Bundesjugendballett

© Kiran West

The National Youth Ballet, founded in 2011 by John Neumeier, operates from the Hamburg Ballet Centre and consists of eight young professional dancers aged 18 to 23 who have completed their training. Kevin Haigen is the artistic and pedagogical director of the National Youth Ballet. The goal of the small ensemble without a permanent theatre is to bring ballet to unusual places and awaken people’s enthusiasm. Nationally and abroad, the National Youth Ballet makes dance a public and social event appearing at theatres, festivals, swimming pools, clubs, on the roof of the Reichstag, in prisons or during workshops in schools and education institutions. Dancing at senior citizens’ homes and social institutions, the company also dances for people who cannot come to the theatre. The National Youth Ballet studies works from the history of ballet, works with contemporary choreographers of different ages and styles and supports young choreographic talents. Since the National Youth Ballet’s Young Euro Classic debut in 2012, the dancers perform together with young musicians for the twelfth time at Young Euro Classic in 2024.

Dancers of the National Youth Ballet:

Zofia Jabłońska | Hannah McCloughan | Taissa Pache Pimentel | Bronte Barnett | Oskar Weissel Hetzel | Eleftherios Sarafis | Dima Teletskyi | Miguel Alves Oliveira

www.bundesjugendballett.de

Germany
August 22, 2024 8 PM

Konzerthaus Berlin

John Neumeier

© Kiran West

“With its own repertoire reflecting the feeling, conscience and ideas of the younger generation in a creative manner, the National Youth Ballet seems ideally poised to combine and amalgamate youth culture, high culture and the general public. It also has an important social aspect, which will radiate positively.” John Neumeier, Director

John Neumeier was director and chief choreographer of the Hamburg Ballet for 51 years from 1973; in 1996 he also became the Ballet’s Artistic Director and in 2005 one of the managing directors of the Hamburg State Opera. He received his first ballet lessons in his hometown of Milwaukee/Wisconsin (USA) and then trained in Copenhagen (Denmark) and at the Royal Ballet School in London (Great Britain). In 1963 he was engaged as a dancer at the Stuttgart Ballet; in 1969 he moved on to Frankfurt, where he was appointed as ballet director. Under his direction, The Hamburg Ballet became one of the leading ballet companies on the German dance scene and soon received international recognition. As a choreographer, John Neumeier has continually focused on the preservation of ballet tradition, while giving his works a modern dramatic framework. John Neumeier has received numerous awards and his choreographies are part of the repertoire of many renowned ballet companies worldwide – his oeuvre comprises more than 170 ballets of different genres. In 1978 John Neumeier founded the Hamburg Ballet’s Ballet School. In 2006 he initiated the John Neumeier Foundation and in 2011 founded the National Youth Ballet, whose Director-General and Intendant he is.

Managing and Artistic Director

Kevin Haigen

© Kiran West

“Our goal with the National Youth Ballet is to make the dancers instruments for living choreographers. To be involved physically and emotionally in a choreographer’s creative process, to join in this creativity, that is what was important to me as a dancer, and that, I believe, is what makes our profession as dancers special.”

Kevin Haigen Artistic and Pedagogical Director

Kevin Haigen, born in Miami, trained at the School of American Ballet. After dancing with the American Ballet Theatre under Erik Bruhn and the Stuttgart Ballet under the directorship of Glen Tetley, he joined the Hamburg Ballet in 1976 to work with John Neumeier. Starting in 1984, he danced with the Nederlands Dans Theater with Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe and Nacho Duato; in 1985 he moved on to the Ballets de Monte Carlo as principal soloist, ballet master, teacher and choreographer, then in 1986 to the London Festival Ballet, in1988 to the Béjart Ballet Lausanne, and in 1991 he returned to Hamburg. As principal ballet master of the Hamburg Ballet and teacher at its School, he teaches internationally and also oversees productions of John Neumeier’s ballets all over the world. Since 2011, he has also been Artistic and Pedagogical Director of the Bundesjugendballett. However, he is inspired mainly by the current development of his work: teaching creative thinkers and makers, conveying that the art of ballet is a journey that never ends. In 2019, Kevin Haigen won the Hamburg Theatre Prize – Rolf Mares in the category “Outstanding Production”.

Artistic and Pedagogical Director

About the concert

For the twelfth time, the National Youth Ballet under the artistic directorship of Kevin Haigen presents an extraordinary evening of dance at Young Euro Classic. The National Youth Ballet was founded by John Neumeier in 2011 and is a dance company including eight international dance talents aged 18 to 23, who have completed their dance training. The company is in residence at the Ballet Centre Hamburg – John Neumeier. In 2024, the National Youth Ballet will once again present excerpts from its diverse repertoire of choreographies, some of which were developed by the dancers themselves.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Bundesjugendballett

© Kiran West

Das Bundesjugendballett, 2011 von John Neumeier gegründet, ist am Ballettzentrum Hamburg beheimatet und besteht aus acht internationalen Tanztalenten mit abgeschlossener Ausbildung im Alter von 18 bis 23 Jahren. Die künstlerische und pädagogische Direktion des Bundesjugendballetts liegt in den Händen von Kevin Haigen. Ziel des kleinen Ensembles ohne feste Spielstätte ist es, das Ballett an ungewöhnliche Orte zu bringen und Menschen zu begeistern. Bundesweit und im Ausland macht das Bundesjugendballett Tanz zu einem öffentlichen und sozialen Erlebnis – ob mit Vorstellungen in Theatern, auf Festivals, im Schwimmbad, im Club, auf dem Dach des Reichstags, im Gefängnis oder bei Workshops in Schulen und Fördereinrichtungen. Bei Auftritten in Seniorenresidenzen und sozialen Einrichtungen tanzt die Compagnie auch für Menschen, die nicht ins Theater kommen können. Das Bundesjugendballett studiert Werke der Ballettgeschichte ein, arbeitet mit zeitgenössischen Choreograf:innen unterschiedlichen Alters und Stils und fördert junge Choreografie-Talente. Seit ihrem Young Euro Classic Debüt 2012 treten die Tänzer:innen gemeinsam mit jungen Musiker:innen 2024 zum zwölften Mal bei Young Euro Classic auf.

Tänzerinnen & Tänzer, Bundesjugendballett
Zofia Jabłońska | Hannah McCloughan | Taissa Pache Pimentel | Bronte Barnett | Oskar Weissel Hetzel | Eleftherios Sarafis | Dima Teletskyi | Miguel Alves Oliveira

www.bundesjugendballett.de

Deutschland
22. August 2024 20:00 Uhr

Konzerthaus Berlin

John Neumeier

© John Neumeier

„Mit einem eigenen Repertoire, das Gefühl, Bewusstsein und Ideen der jungen Generation kreativ spiegelt, scheint mir das Bundesjugendballett ideal für die Vermittlung zwischen Jugendkultur, Hochkultur und Bevölkerung. Und es hat einen wichtigen sozialen Aspekt, der eine positive Wirkung nach außen bringen wird.“ John Neumeier, Intendant

John Neumeier war seit 1973 für 51 Jahre lang Direktor und Chefchoreograph des Hamburg Ballett, seit 1996 zudem Ballettintendant und seit 2005 einer der Geschäftsführer der Hamburgischen Staatsoper. Den ersten Ballettunterricht erhielt er in seiner Heimatstadt Milwaukee/Wisconsin (USA), in Kopenhagen (Dänemark) und an der Royal Ballet School in London (Großbritannien). 1963 wurde er als Tänzer am Stuttgarter Ballett engagiert, 1969 ging er als Ballettdirektor nach Frankfurt. Unter seiner Direktion entwickelte sich das Hamburg Ballett ab 1973 zu einer der führenden deutschen Ballettcompagnien und erhielt sehr bald internationale Anerkennung. Als Choreograf ist ein wesentliches künstlerisches Ziel, neue, zeitgenössische Formen für das abendfüllende Ballett zu finden – sei es dramatisch oder sinfonisch – und sie in den Kontext der klassischen Ballett-Tradition zu stellen. John Neumeier erhielt viele Auszeichnungen und seine Choreographien befinden sich im Repertoire zahlreicher renommierter Ballettcompagnien weltweit – sein Œuvre umfasst über 170 Ballette verschiedener Gattungen. 1978 gründete John Neumeier die Ballettschule des Hamburg Ballett. 2006 errichtete er die John Neumeier Stiftung und gründete 2011 das Bundesjugendballett, dem er als Geschäftsführer und Intendant vorsteht.

Geschäftsführer und Intendant

Kevin Haigen

© Kiran West

„Unser Ziel mit dem Bundesjugendballett ist es, die Tänzer zu Instrumenten für lebendige Choreografen zu machen. Physisch und emotional in den Schaffensprozess eines Choreografen involviert zu sein, auch mitschöpferisch tätig zu sein, das war mir selbst als Tänzer wichtig und das, glaube ich, ist das Besondere an unserem Tänzerberuf.“

Kevin Haigen, Künstlerischer und Pädagogischer Direktor

Kevin Haigen, geboren in Miami, absolvierte seine Ausbildung an der Schule des American Ballet. Nach Engagements beim American Ballet Theatre unter Erik Bruhn und dem Stuttgarter Ballett unter der Intendanz von Glen Tetley kam er 1976 zum Hamburg Ballett, um mit John Neumeier zu arbeiten. Ab 1984 tanzte er beim Nederlands Dans Theater mit Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe und Nacho Duato, 1985 ging er als Erster Solist, Ballettmeister, Lehrer und Choreograf zu den Ballets de Monte Carlo, 1986 zum London Festival Ballet, 1988 zum Béjart Ballet Lausanne und kehrte 1991 zurück nach Hamburg. Als Erster Ballettmeister des Hamburg Ballett und Ballettpädagoge der angegliederten Schule unterrichtet er international und betreut weltweit Einstudierungen von John Neumeiers Balletten. Seit 2011 ist er zusätzlich Künstlerischer und Pädagogischer Direktor des Bundesjugendballetts. Am meisten inspiriert ihn jedoch die derzeitige Entwicklung seiner Arbeit: Kreative Denker:innen und Macher:innen zu unterrichten und zu vermitteln, dass die Kunst des Balletts eine Reise ist, die niemals endet. 2019 wurde Kevin Haigen in der Kategorie herausragende Inszenierung mit dem Theaterpreis Hamburg – Rolf Mares ausgezeichnet.

Künstlerischer und Pädagogischer Direktor

Über das Konzert

Bereits zum zwölften Mal gestaltet das Bundesjugendballett unter der künstlerischen Direktion von Kevin Haigen einen außergewöhnlichen Abend bei Young Euro Classic. Das Bundesjugendballett wurde 2011 von John Neumeier gegründet und ist eine Tanzcompagnie von acht internationalen Tanztalenten im Alter von 18 bis 23 Jahren, die ihre Tanzausbildung bereits abgeschlossen haben. Die Compagnie hat ihren Sitz im Ballettzentrum Hamburg – John Neumeier. Auch im Jahr 2024 zeigt das Bundesjugendballett wieder Auszüge aus seinem vielfältigen Repertoire von Choreographien, die teilweise von den Tänzer:innen selbständig erarbeitet wurden.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.