European Composer Award

At the festival Young Euro Classic the Mayor of Berlin presents the European Composer Award to the most deserving candidate.

The award is given in recognition of the festival’s best world premiere or German premiere. It is endowed with 5.000 euros. An 11-member audience jury determines the winner.

European Composer Award 2014

Aziza Sadikova Wins Award for her Work Brief Scherben

The 2014 European Composer Award went to the Uzbek artist Aziza Sadikova for her work Brief Scherben (Letter Shards), which had its world premiere in Berlin as part of Young Euro Classic.

Commenting on its choice, the jury pointing out the work’s different musical and performative expressive means, heard as tones, sounds and words, but also like a poem from a faraway world, ghostly and intensely disturbing. The composition is touching “due to the images it evokes in our minds”.

Aziza Sadikova (b. 1978) began her music education at the age of five in Uzbekistan, where she received piano and composition lessons. She continued her studies at the State Conservatory of Tashkent, at the Conservatory in Birmingham and at Trinity College of Music in London. Her works have been performed, among others, at the Aspekte Festival in Salzburg, at Wien Modern and at the Southbank Festival in London. In 2013 she wrote the musical theatre project Voices from Ravensbrück as a commission from the Kulturfeste Land Brandenburg, as well as a children’s opera for the Potsdamer Kammerakademie. Her most recent project is a chamber opera which she is writing together with the Austrian author Arno Geiger.

Aziza Sadikova – Winner of the European Composer Award 2014

The Winners

2000 – 2013

Silvia Colasanti – Winner of the European Composer Award 2013
© Pietro Meloni

Olga Viktorova – winner of the 2012 European Composer Award, with Dr. Knut Nevermann and Dr. Willi Steul

Audience jury 2014

Silvia Colasanti (Italy): “Responsorium” 2013

Olga Viktorova (Russia): “Lux Aeterna” 2012

Gonzalo Grau (Venezuela): “Aqua” (Water Oratory) 2011

Archil Giorgobiani (Georgia): “Azari” 2010

Niels Klein (Germany): “Refractions” 2009

Ahmet Altinel (Turkey): “Le Sources de la Nuit” 2008

Guohui Ye (China): “Spätherbst für Orchester” (Late Autumn for Orchestra) 2007

Magnar Åm (Norway): “‘tisn’t the snow falling, it’s us leaving the ground” 2006

Ülo Krigul (Estonia): “Jenzeits” 2005

Nina Šenk (Slovenia): “Konzert für Violine und Orchester” 2004

Joachim F. W. Schneider (Germany): “Sylphidentänze” 2003

Anatolijus Senderovas (Lithuania): “Konzert in Do” 2002

Stefán Arason (Iceland): “10-11” 2001

Magnus Lindberg (Finland): “Cantigas” 2000