© Selina Prüfner

The National Youth Orchestra of Germany is Germany’s youngest major orchestra, founded by the German Music Council in 1969 and made up of the country’s finest young musicians between the ages of 14 and 19. Distinguished conductors such as Andris Nelsons, Ingo Metzmacher, and Kirill Petrenko have led the orchestra; soloists have included Christian Tetzlaff, Tabea Zimmermann, and Fazil Say, as well as the rock musicians Sting and Peter Maffay. Since 2018, Sir Simon Rattle is Conductor Laureate of the National Youth Orchestra: “What an enormous pleasure to meet this wonderful next generation of colleagues! I think the future of orchestras is safe in your hands.”

The young musicians qualify by auditioning for a jury of professionals. During intensive work phases, they prepare significant orchestral works from all periods; contemporary music and premieres of new compositions are an integral part of the repertoire. Tours have taken the group throughout Europe, as well as to Asia, Africa, and North and South America. The orchestra has participated in numerous projects of historical significance, including a celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Berlin Airlift with Kurt Masur in New York. It accompanied the founding of the Youth Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine, took the “Embrace Our Rivers” project as an opportunity to draw attention to the climate conditions in India and supported musical education in the South African township of Soweto. The highlight of the pandemic year 2020 has been a video production of Ludwig van Beethoven’s 7th Symphony under the baton of Beethoven specialist Paavo Järvi.

The orchestra’s work is generously supported by the German Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth, DekaBank, Mercedes-Benz Group, the City of Bonn, GVL (German Collecting Society for Performing Rights), unisono (German Orchestra Union), the German National Youth Orchestra Foundation and numerous private donors.

September 3, 2024 8 PM

Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche, Berlin


Choral Concerto: Nine – Commissioned by Deutscher Musikrat, BTHVN2020, Royal Philharmonic Society, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra


Sinfonie Nr. 9


Jörn Hinnerk Andresen (Conductor and Rehearsal)

Iris Hendrickx (Soprano)

Jo-Pei Weng (Alto)

Xavier Moreno (Tenor)

Johannes Schendel (Bass)

World Youth Choir

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.