heavy metal scene, but has long become a sought-after composer and arranger. Another current work was written by the Ukrainian composer Hanna Havryletz, who died in 2022. The crowning finale is the evergreen, mellifluous String Serenade by Piotr Tchaikovsky.

Partner

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Deutsche Streicherphilharmonie

© Maik Schuck

Das vergangene Jahr hatte einen ganz besonderen Stellenwert für die Deutsche Streicherphilharmonie: Denn 2023 konnte die DSP ihr 50-jähriges Bestehen feiern und erhielt aus diesem Anlass den renommierten Würth-Preis der Jeunesses Musicales zugesprochen. Durch seine hervorragende Qualität und seine ungewöhnlichen Programme hat sich das Orchester, in dem junge Musiker:innen zwischen elf und 18 Jahren mitspielen, längst einen festen Platz in der Musikwelt erobert. 1973 in Ost-Berlin als „Rundfunk-Musikschulorchester“ der DDR von Helmut Koch gegründet, wurde es ab 1991 im wiedervereinigten Deutschland als „Deutsches Musikschul-Orchester“ weitergeführt, bevor es 2004 seinen heutigen Namen erhielt. Zu den Partnern des DSP zählen die Geigerin Julia Fischer und das niederländische Klavierduo Arthur und Lucas Jussen ebenso wie der zwischen Klassik und Jazz pendelnde deutsche Percussionist Alexej Gerassimez, der in jüngster Zeit erster Artist in Residence war. Nach wie vor sind es vor allem Mitglieder des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Berlin (RSB), welche die musikalische Arbeit des Orchesters betreuen und so für den auffallend homogenen Streicherklang Sorge tragen.

www.musikschulen.de/dsp/

Deutschland
14. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

Wolfgang Hentrich

© Marco Borggreve

Als Chefdirigent der Deutschen Streicherphilharmonie schöpft Wolfgang Hentrich aus seiner lebenslangen Erfahrung als Orchestergeiger. Seit fast drei Jahrzehnten hat der 58-Jährige die Position des Ersten Konzertmeisters bei der Dresdner Philharmonie inne; zuvor hatte er dieselbe Position bereits als 21-Jähriger bei der Robert-Schumann-Philharmonie Chemnitz übernommen. Nach dem Vorbild des legendären Wiener Konzertmeisters Willi Boskovsky dirigierte Hentrich seit 1999 zahlreiche Neujahrskonzerte mit beiden Orchestern. Außerdem leitet er das Philharmonische Kammerorchester Dresden, wirkt als Honorarprofessor für Violine an der Dresdner Musikhochschule und widmet sich mit besonderer Liebe speziellen Programmen für Kinder. Bei seinen CD-Produktionen ragen Orchesterwerke von Johann Strauß, Mozarts Violinsonaten und die Violinkonzerte von Kurt Schwaen und Ruth Zechlin heraus. Seit August 2013 ist Hentrich als Nachfolger von Michael Sanderling Chefdirigent der Deutschen Streicherphilharmonie.

Dirigent

Jess Gillam

© Robin Clewley

Sie war der erste Saxophonist bzw. die erste Saxophonistin, der je die Finalrunde des Wettbewerbs BBC Young Musicians erreichte. Und sie trat als jüngster Solist bzw. jüngste Solistin überhaupt bei der legendären Last Night of the Proms in London auf. Inzwischen ist Jess Gillam gerade einmal 25 Jahre alt und hat bereits ihre eigene wöchentliche Sendung bei BBC Radio 3 „This Classical Life“, die mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet wurde. „Sie ist nicht bloß eine von Großbritanniens virtuosesten Instrumentalisten, sondern auch eine lockere, inspirierende Persönlichkeit“, urteilte die Londoner Times über die Musikerin. Längst erhielt Jess Gillam einen Exklusivvertrag bei dem traditionsreichen Label Decca Classics: 2019 erschien das erste Album Rise, gefolgt von Time (2020). Und auch sonst scheinen der Energie und Abenteuerlust der Saxophonistin mit dem auffallenden Pferdeschwanz keine Grenzen gesetzt zu sein: Während des Corona-Lockdowns formierte sie ihr „Virtual Scratch Orchestra“, zu dem sie 2000 Musikerinnen und Musiker jeden Alters aus über 30 Ländern via Internet um sich scharte.

www.jessgillamsax.co.uk

Saxophon

GIDEON KLEIN

Partita für Streicher (1944)

SHIR-RAN YINON

„Furious“ (2023) und andere Werke für Streichorchester

ALEXANDER GLASUNOW

Konzert für Saxophon und Streichorchester Es-Dur op. 109 (1934)

HANNA HAWRYLEZ

Choral für Streicher (2005)

PIOTR I. TSCHAIKOWSKI

Serenade für Streicherorchester C-Dur op. 48 (1880)

Über das Konzert

Gerade erst haben sie 2023 ihr 50-jähriges Bestehen gefeiert, nun sind sie nach längerer Pause endlich auch wieder bei Young Euro Classic zu erleben: die jungen Musiker:innen der Deutschen Streicherphilharmonie, die seit ihren Anfangszeiten vom Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (RSB) höchst erfolgreich gecoacht werden. Das reine Streicherensemble bringt ein facettenreiches und aktuelles Programm mit: Es beginnt mit der Partita des 1945 in Auschwitz ermordeten tschechischen Komponisten Gideon Klein und endet noch lange nicht bei dem Saxophon-Konzert von Alexander Glasunow, das von der englischen Senkrechtstarterin Jess Gillam gespielt wird. Eingeschoben werden neue Werke von Shir-Ran Yinon, die auf dem Weg von der Geigerin mit Verbindung zur Rock- und Heavy Metal-Szene längst zur Komponistin und Arrangeurin avanciert ist. Ebenfalls ist die 2022 verstorbene ukrainische Komponistin Hanna Hawrylez vertreten. Den krönenden Abschluss bildet die unverwüstliche, melodienselige Streicherserenade von Pjotr Tschaikowski.

Partner des Abends

Partner

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.